$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Bentley Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckeye
Friends
Ohio
May 2, 2014

An average stay

My friend and I visited NYC for a 4 days short break to take in all the sights and a Broadway show. The hotel classed itself as a boutique hotel, which I have stayed in before but not like this one. It looked and felt tired, in desperate need of updating. The air con unit in our room was very noisy and didn't work that well. There is no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the walls are paper thin so was kept awake by our noisy neighbours one night. On the plus side the location is good, a short walk from Central Park, Fifth Avenue and the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
London
May 27, 2011

Bentley Hotel

Was okay: good points - was clean, the staff were helpful and the TV service was good. bad points: was fairly far away from the nearest subway (approx 20min walk), we were on the 2nd floor so it had quite a lot of noise from the road at night, the room was cold (although they did provide a portable heater when i asked). Three stars overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of the touristy things to do can be done within a short walk of each other. i suggest doing the museums and the central ppark bits on one day. the 5th avenue shopping/empire state bulding/rockefellar centre/grand central terminal bits on another day. and the ferry/financial district/chinatown and little italy bits on another day.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dog Doc
Business
Knoxville, TN, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Close to the Animal Medical Center

The hotel is very good in terms of providing basic housing with rooms that are relatively large for New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Animal Medical Center is right next door.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Very Dissatisfied
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Expected something different than what i got

I had seen this hotel several times on this site and decided to give it a try. The lobby was very nice but once i entered the room I was very disappointed. the shower only has glass on the front end so the floor was wet. There were only 2 towels and one rag for 2 people. The heating system creaked all night so I got very little sleep. The faucet in the bathroom broke as i turned it on. The front desk was very helpful but once service arrived they stood in front of the door not wanting to leave. If my room had everything that it was suppose to have then I would not have to call the front desk for service. I was once again very disappointed in this hotel and I will never again visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AEASDFA
Couples
Columbia, MD
Feb 19, 2012

Very nice, but very small rooms

Excellent location for NY Presbyterian hospital. We were in a room with 2 double beds. The appointments and cleanliness were fine, but, although they describe the rooms as oversized, I would say it was 180 square feet. We also had to ask 3 times before they brought us a luggage rack.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cinnamonHH
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 9, 2012

Nice but Not Convenient

The Bentley is a nice place to stay. The room wasn't spacious, but hey, it's New York. The bed was very comfy and I slept like a rock, and the shower was okay. The rooftop restaurant was closed for remodeling, which bummed me out big time, but it'll probably be very nice once July is over and it's all done. Be aware that if you don't like to walk, this isn't the place for you. The nearest subway is across from Bloomingdales, and that's 6 blocks away. Not convenient at all, which is really too bad because I would have given a higher rating if transport was closer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If your turn right on York coming out of the hotel, you'll find a fresh pastry vendor across from the Rockefeller U. Much closer and easier than walking up the hill to 1st or 2nd Ave.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SSbarber
Couples
Birmingham Alabama
Jul 13, 2012

Anniversary Trip

On the night we got there, we had to call for ice 4 times before it was brought. Apparently the ice machine was in the basement.... Whomever designed the tub needs to rethink it...the shower had a half glass door so half of the shower was open the entire time. The floor got soaked each time a shower was taken. We had to call for extra towels on 3 different days due to not enough being left in the room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gr8 travels
Friends
Denver, Colorado
Aug 13, 2012

Just okay

Clean and just walking distance from great shopping Thr pics were a little deceiving -- I was expecting a lot more. It wasnt completely horrible, though. Staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't leave without visiting serendipity 3 and their famous frozen hot chocolate!!

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Austinite in NYC
Couples
Austin, TX
Aug 20, 2012

Towels, breakfast, and trash

We had some weird occurrences during our stay. Our shower broke and we couldn't get the water to turn off. No big deal, but they said they'd have it fixed by noon and when we returned around 3:30pm in desperate need of a nap - they were just returning to work on it. Then we noticed that housekeeping took all our towels but didn't replace them with new ones. We kept noticing how stingy they were with towels. I'm fine reusing towels, just not washcloths. We paid $12 (each) for their continental breakfast one morning and I was so shocked with the lack of food. A few cereals, bagels and croissants, orange juice and coffee - $12 really? And no milk for the cereal. Then when I went to pack up my stuff to head home, I noticed I was missing caps to 3 different items. Housekeeping had been throwing away the caps to my shaving cream, my hair mousse and my razor. That was by far the weirdest occurrence. I ended up having to throw away those items for fear that they'd cause a mess in my luggage. I give the hotel a 3 because the location was good, the door guys were friendly and the price is fair - but we will probably not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manhattan Mama
Couples
Michigan
Aug 20, 2012

First Time in New York

The staff at the front desk was friendly when we came to check in, although the doorman who grabbed our bag out of the town car, was not very friendly and I was put off a bit by the way he came and grabbed our bag. Our room was OK, clean, a comfortable bed. but a bit small and no refrigerator. When we asked at the desk if we could get one( my sister did have one in her room), we were told they would check into it and never got back with us. We choose this hotel to be near my nephew's apartment, however it was a long walk to the subway, and we seemed to do more in lower Manhattan than this area. The breakfast served at the hotel was very overpriced for a continental breakfast. It would have been better if they had coffee pots in the room. All in all it was OK, nothing special. If somebody is looking for a hotel near Central Park it is OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top