$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Bentley Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
297 out of 297
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RoseGGG
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 13, 2014

Okay

Faucet was clogged, furniture looks a bit old. Under construction

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckeye
Business
Ohio
May 2, 2014

An average stay

My friend and I visited NYC for a 4 days short break to take in all the sights and a Broadway show. The hotel classed itself as a boutique hotel, which I have stayed in before but not like this one. It looked and felt tired, in desperate need of updating. The air con unit in our room was very noisy and didn't work that well. There is no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the walls are paper thin so was kept awake by our noisy neighbours one night. On the plus side the location is good, a short walk from Central Park, Fifth Avenue and the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, NJ
Nov 2, 2010

Great location for the price

Convenient location & a nice room. My only problem was the lighting in the bathroom was so dim I found it almost impossible to shave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hamden, CT
Mar 1, 2011

"An average hotel"

We went shopping, went out to eat, went to clubs and attractions. Yes I wish the hotel walls were better. The walls were very thin and were heard a lot of commotion one night. The hotel bathroom is kind of small. I wish the bathroom had a jacuzzi tub. The water was kind of cold one day and the heater opening was broken. Postives of the hotel is a great location to go anywhere in New York. The staff was friendly. The hotel is pretty and has a nice bar on the 231st floor. I have been to better hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Madame Tassuds, Ripleys Believe or Not Museum and Madsion Square Gardeb arent far.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Jul 19, 2009

The Bentley Hotel

The best things about the Bentley: it is very affordable (much more so than most New York hotels). It was very close to our destination (what we were in NYC to do). The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the doormen and bellhops. The beds were nice and firm and the Frette linens felt good. There were plenty of pillows (too many). The downside: the hallways are ridiculously dark. Almost as if they are lit by a couple of candles. I don't understand the point of this. It's almost impossible to read your room number on the plaque next to the door! The lobby is pretty dark too, although not as bad as the hallways and elevators (where we noticed other guests were having trouble reading the floor numbers). The showers are European style, with only half glass, so a lot of water can end up on the floor. Also, you can't adjust for water temperature and pressure separately, so if you want a hot shower the force of the water is ridiculously overpowering and the tub doesn't drain fast enough. I was standing in 2 inches of water at the end of each shower. Noise from adjoining rooms can be heard sometimes - maybe the walls are too thin, or poor insulation? But fortunately you can turn up the air conditioning to full blast and that drowns out most of the noise. It would be nice if you could go up to the top floor and enjoy the view without having to dine in the restaurant, but it doesn't appear you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the Ritz Diner except for the homemade lemonade, which is excellent, and the after dinner mints.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis minnesota
Sep 26, 2009

Small room but clean

Gave me room with 2 beds instead of Queen. Had to re pack and move next day. Bar and restaurant was closed for renovations. We should be told that before booking. Second time this has happened to me through orbitz booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stan the travelling man
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Aug 6, 2011

Walking distance from my destination

Slept well in quiet hotel with beautiful view of 59th Street Bridge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dover, DE
May 14, 2011

Out of the way

The hotel was fine except it was blocks away from the "hop on, hop off" tour bus lines. Breakfast was fantastic and service was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Start walking miles a day before you go. The nearest tour bus stops were at least 7 to 12 blocks from the hotel. Most of the time we took a cab to a tour bus location and went on the tour from that point and then a cab back to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jan 12, 2010

Good if on a budget.....

The hotel is nice, however, I was there for five nights and received bar soap and a washcloth once during my entire stay. The rooftop restaurant was closed on Friday and Saturday nights for a private party, so room service was unavailable, as well as dining for hotel guests! Walls are thin..I was kept awake by my noisy neighbors and the loud music from the private party. Hotel staff was friendly. Don't think I will stay here again. Too many negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ky Ex
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 2, 2010

Good price for the location

Pros: Clean and nice, friendly staff. Cons: -The continental breakfast is not complimentary, they charge $11.95 and it's only bagels, cereal, and orange juice. You would be much better off just going across the street to eat at one of the many diners for the same price and getting an entire plate of hot food. -The wi-fi is a terrible nightmare. You constantly get bumped off, approximately every 2-3 minutes. -The walls are extremely thin. You can hear everything in the rooms around you and in the hallways. Plus everyone else can hear you. This isn't that bad of a thing though, since you should be out looking at the city anyways instead of sitting in a hotel room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brunch at Ritz Diner is a great alternative to the "continental breakfast." It was $12.95 for everything on the brunch menu. I ordered, all included in the price, pancakes, sausage, bacon, ham and eggs. It also came with a fruit cup, glass of orange juice and cup of coffee. This is located 1 block from Bentley Hotel at 62nd and 1st

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top