$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Bentley Hotel

4 stars
500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
366 reviews
City Getaway

This hidden gem in the city is located just off the FDR drive. We came for a weekend and must say... See full review

  • Dan the Man 4
  • Jul 7, 2014
Happiness is a positive surprise

Check in courteous and flawless. Room was upgraded to a Junior suite without asking. Light airy and... See full review

  • poppy M
  • Jun 16, 2014
Chic Upper East Side hotel with glorious rooftop dining
Converted from an office building in 1998, the Bentley Hotel is an elegant mid-sized boutique hotel on New York City?s Upper East Side. In addition to amenities-stocked and non-smoking rooms (several of which look out over the East River), the hotel has 24-hour front desk services, room service, valet laundry and dry cleaning, and daily newspaper delivery available. Guests can grab refreshing breakfast is available at the Lobby Bar. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from the Bentley Hotel's 21st floor restaurant, the Rooftop Restaurant and Bar, which serves Italian American fare at dinner. 
Reasons to stay
  • Rooftop restaurant with skyline views
  • Walk to Central Park
  • Centrally located near shops, dining, and theaters
The Bentley Hotel rooms

There are 197 spacious and non-smoking rooms inside the Bentley Hotel and many have stunning views of the city and East River. Guests can watch pay-per-view movies and cable TV in their rooms on 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs.  A large desk, a two-line phone with data ports and voicemail, a safe, mini bar, and a marble bathroom with Spa Therapy toiletries by Lather are included in each room. Wi-Fi access is available (fees apply). 

Things to do nearby
  • Rockefeller University (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.4 mi/1.9 km)
  • Times Square (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Bronx Zoo (10 mi/ 16.1 km) 
Policies and fees
NOTE: Self-parking costs $25.00 + tax per 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Bentley Hotel Rooms

Superior
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer either a King Bed or 2 Full Size beds with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels and On-Demand movies. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. All rooms are non-smoking. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $14.95 per day.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bentley Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9583
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport (LGA) Flushing, New York 11371. John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) Jamaica, New York 11430. Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) Newark, New Jersey 07114
Area description
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side.

Nearby points of interest

  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.2 mi
  • Roosevelt Island Tramway: 0.2 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • East Side: 0.7 mi
  • Barney's: 0.7 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.2 mi
  • Roosevelt Island Tramway: 0.2 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • East Side: 0.7 mi
  • Barney's: 0.7 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.8 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.8 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.8 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.8 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.8 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.8 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.8 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.9 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.9 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • University Club: 0.9 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 1 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 1 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 1.1 mi
  • International Building: 1.1 mi

Dining

Rooftop Restaurant and Lounge
The Rooftop Restaurant and Bar is located on the 21st Floor with magnificent 360 degree views of New York City, serving Italian American cuisine a la carte menu for dinner and a continental buffet breakfast. Hours of operation are: Breakfast: 6:30am - 11:00am Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Bar: 5:00pm - 12:00am Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Room Service applies to the times above.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (366)

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mr. and mrs. barnes
ANSONIA,CT.
Jan 14, 2010

no restaurant, cold room, dirty

we had worst experience ever the room was cold and dirty it was our 34 annaversary and wanted to stay in and wanted to enjoy the rooftop restaurant but it was not open to us this particular day. we had to change plans and drive somewhere to eat which meant we had to take our car out of the garage and pay again to put car back in. THE WORST

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business Owner, Engineer
Business
New York
Apr 2, 2010

You could die here. Disaster ahead.

I had a serious fall on their wet painted entry floor. Their are no doormen or sufficient staff to offer assistance or monitor and control entry. Absolutely nothing. Keep in mind, their building has 22-floors and is situated between a 24-hour major manhattan gas station and an emergency animal hospital . Despite this, still no one at front door. The front desk staff all did not know what to do and appear to be completely untrained on how to offer assistance. They were clueless. Even the minimum such as a request for a bit of ice will be denied when the injury is serious and swelling. Call your own medic if you need help. Even their restaurant denies having ice or basic ingredients such as skimmilk for tea, etc. Reporting everything afterwards t the manager is also a shocking outcome: the manager argues rather than listens. Here, "arguing" means interrupting in a belligerent manner. He then will tell you it's so he can "understand" what you already told him twice. There are a few other problems that worry me deeply that I cannot detail here. Bottomline: I consider this place a covering-up got something possibly much more dangerous and that for my experience alone, I apparently only encountered the basic clues of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Dec 3, 2010

Not worth it!

My heater did not work and the hotel would not send anyone t fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bwe
Chicago, IL
Sep 29, 2009

Pass on this one

Staff was not attentive. Walls were paper thin and we could hear our neighbors conversations. This was very annoying, especially at 2:00 am. The hotel tested their fire alarm at 8:00 am on Sunday morning - when we asked about the disturbance they stated that it was a planned testing of the alarm system!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Dec 21, 2010

just awful!!

I have been going to New York for 20 years and the Bentley Hotel was the worst ever! Was 20 degrees and i felt i was in the street, when i asked to change my room because i had no heat they ask me for $80. I left at 4pm. Dont go there, its horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mr. and mrs. barnes
ANSONIA,CT.
Jan 14, 2010

no restaurant, cold room, dirty

we had worst experience ever the room was cold and dirty it was our 34 annaversary and wanted to stay in and wanted to enjoy the rooftop restaurant but it was not open to us this particular day. we had to change plans and drive somewhere to eat which meant we had to take our car out of the garage and pay again to put car back in. THE WORST

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hanover, NH
Nov 16, 2009

Recent stay at the Bentley

The Bentley is located right next to an entrance to a major highway so if you stay -- stay on an upper floor because there isn't much sound-proofing. When it was originally decorated -- it was very funky but it is starting to look tired -- dirty baseboards, bad paint jobs, the gym only had three machines (out of 9) connected for power (the others didn't have cords)and 1 out of 3 didn't work. One out of 2 TVs in the gym had a remote. It was as if they just made a splash and then left nothing in the budget for maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Nov 6, 2009

Looks can be deceiving

PROS: Rooms were clean, and staff was friendly. CONS: Elevators were broken. The iron in my room leaked dirty water and stained one of my shirts. Some of the staff decided midnight would be a good time to vacuum the hall outside of my room, waking me up from a deep sleep. On my last day, something went wrong with the water, resulting in a dark brown sludge flowing from my faucet and preventing me from taking a shower. Upon checkout, they attempted to charge me for items from the minibar that I did not eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2011

Tired

Great if you like Zebra striped carpet, no room service until 4pm and kind of a creepy location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Il Vagabondo two blocks away.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
One Time NY Visit
Aurora, IL
Jun 11, 2012

False advertising

The deal included a hotel w pool (they dont have one, what a joke). They "gym" was a few old machinery, no water fountain, had to wait for staff to bring ice every time, which they forgot after I waited 30mins, overated as he ll. The room had a breeze w the windows closed! on the 10+ floor!!! Scary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top