$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
339 W. 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
129 reviews
Great place to stay in New York

This hotel was really close to Times Square and other attractions. Our room was great , kitchenette... See full review

  • Pumas
  • Jan 7, 2015
Perfect

I would recommend this to anyone very clean very updated close to everything in new yirk city clubs... See full review

  • Walter D.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Midtown extended stay hotel with full kitchens near Times Square
Travelers on extended stays and families may especially appreciate the amenities at the The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. Fully equipped kitchens offer everything guests need to prepare their own meals. Washing machines and dryers are available for laundry. Business and fitness centers and free Internet access round out the amenities at The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The location close to the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center and Times Square is convenient for business and leisure travelers.
Highlights
  • Fully equipped kitchens
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access
  • A few blocks from Times Square and the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center
Location

The lights and action of Times Square are just a few blocks from the Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The famous New York theaters are right in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 188 studio suites all have fully equipped kitchens with microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, stoves, toasters, dishes and pots and pans. Expect light walls, wood furniture and neutral bedding and curtains. In-room amenities at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square include free Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and irons with ironing boards. Housekeeping is limited.

 

Features

The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square has an on-site convenience store, business center and complimentary 24-hour fitness center. The property also offers parking/valet parking at an added charge. Washing machines and dryers are available.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42 St. - Port Authority
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square
  • Theater District
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not
  • Bryant Park
Business
  • Business center with copying, faxing, printing, Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Golf
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JC
Business
City of London, UK
Nov 18, 2011

Value for money and excellent location

I was a single occupier and traveling alone. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room itself is very clean and has a comfortable bed. It has a kitchenette and I love making my tea/coffee in the morning so it was an added bonus. I stayed for 3 nights and there were 3 sets of towels so it was perfect. I was advised that I can ask for towel replacements is necessary as they do not clean the room everyday. Suits me fine as I find it easier and comfortable to find the room exactly how I left it. It's either they have a very good insulation or I did not have a neighbour as I didn't hear any noise from next door. The location was good for exploring the city. Being in the midtown, you can get a cab to either north or south easily and not so much of a problem with traffic. I walked most of the time so it's perfect. If I have to use the sub-way, a few lines are just a few blocks away. Unfortunately, the hotel is near a club and a few people hang around the pavement but it seems pretty harmless and I've not had any bother at all. Do not use the black car service to the airport as I think they might have been some discrepancies on the agreement between the hotel and the car service. Best to get a cab and pay extra for toll and tip. Still works out cheaper than the black car service, unless it is very traffic and in which case use the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Taxi to West Village and Tribeca for a nice local dining restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rory
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Good for a business trip

I stayed here on a business trip during the summer for two nights and had everything I needed. There was a kitchen in the suite, a sizable bathroom, a small closet, and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Also had free wifi, which was a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stomli
Business
Bellevue, WA
Aug 15, 2011

Don't show up late :)

I showed up late, with pre-arranged late-check-in, and receieve the worst room you could get. Room 101, next to the elevator, 15 feet from the front desk, on the ground floor on the alley. Needless to say the room was noisy and and super restfull. Room was OK, nothing special, fortunately I did not need the fridge, as it did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OKC, Ok
Jul 12, 2011

Great Location!

Just a few blocks from Time Square! It was tucked between two other hotels... so be sure not to miss it. Room had a full refrigerator, blow dryer, and kitchenette. I'd say bring own shampoo, etc. but would definitely stay here again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks away you can catch the double decker bus tour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 10, 2011

Great customer service

All I can say is clean, great location and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AZ
May 31, 2011

New York

The staff at Candlewood Suites was great. My husband and I were in New York to get married and the hotel made the trip that much more special. The staff made sure that we had a room with a view and while we had to wait a while in the lobby for the room it was totally worth it. The night before our wedding I realized that I hadn't brought anything with me to put my hair up so I went to the front desk to see if they could help out. The gentleman behind the desk went above and beyond to find a rubberband that wasn't too large or too small. It was great!! Also while we were there we needed the hotel to hold our bags before check-in and after check-out. Both times they made sure to lock our bag with a laptop in it in their office to ensure it's safety. The only thing I wasn't aware of when booking is that housekeeping doesn't clean the room unless your stay is for 7 days or more. That too ended up being great for us because all we had to do was call for clean towels and we didn't have to worry about housekeeping coming in the room while we weren't there. Finally, the room was really clean, the bed was comfortable, and the convenience of having a kitchen in the room was great. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pay for the Metro pass. For 7 days of unlimited use it's $29.00 and you can get anywhere by subway and bus. To get from Candlewood Suites to Brooklyn by subway it took approximately 40 minutes...way faster and cheaper than a cab! Another helpful tip is if you plan on doing tourist things get a City Pass at www.citypass.com. It gave us access to major attractions in NYC and with the City Pass you don't have to wait in long ticket lines. Also. you end up getting like two attractions for free. It's worth the money and then some.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looking for Value
Business
Palo Alto, CA
May 26, 2011

Check the linens

I was there on business. The location was perfect for me. Room was clean but run-down. Front desk was friendly and helpful. The last night I realized the blanket was top side down and when I looked closer it was dirty. Not too happy about that but it was my last night and I was very tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SPARTANBURG, SOUTH CAROLINA
May 26, 2011

VERY CLEAN, VERY CONVIENIENT..

WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF TIMES SQUARE, AND ALMOST ANYTHING YOU COULD WANT OR NEED. RODE THE DOUBLE DECKER BUS TO SEE AND ENJOY OTHER SIGHTS SUCH AS CHINA TOWN, CENTRAL PARK, QUEENS AND HARLEM...SAW A LOT FOR THE MONEY. AND ENJOYED A 90 MINUTE BOAT RIDE TO SEE THE STATUE OF LIBERTY, ETC..VERY ENJOYABLE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

AGAIN THE DOUBLE DECKER BUS TOURS..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
You don't know my name
Business
Somewhere in the U.S.
May 22, 2011

Couples getaway

The hotel was clean and had everything available to you including a mini store located downstairs that stayed open 24 hrs. They also had a movie selection for you to check out some dvd's which I thought was a plus. It is located about 2 or 3 blocks from times square and all the other main attractions which was perfect for walking... We never once had to catch a taxi because of the excellent location of the hotel. It is also about a half an hour from the airport as well... I would be staying here for upcoming visits to New York City!!! And most importantly it was reasonably priced for such a perfect location!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to main attractions and you can't beat the price for a hotel that is 2 to 3 blocks from times square!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tickled in Times Square
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 9, 2011

Not too shabby

Great location in Times Square, close to many attractions and the tour buses. Rooms were clean, and loved the freshly baked cookies. We didn't realized that this was an extended stay hotel until arrival, and the placard offering firmer pillows was incorrect. Wished we could have changed the temperature control ourselves, but one call to the front desk pretty much fixed most issues. This place would be great for a 7+ day visit to the city, not the short vacation we took.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on visiting the shake shack, get there early! the line starts forming at 10:30am! Also, the Stardust Diner on Broadway, along the same side as the Gershwin Theater, is a great place for adult milkshakes and show tune performances by the waitstaff (chorus line members of the broadway productions).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top