$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Bentley Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golden Gaiter
Family
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Respite for a busy week-end

I was in town to do the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer-which is a 39.3 mile walk over 2 days. We came in a few days early to visit with our niece who lives about 20 blocks away. We didn't spend much time in the room, we were too busy sightseeing and walking! Basically, we were just there to sleep. The beds are very comfortable and the room was big enough and not claustrophobic at all. Our room overlooked the Queensboro bridge as well as the East River. Nice window treatments to shut out the lights from the bridge at night but if you are a light sleeper, you can hear some traffic. The bathroom was fairly big with nice tile however, there was no fan in it and so it would get very steamy after showers. Because of this, there was also a strong mildewy smell. One thing that we did not have was refrigerator in the room which was surprising because it looked like there was a cabinet for one. It wasn't a big deal for us not to have one, however it would have been nice. The location was somewhat remote (comparatively) and you had to walk a few blocks to get to restaurants, shops and the subway which wasn't a big deal for us because we didn't mind walking but something to consider if you are traveling with children or an elderly person. The staff was friendly and efficient. No complaints. We used the business center and looked in at the fitness center which seemed adequate (we didn't use it). What might be nice is if the hotel offered free Wifi but again, not a big deal since we weren't there that much. Overall, I would give the Bentley an A- rating. With the main reason being they need to get rid of the mildew in the bathroom!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like barbecue, go one block up 62nd Ave. and 1st to Neely's Barbecue. Great food! Across the street is the Ritz Diner for cheap breakfast!

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KTelly
Couples
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Beautiful view on the river.

The staff was very friendly and held our luggage for us after we checked out so we could tour new york. They have their own taxis available to use, but we decided to take the subway. It's a little less than a mile from the station. The view of the 59th street bridge from the room is amazing. We were very comfortable in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frenchy
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Somewhat ok

Nothing really bad about this hotel. Just very blend. Kind of deserted, they were doing some renovation on the lounge floor and you coulf hear them banging at 8 am...... First room I was offered had a view on the air conditioning units outside. I called and asked to be moved. They placed me on the 12th floor and it was much better. First two nights, the business center and gym were not available due to a big party. Would have been nice to know before arriving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Reserve a cab before leaving the hotel if you are going to do some walking around before having to get to JFK.....it takes a good hour to get there.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel
Family
Kampala, Uganda
Aug 15, 2011

Old Hollywood Charm!

The decor made me feel like I'd been transported back in time without losing any modern conveniences! The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The room was quiet and comfortable. We used the business center and it was easy. Handy to have a Starbucks in the lobby (though we would have loved for it to be open when we were catching our shuttle at 5:30 am!) Would have appreciated free Wi-Fi and the number of towels we had seemed to decrease by the day but these are small complaints. Overall, we loved our stay at The Bentley!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chirp
Friends
Philadelphia, Pa.
Aug 15, 2011

Great for a mid week getaway!

The Bentely is great if you need to be on the Eastside of New York. It was perfect for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stan the travelling man
Single
Boca Raton, FL
Aug 6, 2011

Walking distance from my destination

Slept well in quiet hotel with beautiful view of 59th Street Bridge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Francisco, CA
Jul 13, 2011

Great

Great hotel. Simple, clean, cheap, new, close to everything... A great experience with no complains at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Boston, MA
Jun 20, 2011

This is lacking something

The hotel room was missing glasses, ice-bucket, and the towels were in short supply. The front desk staff seemed helpful, but when requesting things they seemed short and inattentive. There was only 1 elevator (of 3) working when we got there. They were sweltering and it felt like the a.c. was broken in the hallways. I don't even think there was a vending machine, or if there was we weren't able to find it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look for on street parking, saved $30+ and it wasn't a bad walk to public transportation. Cabs were everywhere.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jun 1, 2011

Weekend Getaway

My partner and I needed a break from our apartment 16 blocks away. It was a great place to escape for 2 nights... We'd do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wkndgetaway
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
May 29, 2011

weekend getaway

The hotel was perfect for what we needed, which was mostly sleeping and showering . The room was very clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The air in our room was broken and within 10 minutes of calling the front desk they had addressed and fixed the problem. The hotel was a little bit of a walk from the subway but not too bad. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top