$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Bentley Hotel

4 stars
500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
364 reviews
City Getaway

This hidden gem in the city is located just off the FDR drive. We came for a weekend and must say... See full review

  • Dan the Man 4
  • Jul 7, 2014
Happiness is a positive surprise

Check in courteous and flawless. Room was upgraded to a Junior suite without asking. Light airy and... See full review

  • poppy M
  • Jun 16, 2014
Chic Upper East Side hotel with glorious rooftop dining
Converted from an office building in 1998, the Bentley Hotel is an elegant mid-sized boutique hotel on New York City?s Upper East Side. In addition to amenities-stocked and non-smoking rooms (several of which look out over the East River), the hotel has 24-hour front desk services, room service, valet laundry and dry cleaning, and daily newspaper delivery available. Guests can grab refreshing breakfast is available at the Lobby Bar. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from the Bentley Hotel's 21st floor restaurant, the Rooftop Restaurant and Bar, which serves Italian American fare at dinner. 
Reasons to stay
  • Rooftop restaurant with skyline views
  • Walk to Central Park
  • Centrally located near shops, dining, and theaters
The Bentley Hotel rooms

There are 197 spacious and non-smoking rooms inside the Bentley Hotel and many have stunning views of the city and East River. Guests can watch pay-per-view movies and cable TV in their rooms on 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs.  A large desk, a two-line phone with data ports and voicemail, a safe, mini bar, and a marble bathroom with Spa Therapy toiletries by Lather are included in each room. Wi-Fi access is available (fees apply). 

Things to do nearby
  • Rockefeller University (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.4 mi/1.9 km)
  • Times Square (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Bronx Zoo (10 mi/ 16.1 km) 
Policies and fees
NOTE: Self-parking costs $25.00 + tax per 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Bentley Hotel Rooms

Superior
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer either a King Bed or 2 Full Size beds with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels and On-Demand movies. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. All rooms are non-smoking. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $14.95 per day.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bentley Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9583
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport (LGA) Flushing, New York 11371. John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) Jamaica, New York 11430. Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) Newark, New Jersey 07114
Area description
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side.

Nearby points of interest

  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.2 mi
  • Roosevelt Island Tramway: 0.2 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • East Side: 0.7 mi
  • Barney's: 0.7 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.2 mi
  • Roosevelt Island Tramway: 0.2 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • East Side: 0.7 mi
  • Barney's: 0.7 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.8 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.8 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.8 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.8 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.8 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.8 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.8 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.9 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.9 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • University Club: 0.9 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 1 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 1 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 1.1 mi
  • International Building: 1.1 mi

Dining

Rooftop Restaurant and Lounge
The Rooftop Restaurant and Bar is located on the 21st Floor with magnificent 360 degree views of New York City, serving Italian American cuisine a la carte menu for dinner and a continental buffet breakfast. Hours of operation are: Breakfast: 6:30am - 11:00am Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Bar: 5:00pm - 12:00am Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Room Service applies to the times above.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (364)

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 364
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dwads13
Tampa, FL.
Jun 27, 2012

One of the Worst

The hotel has a great location and the exterior is great but the hotel room is horrendous. I asked for a non-smoking room and the first thing I notice is that the room has a smoky smell. The air conditioning unit didn't even bring the room down below 80, please bear in mind that the temperature in New York is one of the hottest of the year at 96+ degrees. The front desk person sent a facilities person to look at the unit and all they can do is bring a fan. I go down and ask the same front desk person that the room temperature has yet to go down over 24 hours. I asked him about the smell in the room and he informed me that since I booked through a "third party" that it wasn't necessary to inform me about the smoking room. WHAT?!? How about common courtesy to inform the customer? What kind of operation is this hotel? They switch the room after much prodding and he ensures me that the room will be better. Well, they switch me to an interior room, non-smoking, but a smaller bed and STILL a non-working air conditioner. UNBELIEVABLE!!! Absolutely the worst service ever in all the years I have traveled. DO NOT EVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Madame Tussaud Wax Museum in Times Square was a blast!

