$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
View map of 339 W. 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zonatom
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 3, 2010

Great place - whats not to love about it

From the moment we walked in I felt happy. The person checking me in was super nice and helpful. He pointed over to the little room to the side where there is free coffee/hot chocolate. In the late afternoon they had fresh baked cookies on the counter. The room was very clean, very comfortable - just perfect. The location was as advertised -- just a few blocks walk to everything in the Times Square area. In the ratings I gave them a 5 for dining only because there is a refrigerator, stove, and microwave. They don't really have dining there and in Times Square area I wouldn't be eating in a hotel anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LowrPlz
Business
Kent, ohio
Dec 1, 2010

Great location and nice room!

We arrived very early in the morning and the bellman was happy to take our bags and hold them for us until we could check in. The staff was very nice and also allowed us to check in a few hours early. The room was clean and very nice. The kichenette was a huge plus because it allowed us to bring some food from home and cook a few nights to save some money. The hotel is located in a great area, only a few mins walk to times square, its near the restaraunt row so there are many good places to eat nearby and there are some nicely priced small places to stop in and grab a quick bite right on the same block. We had a great time and would deffinatly stay in the candlewood suites again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many smaller restaruants nearby, just search for them. the restaraunts in times square are very expensive and many of themjust serev food you can get anywhere. We did go to a place called brazil brazil on restauraunt row that was excellent. Good food, nice atmosphere. Decent prices. Have an open mind and try new things!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pleased Nana
Business
Shelby, NC
Nov 22, 2010

Great birthday celebration

I have stayed in NY several times and this was the best accomodation of all. First of all, every staff member was so friendly and accomodating! It was my granddaughter's 13th birthday celebration weekend, but she had a broken foot and was on crutches. They gave us a wonderful room on the 26th floor with great views of the city. Great location, near restaurants, loved the beds and pillows, very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It turned out that we were 1/2 block from the Hell's Kitchen flea market and going there was a neat shopping experience--best prices for hats, scarves, jewelry, and vintage items. A ten minute walk and you would be in Times Square and anything you wanted!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris the "BUNN" guy
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 19, 2010

NYC

First time in NYC since I was a kid and it was certainly a different experience. I attended a trade show at the Javits Center and this location was ideal. The room was quiet and very comfortable. The hotel was easy to navigate in and out and to the Javits. I liked to local flare around the property as well. Bummed that I did not get a chance to go to Rudy's (local dive) but will next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for trade show exibitors or attendees. It is a short walk to the Javits which cuts down on cab fares. (no offense cabbies but I'm on a budget)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Oct 29, 2010

Basic & Clean

Easy location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 21, 2010

Roomy and Clean

The room was roomy. While the bathroom was roomy enough the vanity was too tiny. Be aware that housekeeping does not come everyday. Temp controls worked well and the coffee maker, fridge, and microwave were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Oct 17, 2010

Down and out in New York City

The hotel was an "extended Stay hotel" which [...] failed to mention which means there was no maid service. If you wanted ice, you had to call down to the desk and they would go next door and get it, the same with towels. It was not close to anything, there was no place to eat in this area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palos Verdes , CA
Oct 12, 2010

Great location for the price.

Convienent location for getting around the City. Not many restaurants within walking distance but cabs are easy if you have previously made your choice.Had a great time seeing the City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Have a plan with names and addresses of all restaurants and places you want to go. We also took a City Tour with a guide. That was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indianapolis indiana
Oct 4, 2010

candlewood

the room was equiped with full kitchen which was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary Trip Couple
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 26, 2010

Great location to Broadway & subways

We stayed at the hotel for a week and were pleased with the room. The kitchnette was great for having snacks and a quick bite to eat before starting out the day or wrapping up the evening. It was a little small, but then again it was in NYC, so we weren't expecting a "normal" sized room anyways. The closet was extremely small and you had to pratically climb over the reclining chair to get into one side of the bed. The staff was great though; friendly and always accomodating. We liked not having the maid service everyday; we didn't have to worry about our belongings as much and could always call for clean towels whenever we needed them during the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy your Broadway show tickets in advance. Get your tickets at TKTS the day of the show. The tickets we purchased at TKTS were by far better seats and half the price we paid for the tickets we bought prior to our trip. While the line is long, it moves fast; anly takes about 20-30mins to get through the line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top