$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Bentley Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NMF123
Business
CT
Jun 12, 2013

reasonable and no issues

NYC is expensive but had to spend 1 night so this hotel seemed reasonably priced. Location is not near any subways of course. Construction across the street so noise started early but really, what part of NYC is not noisy....? In any case, just know it is NOT a quiet location right now, at least if you are facing the construction site. The staff was very friendly and helpful, including service call addressed very quickly because the room was FREEZING (65) and I am not a big fan of AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leunamito
Business
Mexico
Oct 8, 2013

Room service and storage

Before I booked this hotel, I was convinced about location and value. Although at my arrival, I realized that there was a Kosher Restaurant at the top floor, with stunnig views. I was looking forward to trying the kosher food, so I asked for room service and to my surprise, " there is no ROOM SERVICE!, but it the Hotel offers a quite large range of Restaurants arround the neighborhood, unfortunately the few I tried ,the food was lousy. I tried to have breakfast in 4 ocassions, but the restaurant was opened only once. As I had to leave for the weekend and return to the same Hotel for an extra night, I discovered that there is no storage room, nor they offer any solution to your necessities. I consider these very basic services at any HOTEL in any place of the World, where one is paying way over 200 dls per night: ROOM SERVICE AND STORAGE ROOM. It is very noisy and I had to ask 3 different nights for somebody to repair the TV, since it was not working properly. I would also like to advice, to any HOTEL manager, to charge low fees ( less than 3 dollars) for internet service. Here they charge 12.95 + tax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sotheby's is a short walk away and can make you discover a whole wonderful world of ART. Highly recommendable.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elliot the traveller
Business
Fremont CA
Dec 29, 2013

Good location, yet with pitfalls

The room is good and the location excellent. The pro lems lie within the noise that comes from outside in regular days if you are located in a low fllor. We also had a complaint from our neighbor about loud TV. Since the TV was not so loud it can mean that the walls separating rooms are not properly isolated. The elevator also took sometime to come and sometimes it came already full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, NJ
Nov 2, 2010

Great location for the price

Convenient location & a nice room. My only problem was the lighting in the bathroom was so dim I found it almost impossible to shave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hamden, CT
Mar 1, 2011

"An average hotel"

We went shopping, went out to eat, went to clubs and attractions. Yes I wish the hotel walls were better. The walls were very thin and were heard a lot of commotion one night. The hotel bathroom is kind of small. I wish the bathroom had a jacuzzi tub. The water was kind of cold one day and the heater opening was broken. Postives of the hotel is a great location to go anywhere in New York. The staff was friendly. The hotel is pretty and has a nice bar on the 231st floor. I have been to better hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Madame Tassuds, Ripleys Believe or Not Museum and Madsion Square Gardeb arent far.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Jul 19, 2009

The Bentley Hotel

The best things about the Bentley: it is very affordable (much more so than most New York hotels). It was very close to our destination (what we were in NYC to do). The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the doormen and bellhops. The beds were nice and firm and the Frette linens felt good. There were plenty of pillows (too many). The downside: the hallways are ridiculously dark. Almost as if they are lit by a couple of candles. I don't understand the point of this. It's almost impossible to read your room number on the plaque next to the door! The lobby is pretty dark too, although not as bad as the hallways and elevators (where we noticed other guests were having trouble reading the floor numbers). The showers are European style, with only half glass, so a lot of water can end up on the floor. Also, you can't adjust for water temperature and pressure separately, so if you want a hot shower the force of the water is ridiculously overpowering and the tub doesn't drain fast enough. I was standing in 2 inches of water at the end of each shower. Noise from adjoining rooms can be heard sometimes - maybe the walls are too thin, or poor insulation? But fortunately you can turn up the air conditioning to full blast and that drowns out most of the noise. It would be nice if you could go up to the top floor and enjoy the view without having to dine in the restaurant, but it doesn't appear you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the Ritz Diner except for the homemade lemonade, which is excellent, and the after dinner mints.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis minnesota
Sep 26, 2009

Small room but clean

Gave me room with 2 beds instead of Queen. Had to re pack and move next day. Bar and restaurant was closed for renovations. We should be told that before booking. Second time this has happened to me through orbitz booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stan the travelling man
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Aug 6, 2011

Walking distance from my destination

Slept well in quiet hotel with beautiful view of 59th Street Bridge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dover, DE
May 14, 2011

Out of the way

The hotel was fine except it was blocks away from the "hop on, hop off" tour bus lines. Breakfast was fantastic and service was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Start walking miles a day before you go. The nearest tour bus stops were at least 7 to 12 blocks from the hotel. Most of the time we took a cab to a tour bus location and went on the tour from that point and then a cab back to the hotel

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jan 12, 2010

Good if on a budget.....

The hotel is nice, however, I was there for five nights and received bar soap and a washcloth once during my entire stay. The rooftop restaurant was closed on Friday and Saturday nights for a private party, so room service was unavailable, as well as dining for hotel guests! Walls are thin..I was kept awake by my noisy neighbors and the loud music from the private party. Hotel staff was friendly. Don't think I will stay here again. Too many negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top