$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Blue Moon Hotel

3 stars
100 Orchard Street, New York City, NY 10002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
42 reviews
Gem in Lower East Side

Excellent stay at the Blue Moon Hotel! From the gracious hospitality and helpfulness of the... See full review

  • InspiredTraveler
  • Jun 28, 2014
great hotel....

We stayed 23rd-28th April 2013 Lovely refurbished tenement but still keeps its original style,very... See full review

  • davie
  • May 2, 2013
Turn-of-the-century grace and style in modern New York City
Blue Moon Hotel, from architect Randy Settinbrino, is a masterpiece of style and turn-of-the-century elegance. Situated in the Lower East Side of Manhattan, the 19th century building has been carefully brought back to life with exceptional attention to detail. It is clear that time has been invested in retaining all of the original features – look out for the elegant wood and granite decor, and enjoy a great level of service from the well trained staff on call 24 hours a day. The Blue Moon Hotel also offers a gym and Jacuzzi area.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Turn-of-the-century architecture and features have been carefully restored to provide a period feel
  • Winner of a number of prestigious awards based on room standards and guest satisfaction
  • Close proximity to financial district of New York
Blue Moon Hotel Rooms
Find traditional luxury and comfort in the rooms at the Blue Moon Hotel, with accommodations offering a spectacular view of New York City. Each room provides a generous amount of floor space as well as high ceilings and period furniture. The decor in each room creates a feeling of early 20th century opulence and glamour, and the original wood paneling and wrought iron bed frames are complemented with fabrics containing tones of rich gold and reds. All rooms are equipped with a television, a radio alarm clock, ironing facilities, an iPod docking station, a phone with voice mail, a minibar and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Additionally, each suite ensures maximum comfort by offering air conditioning with full temperature control. Blue Moon Hotel guest rooms do not skimp on luxury in any way, and offer guests 300-thread-count bed linens, comfort pillows and Sealy Palatial Crest Pillowtop mattresses. Enjoy a deep, luxurious bathtub in the bathroom, as well as a hair-dryer and excellent amenities.
Things To Do:
  • Chinatown (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • East River Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • New York Academy of Art (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • NY City Hall (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • National September 11 Memorial and Museum (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Financial District (2.5 mi/4 km)
Policies and fees
  • Nightly rates from $349 USD
  • Check-in: 3 p.m. /Check-out: 11 a.m.
  • ID and credit card are required at check in. Credit card details are held for payment, incidentals and security against any additional charges or damages
  • Cancellations or modifications to reservations: Cancellations or modifications for a hotel room reservation must be received 72 hours prior to 3 p.m. EST day of arrival. If cancellation or modification of a reservation is not made by the required time (no show/changes during stay), the hotel reserves the right to charge up to 100 percent of the first night's accommodation or 20 percent of the total booking, whichever is higher
  • Notice: Cancellations or modifications must be made via the same channel as the original reservation; i.e., travel agent, Internet booking engine or direct
  • No credits will be given for modifications to length of stay which are made during the aforementioned 72-hour window or after check-in. Guest's credit card will be charged for the full amount of the original reservation
  • No refunds will be made for cancellations or modifications to stay, no-shows or early check outs 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Blue Moon Hotel Rooms

1 Queen Bed NS Pied a Terre
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed NS Cozy
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed and 1 Twin Trundle B
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed and 1 Twin Trundle B
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed NS Luxury
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed NS Quintessential
Description not provided
Run of the House
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Moon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7186 -73.9897
Area served
New York, Newark, Long Beach, Brooklyn, Hoboken, Bronx, Queens Village, Jersey City, Mount Vernon, Pelham, Union City
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International, (EWR), 14.00, MI, NE; John F Kennedy Intl, (JFK), 18.00, MI, NW; La Guardia, (LGA), 10.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, Located in the lower east side of downtown Manhattan.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower East Side: 0.2 mi
  • Bowery: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.4 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.4 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower East Side: 0.2 mi
  • Bowery: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.4 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.4 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.6 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Alfred E. Smith House: 0.6 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tompkins Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.7 mi
  • South Street Seaport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.7 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.7 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.7 mi
  • Queen of Greene Street: 0.7 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.7 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.7 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.7 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.7 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.8 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.8 mi
  • Alphabet City: 0.8 mi
  • Manhattan Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.8 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Moon Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 42
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
InspiredTraveler
DC
Jun 28, 2014

Gem in Lower East Side

Excellent stay at the Blue Moon Hotel! From the gracious hospitality and helpfulness of the wonderful staff to the warm bed-and-breakfast like atmosphere, this accommodation is a real find! In particular, for visitors seeking to explore the fascinating neighborhoods in the Lower East Side as well as the historic sites of downtown Manhattan and Battery Park, this is an ideal location from which to embark. The thoughtful extra touches of a NY-style breakfast to a glass of wine in the afternoon further enhance the overall delightful guest experience. Looking forward to returning to Blue Moon!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss taking in guided tours at the Tenement Museum, which is located across the street from the hotel.

Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graphite girl
Summit nj
Apr 25, 2013

The Neighborhood's Jumping

This hotel had a great location for anyone interested in easy walking to Lower East Side, Chinatown, Little Italy and SOHO. we needed two beds, hard to find in NYC, but the room was spacious and could actually accommodate a family of four. The continental breakfast and Sunday papers were great to have. But this neighborhood is a bit wild on Friday and Saturday nights - expect loud noise to wake you on the weekend. would go again if I wanted this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

small new designers in the immediate area, larger well known stores a comfortable walk to SOHO

Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Docmac
Northwest UK
Mar 22, 2013

Friendly and quirky in the heart of Lower East Side

Great welcome, friendly and helpful staff, and a room with personality made our stay at the Blue Moon a really special one. Beds were comfortable, breakfast a bonus, and the music and ambiance great. Stay here and you will be on the spot for restaurants, vintage, subway, and even walking over to Williamsburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The High Line walk is the best way to see NYC and get a fix of green, and it's a well-kept secret so not crowded with people.

Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vitamintaker
Alabama
Sep 7, 2011

Good for short stay

Overall is good. There are two metro stations nearby. The only problem was that I found some hair on my bed. Hotels in NY are always too expensive. This place has a decent price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two metro stations.

Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vitamintaker
Alabama
Sep 7, 2011

Good for short stay

Overall is good. There are two metro stations nearby. The only problem was that I found some hair on my bed. Hotels in NY are always too expensive. This place has a decent price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two metro stations.

Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momma G for 3
PA
Dec 10, 2010

Surprise meeting

I was in the city for a surprise meeting. The staff at the hotel was very understanding in letting us hang out in the lobby all day long. Compassion and respect are lacking today and I really appreciate the hospitality the Hotel offered myself, my guest and my "surprise" I will never forget my experience with the Blue Moon. The hotel was neat and clean and I felt right at home. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momma G for 3
PA
Dec 10, 2010

Surprise meeting

I was in the city for a surprise meeting. The staff at the hotel was very understanding in letting us hang out in the lobby all day long. Compassion and respect are lacking today and I really appreciate the hospitality the Hotel offered myself, my guest and my "surprise" I will never forget my experience with the Blue Moon. The hotel was neat and clean and I felt right at home. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top