$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Bentley Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sschaeff
Business
Dallas
Oct 27, 2012

Great service, paper thin walls

The Bentley was okay. Cons: Paper thin walls SLOW elevators The 1970s called and want their showerhead back Off the beaten path more than I expected (but still not terrible) No coffee in the room (though there is a coffee shop in the lobby) Tired (ugly) exterior (interior shooting for trendy) Pros: Staff was very accommodating right from the start and all the way through my stay Good size room and bathroom (double double) Very comfy beds Price Minibar Views (mine was of an ugly, under construction apartment building, but still, nice to have a big picture window) Restaurant on the 21st floor with great patio options (food was okay, service was abysmal) Considering the price when compared to comparable hotels, my experience was okay. If price is a big issue, then I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs Lea
Couples
Boston, MA
Dec 24, 2012

December in NYC

The room was small, but the price was right, and the location was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young Grandad
Couples
UK
Feb 26, 2013

What a difference

We have stayed at the Bentley many times but this time we have several complaints. 1. The room maid ( or someone ) dropped the trash down the toilet which blocked it --we had to go down to ask reception for help. Their response was we can move you to another room tomorrow -- this was 10ish at night. 2, The card keys didn't work on at least two occasions ( we didn't know until we tried them and again had to return to reception for new ones ( we were on the 14th floor). They suggested we get the keys checked at reception every time before we use the elevator. 3. The taps dripped but were not repaired until day 4- we reported the dripping taps on three consecutive days. 4. The view of the river was masked by another part of the building. (eoom 1401)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many 'different' places to ear on 1st or 2nd Ave.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LJ9N
Family
Caldwell, NJ
Mar 30, 2013

Rooms without view

Without the outstanding view of the bridge, we had a view of construction--which was better than the first room they gave us which was a wall. So I think the big draw was the views from the side of the hotel we were NOT on. Too bad. Otherwise, not much in the area to see or do--but a fun outing for our son which is why we went in the first place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casey2710
Friends
Washington, DC
Apr 27, 2013

Condition of Room

Dissappointed with room. Needs a serious refresh. Large water spots on ceiling from an obvious previous leak. Panel on HVAC fell off. Re: amenities. Dingy towels. In-room safe did not work and had to call for assistance. Could not figure out how to operate the overly complicated radio. All Staff members were great and belong in a 4 star hotel, which the Bentley is not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NMF123
Business
CT
Jun 12, 2013

reasonable and no issues

NYC is expensive but had to spend 1 night so this hotel seemed reasonably priced. Location is not near any subways of course. Construction across the street so noise started early but really, what part of NYC is not noisy....? In any case, just know it is NOT a quiet location right now, at least if you are facing the construction site. The staff was very friendly and helpful, including service call addressed very quickly because the room was FREEZING (65) and I am not a big fan of AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leunamito
Friends
Mexico
Oct 8, 2013

Room service and storage

Before I booked this hotel, I was convinced about location and value. Although at my arrival, I realized that there was a Kosher Restaurant at the top floor, with stunnig views. I was looking forward to trying the kosher food, so I asked for room service and to my surprise, " there is no ROOM SERVICE!, but it the Hotel offers a quite large range of Restaurants arround the neighborhood, unfortunately the few I tried ,the food was lousy. I tried to have breakfast in 4 ocassions, but the restaurant was opened only once. As I had to leave for the weekend and return to the same Hotel for an extra night, I discovered that there is no storage room, nor they offer any solution to your necessities. I consider these very basic services at any HOTEL in any place of the World, where one is paying way over 200 dls per night: ROOM SERVICE AND STORAGE ROOM. It is very noisy and I had to ask 3 different nights for somebody to repair the TV, since it was not working properly. I would also like to advice, to any HOTEL manager, to charge low fees ( less than 3 dollars) for internet service. Here they charge 12.95 + tax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sotheby's is a short walk away and can make you discover a whole wonderful world of ART. Highly recommendable.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elliot the traveller
Family
Fremont CA
Dec 29, 2013

Good location, yet with pitfalls

The room is good and the location excellent. The pro lems lie within the noise that comes from outside in regular days if you are located in a low fllor. We also had a complaint from our neighbor about loud TV. Since the TV was not so loud it can mean that the walls separating rooms are not properly isolated. The elevator also took sometime to come and sometimes it came already full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Jackson, NJ
Nov 2, 2010

Great location for the price

Convenient location & a nice room. My only problem was the lighting in the bathroom was so dim I found it almost impossible to shave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Hamden, CT
Mar 1, 2011

"An average hotel"

We went shopping, went out to eat, went to clubs and attractions. Yes I wish the hotel walls were better. The walls were very thin and were heard a lot of commotion one night. The hotel bathroom is kind of small. I wish the bathroom had a jacuzzi tub. The water was kind of cold one day and the heater opening was broken. Postives of the hotel is a great location to go anywhere in New York. The staff was friendly. The hotel is pretty and has a nice bar on the 231st floor. I have been to better hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Madame Tassuds, Ripleys Believe or Not Museum and Madsion Square Gardeb arent far.

Back to menu Return to top