Bentley Hotel

4 stars
500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
270 reviews
Getaway for HSS visitors

I had a wonderful stay at the Bentley Hotel on York and 62nd in New York City in November 2014. The... See full review

  • KB from NY
  • Dec 3, 2014
Excellent Stay

Recommended - great views, service was excellent, room was comfortable. Right on far east side of... See full review

  • Yojik K
  • Dec 2, 2014
Chic Upper East Side hotel with glorious rooftop dining
Converted from an office building in 1998, the Bentley Hotel is an elegant mid-sized boutique hotel on New York City?s Upper East Side. In addition to amenities-stocked and non-smoking rooms (several of which look out over the East River), the hotel has 24-hour front desk services, room service, valet laundry and dry cleaning, and daily newspaper delivery available. Guests can grab refreshing breakfast is available at the Lobby Bar. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from the Bentley Hotel's 21st floor restaurant, the Rooftop Restaurant and Bar, which serves Italian American fare at dinner. 
Reasons to stay
  • Rooftop restaurant with skyline views
  • Walk to Central Park
  • Centrally located near shops, dining, and theaters
The Bentley Hotel rooms

There are 197 spacious and non-smoking rooms inside the Bentley Hotel and many have stunning views of the city and East River. Guests can watch pay-per-view movies and cable TV in their rooms on 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs.  A large desk, a two-line phone with data ports and voicemail, a safe, mini bar, and a marble bathroom with Spa Therapy toiletries by Lather are included in each room. Wi-Fi access is available (fees apply). 

Things to do nearby
  • Rockefeller University (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.4 mi/1.9 km)
  • Times Square (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Bronx Zoo (10 mi/ 16.1 km) 
Policies and fees
NOTE: Self-parking costs $25.00 + tax per 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Bentley Hotel Rooms

Superior
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer either a King Bed or 2 Full Size beds with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels and On-Demand movies. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. All rooms are non-smoking. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $14.95 per day.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9583
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport (LGA) Flushing, New York 11371. John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) Jamaica, New York 11430. Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) Newark, New Jersey 07114
Area description
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side.

Nearby points of interest

  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.2 mi
  • Roosevelt Island Tramway: 0.2 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • East Side: 0.7 mi
  • Barney's: 0.7 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.2 mi
  • Roosevelt Island Tramway: 0.2 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • East Side: 0.7 mi
  • Barney's: 0.7 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.8 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.8 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.8 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.8 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.8 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.8 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.8 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.9 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.9 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • University Club: 0.9 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 1 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 1 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 1.1 mi
  • International Building: 1.1 mi

Dining

Rooftop Restaurant and Lounge
The Rooftop Restaurant and Bar is located on the 21st Floor with magnificent 360 degree views of New York City, serving Italian American cuisine a la carte menu for dinner and a continental buffet breakfast. Hours of operation are: Breakfast: 6:30am - 11:00am Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Bar: 5:00pm - 12:00am Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Room Service applies to the times above.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (270)

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
270 out of 270
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melodi1
Business
FL
Oct 6, 2014

Girls getaway

This is own by Jewish people and the restaurant on the roof top was closed on the weekend due to a Jewish holiday. So that was a disappointment. The room was your typical NY hotel room, SMALL. The power in room room went out and a few lamps did not work. I found it a little strange that the lights that did work and air condition turned on only when you put your room key in a slot next to the door. Location is nice and away from the craziness of time square, but close enough to walk to with a good pair of walking shoes. I would only recommend this hotel if you get a really good deal, otherwise, look somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bloomidales and other great shops nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jmb11
Business
minnesota
Oct 8, 2014

