$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Blue Moon Hotel

3 stars
100 Orchard Street, 100 Orchard Street, New York City, NY 10002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
32 reviews
Gem in Lower East Side

Excellent stay at the Blue Moon Hotel! From the gracious hospitality and helpfulness of the... See full review

  • InspiredTraveler
  • Jun 28, 2014
Priced right, nice staff

This is not a luxury hotel with a wide list of amenities. It is an affordable small hotel (an old... See full review

  • JerBear14
  • Dec 4, 2014
Turn-of-the-century grace and style in modern New York City
Blue Moon Hotel, from architect Randy Settinbrino, is a masterpiece of style and turn-of-the-century elegance. Situated in the Lower East Side of Manhattan, the 19th century building has been carefully brought back to life with exceptional attention to detail. It is clear that time has been invested in retaining all of the original features – look out for the elegant wood and granite decor, and enjoy a great level of service from the well trained staff on call 24 hours a day. The Blue Moon Hotel also offers a gym and Jacuzzi area.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Turn-of-the-century architecture and features have been carefully restored to provide a period feel
  • Winner of a number of prestigious awards based on room standards and guest satisfaction
  • Close proximity to financial district of New York
Blue Moon Hotel Rooms
Find traditional luxury and comfort in the rooms at the Blue Moon Hotel, with accommodations offering a spectacular view of New York City. Each room provides a generous amount of floor space as well as high ceilings and period furniture. The decor in each room creates a feeling of early 20th century opulence and glamour, and the original wood paneling and wrought iron bed frames are complemented with fabrics containing tones of rich gold and reds. All rooms are equipped with a television, a radio alarm clock, ironing facilities, an iPod docking station, a phone with voice mail, a minibar and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Additionally, each suite ensures maximum comfort by offering air conditioning with full temperature control. Blue Moon Hotel guest rooms do not skimp on luxury in any way, and offer guests 300-thread-count bed linens, comfort pillows and Sealy Palatial Crest Pillowtop mattresses. Enjoy a deep, luxurious bathtub in the bathroom, as well as a hair-dryer and excellent amenities.
Things To Do:
  • Chinatown (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • East River Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • New York Academy of Art (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • NY City Hall (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • National September 11 Memorial and Museum (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Financial District (2.5 mi/4 km)
Policies and fees
  • Nightly rates from $349 USD
  • Check-in: 3 p.m. /Check-out: 11 a.m.
  • ID and credit card are required at check in. Credit card details are held for payment, incidentals and security against any additional charges or damages
  • Cancellations or modifications to reservations: Cancellations or modifications for a hotel room reservation must be received 72 hours prior to 3 p.m. EST day of arrival. If cancellation or modification of a reservation is not made by the required time (no show/changes during stay), the hotel reserves the right to charge up to 100 percent of the first night's accommodation or 20 percent of the total booking, whichever is higher
  • Notice: Cancellations or modifications must be made via the same channel as the original reservation; i.e., travel agent, Internet booking engine or direct
  • No credits will be given for modifications to length of stay which are made during the aforementioned 72-hour window or after check-in. Guest's credit card will be charged for the full amount of the original reservation
  • No refunds will be made for cancellations or modifications to stay, no-shows or early check outs 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Moon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Blue Moon Hotel Rooms

1 Queen Bed NS Pied a Terre
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed NS Cozy
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed and 1 Twin Trundle B
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed and 1 Twin Trundle B
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed NS Luxury
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed NS Quintessential
Description not provided
Run of the House
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.2 mi
  • Bowery: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.4 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.4 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.2 mi
  • Bowery: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.4 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.4 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.6 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Alfred E. Smith House: 0.6 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tompkins Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.7 mi
  • South Street Seaport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.7 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.7 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.7 mi
  • Queen of Greene Street: 0.7 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.7 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.7 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.7 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.7 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.8 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.8 mi
  • Alphabet City: 0.8 mi
  • Manhattan Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.8 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.8 mi
  • African Burial Ground: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Moon Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
3 out of 32
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
5
Value:
3.3
Sort by:
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Sep 2, 2012

Good value

Pleasant staff Small hotel, not boutique, but not very high boutique prices Would come back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah333
Business
Boston MA
Feb 25, 2013

Good value

Hotel is comfortable and in a good location. Condition is a little worn but overall a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Friend of lower Manhattan
Business
Berkeley, California
Nov 6, 2012

I'd have hoped for better customer relations

The Blue Moon Hotel looks as charming as guest reviews say. My own stay from Oct. 29, 2012, to Nov. 4 got pretty rugged for the 4 nights we had no electricity, light, heat, or hot water - because of hurricane Sandy. Of course this was an extraordinary event. But for all that, it was troublesome to get contradictory statements from hotel staff about whether I'd get "compensation" for the hardships of my stay. This makes me unlikely to stay at the Blue Moon Hotel again. The short version goes this way: during the blackout, I spoke to hotel staff of my uncertainty about options, which got more difficult after I learned my brother couldn't rescue me because fallen trees blocked his driveway and street, and the Metro North train wasn't running. During all this, one hotel employee said he was reporting concerns to someone in authority. This employee later told me I'd get "compensation" for the difficulties of going four nights without light, heat, or hot water. I didn't ask what that might be until the next day - when a second employee was the only staff there. Employee #2 said there'd be no compensation, or at least he hadn't been told of any. Neither of them had decision-making authority. Employee #2 did not offer to contact anyone who did. Later, it took phone calls on three different days - before a hotel manager was available, who said no compensation had been authorized. Still troublesome for me - and even though NYC got electricity restored for my final two nights and I'm now back in California - is the Blue Moon's apparent indifference to good customer relations. During my stay, no employee physically present at the hotel had significant decision-making authority. Yes, I assume guests who left early weren't charged for the full time they'd originally booked. #One couple went searching for a hotel with electricity in Midtown, found one on the 3d try and left. Someone else left early to stay with friends in Boston.# Staff put flashlights in stairways so we could get to our rooms. Staff used their Bunsen burner to heat water in the morning for instant coffee and tea. One employee told me he'd driven a guest to New Jersey and had gotten $90 for that. But it was particularly unhelpful to be given contradictory statements about whether the hotel would compensate me for hardships during my stay. So I am unlikely to book the Blue Moon again. My recommendation to others would be - avoid this hotel if there's even a remote possibility of some difficulty you'd need the hotel to resolve for you. My experience suggests that it won't happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

With some irony and/or an eye on climate change, I'll note that NYU had generators for its library during the hurricane Sandy blackout - so everyone including non-students could recharge a cell phone. Cell reception was a bit better 5+ blocks east of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top