$198 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
339 W. 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
126 reviews
Will stay longer next time

I basically hotel hopped throughout my stay in NYC, landing at Candlewood on the last night. I... See full review

  • GuruStu
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great for a birthday getaway

I was visiting the city for my 25th birthday with my boyfriend andcandlewood suites was a greta... See full review

  • TSJUR
  • Jan 27, 2014
Midtown extended stay hotel with full kitchens near Times Square
Travelers on extended stays and families may especially appreciate the amenities at the The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. Fully equipped kitchens offer everything guests need to prepare their own meals. Washing machines and dryers are available for laundry. Business and fitness centers and free Internet access round out the amenities at The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The location close to the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center and Times Square is convenient for business and leisure travelers.
Highlights
  • Fully equipped kitchens
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access
  • A few blocks from Times Square and the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center
Location

The lights and action of Times Square are just a few blocks from the Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The famous New York theaters are right in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 188 studio suites all have fully equipped kitchens with microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, stoves, toasters, dishes and pots and pans. Expect light walls, wood furniture and neutral bedding and curtains. In-room amenities at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square include free Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and irons with ironing boards. Housekeeping is limited.

 

Features

The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square has an on-site convenience store, business center and complimentary 24-hour fitness center. The property also offers parking/valet parking at an added charge. Washing machines and dryers are available.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42 St. - Port Authority
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square
  • Theater District
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not
  • Bryant Park
Business
  • Business center with copying, faxing, printing, Internet access

Hotel Map

40.7562 -73.9932
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), (JFK), 18.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Golf
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Murrieta, CA
Mar 14, 2011

Getaway Vacation

This hotel isn't in Times Square, but it is close enough to everything. Plus the subway is a short walk. The hotel has everything you need, comfortable bed, fully stocked kitchenette, and very, very clean. The staff was excellent and extremely helpful for a NY first timer. Perfect place for a getaway vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square and the subway are a five minute walk from the hotel. From here, you can get to anywhere in Manhattan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
grafton, ma
Mar 11, 2011

Nice stay

very comfortable and was allowed late check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Medford, OR
Jan 31, 2011

Great price for a good hotel

Staff was friendly and room was very clean. Hotel was within walking distance to Javits Convention Center, Empire State Building, Times Square, Penn Station and Central Park. Hotel does not have restuarant, but there many within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Dec 29, 2010

Great location

Great location short walk to Times Square and theaters, and steps from Port Authority bus terminal. Room was clean. No restaurant at the hotel, but it has kitchennette which we used for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, SC
Dec 26, 2010

Good trip

Very nice and willing to go back there again. The staff was very friendly and willing to help when asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you going from Manhattan to LGA, I would suggest a shuttle or public transportation. The cab was expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Edmonton , Alberta Canada
Dec 6, 2010

Candlewood Suites Times Square New York

We felt that theservice was excellent,friendly and concerned. therewas no hesitation about trying to satisfy any requests. The room and furnishings were very good for the price and the small amount of self service was no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zonatom
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 3, 2010

Great place - whats not to love about it

From the moment we walked in I felt happy. The person checking me in was super nice and helpful. He pointed over to the little room to the side where there is free coffee/hot chocolate. In the late afternoon they had fresh baked cookies on the counter. The room was very clean, very comfortable - just perfect. The location was as advertised -- just a few blocks walk to everything in the Times Square area. In the ratings I gave them a 5 for dining only because there is a refrigerator, stove, and microwave. They don't really have dining there and in Times Square area I wouldn't be eating in a hotel anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LowrPlz
Kent, ohio
Dec 1, 2010

Great location and nice room!

We arrived very early in the morning and the bellman was happy to take our bags and hold them for us until we could check in. The staff was very nice and also allowed us to check in a few hours early. The room was clean and very nice. The kichenette was a huge plus because it allowed us to bring some food from home and cook a few nights to save some money. The hotel is located in a great area, only a few mins walk to times square, its near the restaraunt row so there are many good places to eat nearby and there are some nicely priced small places to stop in and grab a quick bite right on the same block. We had a great time and would deffinatly stay in the candlewood suites again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many smaller restaruants nearby, just search for them. the restaraunts in times square are very expensive and many of themjust serev food you can get anywhere. We did go to a place called brazil brazil on restauraunt row that was excellent. Good food, nice atmosphere. Decent prices. Have an open mind and try new things!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pleased Nana
Shelby, NC
Nov 22, 2010

Great birthday celebration

I have stayed in NY several times and this was the best accomodation of all. First of all, every staff member was so friendly and accomodating! It was my granddaughter's 13th birthday celebration weekend, but she had a broken foot and was on crutches. They gave us a wonderful room on the 26th floor with great views of the city. Great location, near restaurants, loved the beds and pillows, very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It turned out that we were 1/2 block from the Hell's Kitchen flea market and going there was a neat shopping experience--best prices for hats, scarves, jewelry, and vintage items. A ten minute walk and you would be in Times Square and anything you wanted!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris the "BUNN" guy
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 19, 2010

NYC

First time in NYC since I was a kid and it was certainly a different experience. I attended a trade show at the Javits Center and this location was ideal. The room was quiet and very comfortable. The hotel was easy to navigate in and out and to the Javits. I liked to local flare around the property as well. Bummed that I did not get a chance to go to Rudy's (local dive) but will next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for trade show exibitors or attendees. It is a short walk to the Javits which cuts down on cab fares. (no offense cabbies but I'm on a budget)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search