$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
339 W. 39TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
200 reviews
Great for a birthday getaway

I was visiting the city for my 25th birthday with my boyfriend andcandlewood suites was a greta... See full review

  • TSJUR
  • Jan 27, 2014
Can not fault hotel.

As the title says I can not find fault with this hotel. Excellent value for money, spotlessly... See full review

  • Emmzied
  • Oct 8, 2013
Midtown extended stay hotel with full kitchens near Times Square
Travelers on extended stays and families may especially appreciate the amenities at the The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. Fully equipped kitchens offer everything guests need to prepare their own meals. Washing machines and dryers are available for laundry. Business and fitness centers and free Internet access round out the amenities at The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The location close to the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center and Times Square is convenient for business and leisure travelers.
Highlights
  • Fully equipped kitchens
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access
  • A few blocks from Times Square and the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center
Location

The lights and action of Times Square are just a few blocks from the Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The famous New York theaters are right in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 188 studio suites all have fully equipped kitchens with microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, stoves, toasters, dishes and pots and pans. Expect light walls, wood furniture and neutral bedding and curtains. In-room amenities at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square include free Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and irons with ironing boards. Housekeeping is limited.

 

Features

The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square has an on-site convenience store, business center and complimentary 24-hour fitness center. The property also offers parking/valet parking at an added charge. Washing machines and dryers are available.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42 St. - Port Authority
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square
  • Theater District
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not
  • Bryant Park
Business
  • Business center with copying, faxing, printing, Internet access

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7562 -73.9932
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), (JFK), 18.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Tir Na Nog
Irish hospitality is the foundation of the Tir na nÓg Irish pub group of restaurants but then Artisans spend months creating the atmosphere and decor of an Irish pub and knowledgeable and friendly service staff are hired. A global wine list and extensive

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stomli
Business
Bellevue, WA
Aug 15, 2011

Don't show up late :)

I showed up late, with pre-arranged late-check-in, and receieve the worst room you could get. Room 101, next to the elevator, 15 feet from the front desk, on the ground floor on the alley. Needless to say the room was noisy and and super restfull. Room was OK, nothing special, fortunately I did not need the fridge, as it did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
OKC, Ok
Jul 12, 2011

Great Location!

Just a few blocks from Time Square! It was tucked between two other hotels... so be sure not to miss it. Room had a full refrigerator, blow dryer, and kitchenette. I'd say bring own shampoo, etc. but would definitely stay here again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks away you can catch the double decker bus tour!

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
OKC, Ok
Jul 12, 2011

Great Location!

Just a few blocks from Time Square! It was tucked between two other hotels... so be sure not to miss it. Room had a full refrigerator, blow dryer, and kitchenette. I'd say bring own shampoo, etc. but would definitely stay here again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks away you can catch the double decker bus tour!

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 10, 2011

Great customer service

All I can say is clean, great location and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 10, 2011

Great customer service

All I can say is clean, great location and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
AZ
May 31, 2011

New York

The staff at Candlewood Suites was great. My husband and I were in New York to get married and the hotel made the trip that much more special. The staff made sure that we had a room with a view and while we had to wait a while in the lobby for the room it was totally worth it. The night before our wedding I realized that I hadn't brought anything with me to put my hair up so I went to the front desk to see if they could help out. The gentleman behind the desk went above and beyond to find a rubberband that wasn't too large or too small. It was great!! Also while we were there we needed the hotel to hold our bags before check-in and after check-out. Both times they made sure to lock our bag with a laptop in it in their office to ensure it's safety. The only thing I wasn't aware of when booking is that housekeeping doesn't clean the room unless your stay is for 7 days or more. That too ended up being great for us because all we had to do was call for clean towels and we didn't have to worry about housekeeping coming in the room while we weren't there. Finally, the room was really clean, the bed was comfortable, and the convenience of having a kitchen in the room was great. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pay for the Metro pass. For 7 days of unlimited use it's $29.00 and you can get anywhere by subway and bus. To get from Candlewood Suites to Brooklyn by subway it took approximately 40 minutes...way faster and cheaper than a cab! Another helpful tip is if you plan on doing tourist things get a City Pass at www.citypass.com. It gave us access to major attractions in NYC and with the City Pass you don't have to wait in long ticket lines. Also. you end up getting like two attractions for free. It's worth the money and then some.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
AZ
May 31, 2011

New York

The staff at Candlewood Suites was great. My husband and I were in New York to get married and the hotel made the trip that much more special. The staff made sure that we had a room with a view and while we had to wait a while in the lobby for the room it was totally worth it. The night before our wedding I realized that I hadn't brought anything with me to put my hair up so I went to the front desk to see if they could help out. The gentleman behind the desk went above and beyond to find a rubberband that wasn't too large or too small. It was great!! Also while we were there we needed the hotel to hold our bags before check-in and after check-out. Both times they made sure to lock our bag with a laptop in it in their office to ensure it's safety. The only thing I wasn't aware of when booking is that housekeeping doesn't clean the room unless your stay is for 7 days or more. That too ended up being great for us because all we had to do was call for clean towels and we didn't have to worry about housekeeping coming in the room while we weren't there. Finally, the room was really clean, the bed was comfortable, and the convenience of having a kitchen in the room was great. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pay for the Metro pass. For 7 days of unlimited use it's $29.00 and you can get anywhere by subway and bus. To get from Candlewood Suites to Brooklyn by subway it took approximately 40 minutes...way faster and cheaper than a cab! Another helpful tip is if you plan on doing tourist things get a City Pass at www.citypass.com. It gave us access to major attractions in NYC and with the City Pass you don't have to wait in long ticket lines. Also. you end up getting like two attractions for free. It's worth the money and then some.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looking for Value
Business
Palo Alto, CA
May 26, 2011

Check the linens

I was there on business. The location was perfect for me. Room was clean but run-down. Front desk was friendly and helpful. The last night I realized the blanket was top side down and when I looked closer it was dirty. Not too happy about that but it was my last night and I was very tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SPARTANBURG, SOUTH CAROLINA
May 26, 2011

VERY CLEAN, VERY CONVIENIENT..

WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF TIMES SQUARE, AND ALMOST ANYTHING YOU COULD WANT OR NEED. RODE THE DOUBLE DECKER BUS TO SEE AND ENJOY OTHER SIGHTS SUCH AS CHINA TOWN, CENTRAL PARK, QUEENS AND HARLEM...SAW A LOT FOR THE MONEY. AND ENJOYED A 90 MINUTE BOAT RIDE TO SEE THE STATUE OF LIBERTY, ETC..VERY ENJOYABLE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

AGAIN THE DOUBLE DECKER BUS TOURS..

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SPARTANBURG, SOUTH CAROLINA
May 26, 2011

VERY CLEAN, VERY CONVIENIENT..

WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF TIMES SQUARE, AND ALMOST ANYTHING YOU COULD WANT OR NEED. RODE THE DOUBLE DECKER BUS TO SEE AND ENJOY OTHER SIGHTS SUCH AS CHINA TOWN, CENTRAL PARK, QUEENS AND HARLEM...SAW A LOT FOR THE MONEY. AND ENJOYED A 90 MINUTE BOAT RIDE TO SEE THE STATUE OF LIBERTY, ETC..VERY ENJOYABLE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

AGAIN THE DOUBLE DECKER BUS TOURS..

Back to menu Return to top