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 7, 2008

Ok for the money

Beautiful views of the east river and queensborough bridge. Room had a wierd small and bed was too short for me and I'm only 6'. Last year they had free coffee in the lobby but this year it was out of order. Hotel seems to have gone downhill a bit since last year, although still reasonably priced for a midtown room at Christmas time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro 61 (61st and 1st) terrific French Bistro food. Also Sushi Seki on 1st between 62nd and 63rd.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 7, 2008

Ok for the money

Beautiful views of the east river and queensborough bridge. Room had a wierd small and bed was too short for me and I'm only 6'. Last year they had free coffee in the lobby but this year it was out of order. Hotel seems to have gone downhill a bit since last year, although still reasonably priced for a midtown room at Christmas time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro 61 (61st and 1st) terrific French Bistro food. Also Sushi Seki on 1st between 62nd and 63rd.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
marchmadness
Madison, WI
Mar 28, 2011

Bentley Hotel - the good and the bad

The best feature of the Bentley Hotel is its excellent location on East 62nd St. at York on the Upper Eastside, within walking distance of the Met Museum, Whitney Museum, Central Park and the Frick Collection. Our room on the 2nd floor was VERY loud due to traffic noise; insist on a higher floor! The room and bath were good-sized and comfortable. Overall service was awful; with 3 adult guests, we had to request 3 towels every single day. Attitude at front desk was unhelpful and disinterested in guests' concerns. Elevator broke down and it took a long time before someone suggested allowing guests to use the "service" elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the excellent and economical Persian Grill on 1st Ave. Very good food, service and the prices are less than you see in NYC.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rsquared
Hillsborough, nc
Aug 6, 2012

Be Very Careful

The hotel arrangements were ok; nothing fancy but then the bill was reasonable The part that was distressing was the double charge on the stay with pending charges that showed up after my stay. The bill was paid in advance though Cheap Tickets. While the hotel seemed to understand that the room was paid for well in advance, they still pre-charged my credit card the full amount of the stay, doubling the bill. A phone call to Bentley had assurances that the charges would be removed at some point. I now need to keep an eye on it to see if this really happens. Go somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
k2lai
santa rosa, ca
Aug 13, 2013

Not a 4 star, not even close

I have stayed at the Bentley several times over the past twenty years because of location close to my family. The Bently Hotel is an old, deteriorating physical plant with multiple problems but pleasant staff, improved recently. The AC system is ancient, noisy and works intermittently or not at all. I needed a fan this time to survive the summer NYC heat wave. The bath tub stopper was broken and could not be fixed other than pushing a wash rag into the outlet to take a bath. The minibar refrigerator was missing, with a raw, empty space in this "superior " room. The elevators are slower since the Hotel gave up its Penthouse floor to a private restaurant. Now, hotel guests are competing with housekeeping, luggage, and restaurant patrons for 3 elevators. At check out, the desk person initially insisted I pay for the 5 nights, even tho I had bought the rooms thru Cheap Tickets. Not 4 star class, but never was been for 20 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
marchmadness
Madison, WI
Mar 28, 2011

Bentley Hotel - the good and the bad

The best feature of the Bentley Hotel is its excellent location on East 62nd St. at York on the Upper Eastside, within walking distance of the Met Museum, Whitney Museum, Central Park and the Frick Collection. Our room on the 2nd floor was VERY loud due to traffic noise; insist on a higher floor! The room and bath were good-sized and comfortable. Overall service was awful; with 3 adult guests, we had to request 3 towels every single day. Attitude at front desk was unhelpful and disinterested in guests' concerns. Elevator broke down and it took a long time before someone suggested allowing guests to use the "service" elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the excellent and economical Persian Grill on 1st Ave. Very good food, service and the prices are less than you see in NYC.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
canton, mi
Oct 5, 2010

good customer service

The room was too hot, you can't control the temperature, and the air conditioner is noisy. The customer service was good - they got us a fan and were very prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
canton, mi
Oct 5, 2010

good customer service

The room was too hot, you can't control the temperature, and the air conditioner is noisy. The customer service was good - they got us a fan and were very prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LJ9N
Caldwell, NJ
Mar 30, 2013

Rooms without view

Without the outstanding view of the bridge, we had a view of construction--which was better than the first room they gave us which was a wall. So I think the big draw was the views from the side of the hotel we were NOT on. Too bad. Otherwise, not much in the area to see or do--but a fun outing for our son which is why we went in the first place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top