$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Blue Moon Hotel

3 stars
100 Orchard Street, 100 Orchard Street, New York City, NY 10002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
32 reviews
Gem in Lower East Side

Excellent stay at the Blue Moon Hotel! From the gracious hospitality and helpfulness of the... See full review

  • InspiredTraveler
  • Jun 28, 2014
great hotel....

We stayed 23rd-28th April 2013 Lovely refurbished tenement but still keeps its original style,very... See full review

  • davie
  • May 2, 2013
Turn-of-the-century grace and style in modern New York City
Blue Moon Hotel, from architect Randy Settinbrino, is a masterpiece of style and turn-of-the-century elegance. Situated in the Lower East Side of Manhattan, the 19th century building has been carefully brought back to life with exceptional attention to detail. It is clear that time has been invested in retaining all of the original features – look out for the elegant wood and granite decor, and enjoy a great level of service from the well trained staff on call 24 hours a day. The Blue Moon Hotel also offers a gym and Jacuzzi area.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Turn-of-the-century architecture and features have been carefully restored to provide a period feel
  • Winner of a number of prestigious awards based on room standards and guest satisfaction
  • Close proximity to financial district of New York
Blue Moon Hotel Rooms
Find traditional luxury and comfort in the rooms at the Blue Moon Hotel, with accommodations offering a spectacular view of New York City. Each room provides a generous amount of floor space as well as high ceilings and period furniture. The decor in each room creates a feeling of early 20th century opulence and glamour, and the original wood paneling and wrought iron bed frames are complemented with fabrics containing tones of rich gold and reds. All rooms are equipped with a television, a radio alarm clock, ironing facilities, an iPod docking station, a phone with voice mail, a minibar and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Additionally, each suite ensures maximum comfort by offering air conditioning with full temperature control. Blue Moon Hotel guest rooms do not skimp on luxury in any way, and offer guests 300-thread-count bed linens, comfort pillows and Sealy Palatial Crest Pillowtop mattresses. Enjoy a deep, luxurious bathtub in the bathroom, as well as a hair-dryer and excellent amenities.
Things To Do:
  • Chinatown (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • East River Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • New York Academy of Art (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • NY City Hall (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • National September 11 Memorial and Museum (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Financial District (2.5 mi/4 km)
Policies and fees
  • Nightly rates from $349 USD
  • Check-in: 3 p.m. /Check-out: 11 a.m.
  • ID and credit card are required at check in. Credit card details are held for payment, incidentals and security against any additional charges or damages
  • Cancellations or modifications to reservations: Cancellations or modifications for a hotel room reservation must be received 72 hours prior to 3 p.m. EST day of arrival. If cancellation or modification of a reservation is not made by the required time (no show/changes during stay), the hotel reserves the right to charge up to 100 percent of the first night's accommodation or 20 percent of the total booking, whichever is higher
  • Notice: Cancellations or modifications must be made via the same channel as the original reservation; i.e., travel agent, Internet booking engine or direct
  • No credits will be given for modifications to length of stay which are made during the aforementioned 72-hour window or after check-in. Guest's credit card will be charged for the full amount of the original reservation
  • No refunds will be made for cancellations or modifications to stay, no-shows or early check outs 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7186 -73.9897
Area served
New York, Newark, Long Beach, Brooklyn, Hoboken, Bronx, Queens Village, Jersey City, Mount Vernon, Pelham, Union City
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International, (EWR), 14.00, MI, NE; John F Kennedy Intl, (JFK), 18.00, MI, NW; La Guardia, (LGA), 10.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, Located in the lower east side of downtown Manhattan.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Moon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Blue Moon Hotel Rooms

1 Queen Bed NS Pied a Terre
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed NS Cozy
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed and 1 Twin Trundle B
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed and 1 Twin Trundle B
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed NS Luxury
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed NS Quintessential
Description not provided
Run of the House
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower East Side: 0.2 mi
  • Bowery: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.4 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.4 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower East Side: 0.2 mi
  • Bowery: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.4 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.4 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.6 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Alfred E. Smith House: 0.6 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.6 mi
  • Tompkins Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.7 mi
  • South Street Seaport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.7 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.7 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.7 mi
  • Queen of Greene Street: 0.7 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.7 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.7 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.7 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.7 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.8 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.8 mi
  • Alphabet City: 0.8 mi
  • Manhattan Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.8 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Moon Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anita Lizzie and Demi
Allen tx
Mar 14, 2013

Perfect location, great history, wonderful customer service!

