$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Bentley Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
297 out of 297
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sarah does soho
miami
Dec 24, 2012

can't complain about this place!

I booked the room for Friday and Saturday nights about 3-4 weeks before my trip. I picked it because it was about half the price of the other hotels I saw listed in Manhattan. I'd never been to NY before but my friends who live in the area said it was a decent location. It was maybe a block over from shopping but I easily walked from it to Central Park, Rockerfeller Center, and even Times Square. It was in a quiet spot (which I like so I can actually sleep without the world going nuts outside my window) but close enough to everything to get to it easily. The room itself was beautifully decorated, the bed was verrrry comfortable and warm and even though they said I took something from the mini bar, when I said that I did not at all, they took the charge off and I checked out without a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
One Time NY Visit
Business
Aurora, IL
Jun 11, 2012

False advertising

The deal included a hotel w pool (they dont have one, what a joke). They "gym" was a few old machinery, no water fountain, had to wait for staff to bring ice every time, which they forgot after I waited 30mins, overated as he ll. The room had a breeze w the windows closed! on the 10+ floor!!! Scary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rsquared
Business
Hillsborough, nc
Aug 6, 2012

Be Very Careful

The hotel arrangements were ok; nothing fancy but then the bill was reasonable The part that was distressing was the double charge on the stay with pending charges that showed up after my stay. The bill was paid in advance though Cheap Tickets. While the hotel seemed to understand that the room was paid for well in advance, they still pre-charged my credit card the full amount of the stay, doubling the bill. A phone call to Bentley had assurances that the charges would be removed at some point. I now need to keep an eye on it to see if this really happens. Go somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
k2lai
Business
santa rosa, ca
Aug 13, 2013

Not a 4 star, not even close

I have stayed at the Bentley several times over the past twenty years because of location close to my family. The Bently Hotel is an old, deteriorating physical plant with multiple problems but pleasant staff, improved recently. The AC system is ancient, noisy and works intermittently or not at all. I needed a fan this time to survive the summer NYC heat wave. The bath tub stopper was broken and could not be fixed other than pushing a wash rag into the outlet to take a bath. The minibar refrigerator was missing, with a raw, empty space in this "superior " room. The elevators are slower since the Hotel gave up its Penthouse floor to a private restaurant. Now, hotel guests are competing with housekeeping, luggage, and restaurant patrons for 3 elevators. At check out, the desk person initially insisted I pay for the 5 nights, even tho I had bought the rooms thru Cheap Tickets. Not 4 star class, but never was been for 20 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Nov 9, 2010

small hootel in New York

tiny space

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2011

Tired

Great if you like Zebra striped carpet, no room service until 4pm and kind of a creepy location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Il Vagabondo two blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
marchmadness
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 28, 2011

Bentley Hotel - the good and the bad

The best feature of the Bentley Hotel is its excellent location on East 62nd St. at York on the Upper Eastside, within walking distance of the Met Museum, Whitney Museum, Central Park and the Frick Collection. Our room on the 2nd floor was VERY loud due to traffic noise; insist on a higher floor! The room and bath were good-sized and comfortable. Overall service was awful; with 3 adult guests, we had to request 3 towels every single day. Attitude at front desk was unhelpful and disinterested in guests' concerns. Elevator broke down and it took a long time before someone suggested allowing guests to use the "service" elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the excellent and economical Persian Grill on 1st Ave. Very good food, service and the prices are less than you see in NYC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 7, 2008

Ok for the money

Beautiful views of the east river and queensborough bridge. Room had a wierd small and bed was too short for me and I'm only 6'. Last year they had free coffee in the lobby but this year it was out of order. Hotel seems to have gone downhill a bit since last year, although still reasonably priced for a midtown room at Christmas time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro 61 (61st and 1st) terrific French Bistro food. Also Sushi Seki on 1st between 62nd and 63rd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 2, 2009

Needs better upkeep.

The Bentley Hotel has the makings of a nice hotel however, due to bad upkeep, maintenance and cleaning it looks shappy and unkempt....... it did not feel like the 4* we expected. The decor is nice but is obviously shabby in the reception area (scratches on doors), lift area (marks on walls, floor dirty), rooms (sofa was ripped) and corridors (not vacummed). Not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location. Short walk to central park, times square etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 20, 2011

This is lacking something

The hotel room was missing glasses, ice-bucket, and the towels were in short supply. The front desk staff seemed helpful, but when requesting things they seemed short and inattentive. There was only 1 elevator (of 3) working when we got there. They were sweltering and it felt like the a.c. was broken in the hallways. I don't even think there was a vending machine, or if there was we weren't able to find it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look for on street parking, saved $30+ and it wasn't a bad walk to public transportation. Cabs were everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New England
Nov 14, 2009

No great deal

Toilet was running and wouldn't flush properly, kept having to plunge. The walls were really thin, I could hear people in the next room perfectly. Hotel seemed really run down but with a slick facelift. It was noisy, staff was a little stingy (charging me to call the garage underneat to pick up my car)but they were pretty friendly and the heating/ac unit seemed like a relic (seriously old, buttons missing, painted over).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top