The Bentley

clean room the bed was comfortable but had a large sinkhole from people sleeping in the same place year after year pillows were excellent I'm going to buy down right pillows for my own bed. 3 elevators only one seemed to work refrigerator in the room loaded with lots of overpriced stuff no room to put your own things thank you for the pop machine that worked in the hallway with reasonably priced pop and water. one snack machine was unplugged I wondered if that was so you would have to buy the overpriced stuff that filled dressers in the roomvery friendlyhousekeeping staff and for the most partthe front desk Bell hops we're great. great location I had a surgical procedure that took me to New York and headed two days of complete bed rest. first time to New York and nothing to compare it tobut it would be rough for them to stay in business in Minnesota.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
good location
Business
canada
May 23, 2009

bentley

nice hotel, good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RajKan
Business
UK
Sep 11, 2009

Very good hotel

We stayed at the Bentley Hotel for 5 nights in total and really enjoyed it. The room was a very good size and kept extremely clean, the shower was not the best but not too important. Staff were very nice and extremely helpful. However, I was extremely surprised that the hotel did not provide free wireless ($15 day!), we took trip to Washington on the Boltbus (Highly recommended and extremely cheap!) and even that had free wireless! Location wise its not too bad, the hotel is located on the east side right near Roosevelt Island. The nearest metro is approx 8 - 10 mins walk we but did not mind that. We felt very safe walking around the area at night and the people were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here, its not too expensive compared to other hotels in NY (If you can get a good deal) and was very clean and tidy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go to Century 21 located near Wall Street. Its a lot like TK Maxx but on a huge scale. You'll find some absolute bargains (especially with the pound doing pretty well at the mo) but be prepared to take your time looking around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golden Gaiter
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Respite for a busy week-end

I was in town to do the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer-which is a 39.3 mile walk over 2 days. We came in a few days early to visit with our niece who lives about 20 blocks away. We didn't spend much time in the room, we were too busy sightseeing and walking! Basically, we were just there to sleep. The beds are very comfortable and the room was big enough and not claustrophobic at all. Our room overlooked the Queensboro bridge as well as the East River. Nice window treatments to shut out the lights from the bridge at night but if you are a light sleeper, you can hear some traffic. The bathroom was fairly big with nice tile however, there was no fan in it and so it would get very steamy after showers. Because of this, there was also a strong mildewy smell. One thing that we did not have was refrigerator in the room which was surprising because it looked like there was a cabinet for one. It wasn't a big deal for us not to have one, however it would have been nice. The location was somewhat remote (comparatively) and you had to walk a few blocks to get to restaurants, shops and the subway which wasn't a big deal for us because we didn't mind walking but something to consider if you are traveling with children or an elderly person. The staff was friendly and efficient. No complaints. We used the business center and looked in at the fitness center which seemed adequate (we didn't use it). What might be nice is if the hotel offered free Wifi but again, not a big deal since we weren't there that much. Overall, I would give the Bentley an A- rating. With the main reason being they need to get rid of the mildew in the bathroom!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like barbecue, go one block up 62nd Ave. and 1st to Neely's Barbecue. Great food! Across the street is the Ritz Diner for cheap breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidmarlborough
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Nov 15, 2011

east side NYC

Staff helpful, view great from top floor, restaurant has fabulous view, banal food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

good location, nice hotel, not cheap, well it's NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jebrica
Business
Orange County, CA
Dec 26, 2011

Nice view!

We enjoyed the view from the 17th floor and liked the style of the interior. It cost a lot though, and the location was a long walk from the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MS84
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Dec 20, 2011

I would stay here again!

The rooms were very nice and the staff was friendly. The only complaint that we had was the maids door outside our room kept slamming when they went in and out. All in all, very nice hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The real entertainment is walking the city, not in a theatre. Take the time to enjoy the city and walk! No tour bus can give the true appreciation of NYC!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jagger
Business
Spain
Jan 8, 2012

NYE in NYC

Hotel was a perfect location for us to explore, the beds were slightly too small, the view we had from room 1203 was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and courteous. We had a fantastic visit to NYC and The Bentley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanny
Business
Scotland, UK
Jan 20, 2012

WHAT A CITY

Fantastic hotel although restaurant staff need a bit of a gee up, waited an hour for any food then main meal arrived starter never did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top