$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
339 W. 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
140 reviews
Will stay longer next time

I basically hotel hopped throughout my stay in NYC, landing at Candlewood on the last night. I... See full review

  • GuruStu
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great for a birthday getaway

I was visiting the city for my 25th birthday with my boyfriend andcandlewood suites was a greta... See full review

  • TSJUR
  • Jan 27, 2014
Midtown extended stay hotel with full kitchens near Times Square
Travelers on extended stays and families may especially appreciate the amenities at the The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. Fully equipped kitchens offer everything guests need to prepare their own meals. Washing machines and dryers are available for laundry. Business and fitness centers and free Internet access round out the amenities at The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The location close to the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center and Times Square is convenient for business and leisure travelers.
Highlights
  • Fully equipped kitchens
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access
  • A few blocks from Times Square and the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center
Location

The lights and action of Times Square are just a few blocks from the Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The famous New York theaters are right in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 188 studio suites all have fully equipped kitchens with microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, stoves, toasters, dishes and pots and pans. Expect light walls, wood furniture and neutral bedding and curtains. In-room amenities at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square include free Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and irons with ironing boards. Housekeeping is limited.

 

Features

The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square has an on-site convenience store, business center and complimentary 24-hour fitness center. The property also offers parking/valet parking at an added charge. Washing machines and dryers are available.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42 St. - Port Authority
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square
  • Theater District
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not
  • Bryant Park
Business
  • Business center with copying, faxing, printing, Internet access

Hotel Map

40.7562 -73.9932
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), (JFK), 18.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Golf
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark Hooo
newark,de
Dec 20, 2012

Couple

everything are good. very nice hotel with very helpful staff. Room was so good. Not a pokey, tiny room with no room to move. Very spacious and well appointed. Would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ernie and Corey
Port Orange, FL, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Wonderful

We had the best time. The staff is amazing, especially Allyson. We got there early and she really tried getting us in our room early. The rooms are small but you are not in them for that long anyway. The location was the best we could walk to most locations. We would stay there again in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to do the Empire State Building go when they first open at 8:30am. There is no line!

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
theatre fan
Business
Palm Springs California
Dec 11, 2011

Manhattan

great location; no daily room cleaning unless you staff over three days; clean, no restaurant, bar; but many close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ThomL
Hudson, NY
Dec 5, 2011

Nice, nothing special but just what you need

We decided at the last minute to stay down in the city. We found a good rate. We found a small room which is normal for NYC but what surprised us was the full size fridge, a stove, a dishwasher, kitchen sink, and a microwave. We were only staying one night but it would have been great for an extended stay with having leftovers or wanting to make a quick meal. We were close to Times Square. If there was any bad I would say later at night the area gets a little sketchy but that being said we had no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a male revue right down the street if you are a group of females looking for a place to go close by. My wife kept asking but I keep saying no LOL.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time in NYC
Florida, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Good value

This hotel was close to the action, being only a few blocks to Times Square. The staff was very friendly, however you only receive housekeeping once a week since it's an extended stay hotel. If you want clean towels, you have to take yours to the front desk and switch them for clean ones. That was the only negative. Other than that, we were pleased with our stay, and the price we got was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little shop just a couple of doors down from the hotel with the nicest owner, the best coffee, and really good, light food (hot sandwiches, bagels, desserts) Very convenient and open until midnight.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jhw349
Winchester, TN
Dec 2, 2011

A very nice affordable comfortable stay!

