$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Bentley Hotel

4 stars
500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
269 reviews
Getaway for HSS visitors

I had a wonderful stay at the Bentley Hotel on York and 62nd in New York City in November 2014. The... See full review

  • KB from NY
  • Dec 3, 2014
Excellent Stay

Recommended - great views, service was excellent, room was comfortable. Right on far east side of... See full review

  • Yojik K
  • Dec 2, 2014
Chic Upper East Side hotel with glorious rooftop dining
Converted from an office building in 1998, the Bentley Hotel is an elegant mid-sized boutique hotel on New York City?s Upper East Side. In addition to amenities-stocked and non-smoking rooms (several of which look out over the East River), the hotel has 24-hour front desk services, room service, valet laundry and dry cleaning, and daily newspaper delivery available. Guests can grab refreshing breakfast is available at the Lobby Bar. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from the Bentley Hotel's 21st floor restaurant, the Rooftop Restaurant and Bar, which serves Italian American fare at dinner. 
Reasons to stay
  • Rooftop restaurant with skyline views
  • Walk to Central Park
  • Centrally located near shops, dining, and theaters
The Bentley Hotel rooms

There are 197 spacious and non-smoking rooms inside the Bentley Hotel and many have stunning views of the city and East River. Guests can watch pay-per-view movies and cable TV in their rooms on 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs.  A large desk, a two-line phone with data ports and voicemail, a safe, mini bar, and a marble bathroom with Spa Therapy toiletries by Lather are included in each room. Wi-Fi access is available (fees apply). 

Things to do nearby
  • Rockefeller University (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.4 mi/1.9 km)
  • Times Square (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Bronx Zoo (10 mi/ 16.1 km) 
Policies and fees
NOTE: Self-parking costs $25.00 + tax per 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Bentley Hotel Rooms

Superior
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer either a King Bed or 2 Full Size beds with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels and On-Demand movies. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. All rooms are non-smoking. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $14.95 per day.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Rooftop Restaurant and Lounge
The Rooftop Restaurant and Bar is located on the 21st Floor with magnificent 360 degree views of New York City, serving Italian American cuisine a la carte menu for dinner and a continental buffet breakfast. Hours of operation are: Breakfast: 6:30am - 11:00am Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Bar: 5:00pm - 12:00am Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Room Service applies to the times above.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (269)

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
269 out of 269
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
May 27, 2011

Bentley Hotel

Was okay: good points - was clean, the staff were helpful and the TV service was good. bad points: was fairly far away from the nearest subway (approx 20min walk), we were on the 2nd floor so it had quite a lot of noise from the road at night, the room was cold (although they did provide a portable heater when i asked). Three stars overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of the touristy things to do can be done within a short walk of each other. i suggest doing the museums and the central ppark bits on one day. the 5th avenue shopping/empire state bulding/rockefellar centre/grand central terminal bits on another day. and the ferry/financial district/chinatown and little italy bits on another day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dog Doc
Business
Knoxville, TN, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Close to the Animal Medical Center

The hotel is very good in terms of providing basic housing with rooms that are relatively large for New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Animal Medical Center is right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Very Dissatisfied
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Expected something different than what i got

I had seen this hotel several times on this site and decided to give it a try. The lobby was very nice but once i entered the room I was very disappointed. the shower only has glass on the front end so the floor was wet. There were only 2 towels and one rag for 2 people. The heating system creaked all night so I got very little sleep. The faucet in the bathroom broke as i turned it on. The front desk was very helpful but once service arrived they stood in front of the door not wanting to leave. If my room had everything that it was suppose to have then I would not have to call the front desk for service. I was once again very disappointed in this hotel and I will never again visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AEASDFA
Business
Columbia, MD
Feb 19, 2012

Very nice, but very small rooms

Excellent location for NY Presbyterian hospital. We were in a room with 2 double beds. The appointments and cleanliness were fine, but, although they describe the rooms as oversized, I would say it was 180 square feet. We also had to ask 3 times before they brought us a luggage rack.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cggn
Business
New York New York
Mar 8, 2012

Overnight stay after moving out of our apt

We checked in and were greeted by very friendly staff. The restaurant on the 21st floor wanted $40 corkage fee to open a bottle of wine we brought from home. That was expensive. The restaurant had a very limited menu and lots of pasta. Friendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cinnamonHH
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 9, 2012

Nice but Not Convenient

The Bentley is a nice place to stay. The room wasn't spacious, but hey, it's New York. The bed was very comfy and I slept like a rock, and the shower was okay. The rooftop restaurant was closed for remodeling, which bummed me out big time, but it'll probably be very nice once July is over and it's all done. Be aware that if you don't like to walk, this isn't the place for you. The nearest subway is across from Bloomingdales, and that's 6 blocks away. Not convenient at all, which is really too bad because I would have given a higher rating if transport was closer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If your turn right on York coming out of the hotel, you'll find a fresh pastry vendor across from the Rockefeller U. Much closer and easier than walking up the hill to 1st or 2nd Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SSbarber
Business
Birmingham Alabama
Jul 13, 2012

Anniversary Trip

On the night we got there, we had to call for ice 4 times before it was brought. Apparently the ice machine was in the basement.... Whomever designed the tub needs to rethink it...the shower had a half glass door so half of the shower was open the entire time. The floor got soaked each time a shower was taken. We had to call for extra towels on 3 different days due to not enough being left in the room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gr8 travels
Business
Denver, Colorado
Aug 13, 2012

Just okay

Clean and just walking distance from great shopping Thr pics were a little deceiving -- I was expecting a lot more. It wasnt completely horrible, though. Staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't leave without visiting serendipity 3 and their famous frozen hot chocolate!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Austinite in NYC
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 20, 2012

Towels, breakfast, and trash

We had some weird occurrences during our stay. Our shower broke and we couldn't get the water to turn off. No big deal, but they said they'd have it fixed by noon and when we returned around 3:30pm in desperate need of a nap - they were just returning to work on it. Then we noticed that housekeeping took all our towels but didn't replace them with new ones. We kept noticing how stingy they were with towels. I'm fine reusing towels, just not washcloths. We paid $12 (each) for their continental breakfast one morning and I was so shocked with the lack of food. A few cereals, bagels and croissants, orange juice and coffee - $12 really? And no milk for the cereal. Then when I went to pack up my stuff to head home, I noticed I was missing caps to 3 different items. Housekeeping had been throwing away the caps to my shaving cream, my hair mousse and my razor. That was by far the weirdest occurrence. I ended up having to throw away those items for fear that they'd cause a mess in my luggage. I give the hotel a 3 because the location was good, the door guys were friendly and the price is fair - but we will probably not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manhattan Mama
Business
Michigan
Aug 20, 2012

First Time in New York

The staff at the front desk was friendly when we came to check in, although the doorman who grabbed our bag out of the town car, was not very friendly and I was put off a bit by the way he came and grabbed our bag. Our room was OK, clean, a comfortable bed. but a bit small and no refrigerator. When we asked at the desk if we could get one( my sister did have one in her room), we were told they would check into it and never got back with us. We choose this hotel to be near my nephew's apartment, however it was a long walk to the subway, and we seemed to do more in lower Manhattan than this area. The breakfast served at the hotel was very overpriced for a continental breakfast. It would have been better if they had coffee pots in the room. All in all it was OK, nothing special. If somebody is looking for a hotel near Central Park it is OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top