We will definitely choose this hotel again. Comfortable, unique, great location- close to subway, excellent restaurants. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Home Espresso Bar, Peasant, Ferrari

Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah333
Boston MA
Feb 25, 2013

Good value

Hotel is comfortable and in a good location. Condition is a little worn but overall a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich. E.
Manhattan, Lower East Side
Jan 31, 2013

Short stay in NYC

Getting the feel of the Lower East Side of Manhattan doesn't get much better than the Blue Moon hotel. Right on Orchard Street, close to public transport, across from the tenement House museum...and the decor of the hotel makes you feel right at home...in another era.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nano2959
Chicago
Dec 10, 2012

Great Place

Blue Moon is fantastic. The staff was wonderful. So friendly and willing to help. The room was very clean and the sheets were very soft. The location was good for us. Close to live music, great restaurants, China Town, Little Italy, Soho. The decor was warm and inviting. Not the cookie cutter look of the chain hotels. Artistic and charming and worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Katz Deli - So excellent. Pastrami that melts in your mouth like butter!

Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Friend of lower Manhattan
Berkeley, California
Nov 6, 2012

I'd have hoped for better customer relations

The Blue Moon Hotel looks as charming as guest reviews say. My own stay from Oct. 29, 2012, to Nov. 4 got pretty rugged for the 4 nights we had no electricity, light, heat, or hot water - because of hurricane Sandy. Of course this was an extraordinary event. But for all that, it was troublesome to get contradictory statements from hotel staff about whether I'd get "compensation" for the hardships of my stay. This makes me unlikely to stay at the Blue Moon Hotel again. The short version goes this way: during the blackout, I spoke to hotel staff of my uncertainty about options, which got more difficult after I learned my brother couldn't rescue me because fallen trees blocked his driveway and street, and the Metro North train wasn't running. During all this, one hotel employee said he was reporting concerns to someone in authority. This employee later told me I'd get "compensation" for the difficulties of going four nights without light, heat, or hot water. I didn't ask what that might be until the next day - when a second employee was the only staff there. Employee #2 said there'd be no compensation, or at least he hadn't been told of any. Neither of them had decision-making authority. Employee #2 did not offer to contact anyone who did. Later, it took phone calls on three different days - before a hotel manager was available, who said no compensation had been authorized. Still troublesome for me - and even though NYC got electricity restored for my final two nights and I'm now back in California - is the Blue Moon's apparent indifference to good customer relations. During my stay, no employee physically present at the hotel had significant decision-making authority. Yes, I assume guests who left early weren't charged for the full time they'd originally booked. #One couple went searching for a hotel with electricity in Midtown, found one on the 3d try and left. Someone else left early to stay with friends in Boston.# Staff put flashlights in stairways so we could get to our rooms. Staff used their Bunsen burner to heat water in the morning for instant coffee and tea. One employee told me he'd driven a guest to New Jersey and had gotten $90 for that. But it was particularly unhelpful to be given contradictory statements about whether the hotel would compensate me for hardships during my stay. So I am unlikely to book the Blue Moon again. My recommendation to others would be - avoid this hotel if there's even a remote possibility of some difficulty you'd need the hotel to resolve for you. My experience suggests that it won't happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

With some irony and/or an eye on climate change, I'll note that NYU had generators for its library during the hurricane Sandy blackout - so everyone including non-students could recharge a cell phone. Cell reception was a bit better 5+ blocks east of the hotel.

Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Sep 2, 2012

Good value

Pleasant staff Small hotel, not boutique, but not very high boutique prices Would come back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilyn Star Author
Business
Sarasota, CA
Jul 26, 2012

very nice

Beds are a little soft and noisy, and pillows are not good, but overall this is a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Congee Grill and Sorella

Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
breezy64
Denver, CO, USA
May 23, 2012

Long weekend in the Big Apple

Blue Moon Hotel is a boutique hotel located in an ideal setting for some the best sightseeing in Manhattan. Easy access to subway, buses and taxis. Many areas of Lower Manhattan and the Lower East Side (LES) are within walking distance and that is the best way to view the sites. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Many ethnic eateries are in close proximity to hotel. Highly recommend a stay at this historic facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Always look for an "A" sign (sanitary grade) in window of eatery to insure a safe and sanitary dining experience.

Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emilytg
Chicago, IL, USA
May 21, 2012

Average boutique hotel with great location for getting around Manhattan

The hotel was old and you could tell many things had never been updated, but it was convenient for the subway/location. The staff was friendly and the rooms were larger than most NYC hotels. My room was supposed to have a balcony but it had a window with a ledge large enough for a flower pot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Astryd
Orlando, Florida
May 1, 2012

So So So Worth It!!

This hotel is a true experience, and will surely make your trip that much better. The rooms are comfortable, and the staff is wonderful. But the best part is the history -- the building at one point was a tenement, and during the renovation to its current state, they were careful to save and use so much of the building's history. The portions of the original tile floor, mantelpieces, wood work, and so many other tiny details...it all tells a story. The bathroom door in each room is the original front door of the apartment. The employees all took the time to answer any any all questions about the building and surrounding area, as well as great places to eat and shop. Please take the time to consider this location....you wont be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are several late-night and all night restaurants/diners that deliver quickly that are not astronomically priced -- after sightseeing and walking around all day, we did take advantage of the Remedy Diner delivery...and were eating great food within 20 minutes. The hotel staff will give you a list!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search