We stayed at Candlewood Suites during the Thanksgiving Week (2011). It was great. The hotel was in a great central location as far as getting to everything we wanted to do. We never felt unsafe walking to or from our hotel no matter time of day or night. If you are not familiar with this town the first walk back to the hotel at night could be a little spooky cause you walk from a busy avenue to an uncrowded 39th street. Don't let it bother you though everyone we came in contact with was very friendly and there are several hotels that you walk past and most people your passing are also visitors, nervous like you lol. It was about a 9 miles trip from LaGuardia Airport. Just a hint, LaGuardia is usually way less busy the JFK. The cab fare was like $35 each way and that included us leaving him a tip. Its hard to say how long it will take due to traffic. It took us an hour to arrive to the hotel but only 30 mins to get back to the airport, all depends on traffic. When leaving the hotel they will offer to get you a ride. They charge $45 so save a little money and just get one yourself. The NYC taxis are constantly going past the hotel so flagging one down isn't hard. If all else fails, the NYC Taxi Center is right around the corner and there are 100's there. You can walk from the hotel to Times Square, relaxingly, in about 10-15 mins. You can be at Central Park in about 30 Mins. We walked everywhere most of the time. Obviously catch the subway to go to further away destinations to save your feet. The hotel has some nice little extras so make sure to take advantage of them. One is free DVD library. They have a nice little library that is free so if you’re back from a busy day of sightseeing you can relax with a movie. Free washer/dryer service, which is outstanding! You have to do the work but it’s free and can save you some packing. In the room there was a nice leather recliner, rolling desk chair, and standard table with a chair. There was a two burner stove, full refrigerator, and dish washer. We had a small closet in our room. The bathroom was plenty spacious with a tub and shower. The room was very clean upon arrival. Unless you stay 7+ days you do not get room service which was fine by us, and becoming more common. There is a little pantry with drinks and snacks in the lobby. The can drinks are $1 each. Sounds kind of high, and it is, but it’s cheaper than buying from other places we found. They have everything from food to cook to drinks and I even noticed laundry detergent, lotion, tooth brushes and many other essentials The staff is very pleasant; the rooms are large and nice flat screens and nice looking top to bottom. The elevators are VERY fast. We stayed on 18th floor in room 1801 and were very satisfied without stay. We were dumb and left some items in the room at check-out and when we called they already had found and secured them for us and have shipped them back. This is an outstanding hotel. It is a hotel, so don't be expecting a 5 star resort. If you’re a picky little fancy person who has to be treated like royalty then go book a room at the Wellington or something. If you can deal with realizing the world does not revolve around you and you are down to earth then you will be very happy staying here. I get tickled at reading reviews by people who complain about the tiniest imperfections, but from my standpoint this place is worth every cent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JC
City of London, UK
Nov 18, 2011

Value for money and excellent location

I was a single occupier and traveling alone. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room itself is very clean and has a comfortable bed. It has a kitchenette and I love making my tea/coffee in the morning so it was an added bonus. I stayed for 3 nights and there were 3 sets of towels so it was perfect. I was advised that I can ask for towel replacements is necessary as they do not clean the room everyday. Suits me fine as I find it easier and comfortable to find the room exactly how I left it. It's either they have a very good insulation or I did not have a neighbour as I didn't hear any noise from next door. The location was good for exploring the city. Being in the midtown, you can get a cab to either north or south easily and not so much of a problem with traffic. I walked most of the time so it's perfect. If I have to use the sub-way, a few lines are just a few blocks away. Unfortunately, the hotel is near a club and a few people hang around the pavement but it seems pretty harmless and I've not had any bother at all. Do not use the black car service to the airport as I think they might have been some discrepancies on the agreement between the hotel and the car service. Best to get a cab and pay extra for toll and tip. Still works out cheaper than the black car service, unless it is very traffic and in which case use the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Taxi to West Village and Tribeca for a nice local dining restaurants.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rory
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Good for a business trip

I stayed here on a business trip during the summer for two nights and had everything I needed. There was a kitchen in the suite, a sizable bathroom, a small closet, and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Also had free wifi, which was a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stomli
Business
Bellevue, WA
Aug 15, 2011

Don't show up late :)

I showed up late, with pre-arranged late-check-in, and receieve the worst room you could get. Room 101, next to the elevator, 15 feet from the front desk, on the ground floor on the alley. Needless to say the room was noisy and and super restfull. Room was OK, nothing special, fortunately I did not need the fridge, as it did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
OKC, Ok
Jul 12, 2011

Great Location!

Just a few blocks from Time Square! It was tucked between two other hotels... so be sure not to miss it. Room had a full refrigerator, blow dryer, and kitchenette. I'd say bring own shampoo, etc. but would definitely stay here again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks away you can catch the double decker bus tour!

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 10, 2011

Great customer service

All I can say is clean, great location and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search