$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

3 stars
View map of 522 W 38th Street, New York, NY 10018-1104

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
54 reviews
Excellent value

The location is good, but not perfect. The rooms are tiny, but comfortable. It's noisy. All that... See full review

  • Neal E.
  • May 2, 2015
Great Hotel

Location was great, staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean. Mattresses and... See full review

  • Theresa
  • Feb 9, 2015
Youll be a short walk away from Times Square, the Empire State Building, Central Park and more when you stay at this convenient and affordable non-smoking New York City Best Western hotel! Situated just a half block from New York City's Jacob Javits Convention Center, the BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Hotel guests are able to walk to many of the shops and restaurants for which the Big Apple is known. Times Square, Penn Station, the Empire State Building and the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum Complex are all less than a mile away. Guests can walk to world-class shopping on 5th Avenue or spend an evening enjoying a Broadway show at one of the many nearby theaters. Other attractions close to this New York City Best Western hotel include High Line Park, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral and Chelsea Piers Sports. The BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel offers guests a home away from home while they explore the city. The property features 83 well-appointed guest rooms, each with clean and comfortable Tempur-Pedic mattresses, cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. This non-smoking New York City hotel also offers a complimentary continental breakfast and business services. Our professional and friendly multilingual staff will gladly book guests for city tours. Ensure a memorable stay in the Big Apple when you contact the friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel. Book today and save! Enjoy your stay!

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOKING,HI SPEED NET,COFFEEMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOKING,HI SPEED NET,COFFEEMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.5 mi
  • West 30th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.5 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.5 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.5 mi
  • West 30th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.5 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.5 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Carmine's
0.60 mile(s) from Carmine's, Italian, 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Gold Rush Bar & Grill
0.10 mile(s) from Gold Rush Bar & Grill, western style saloon, 12:00 Noon to 4:00 a.m.
Keen's Steakhouse
0.70 mile(s) from Keen's Steakhouse, steak, 12:00 Noon
Sardi's
0.70 mile(s) from Sardi's, Continental, 12:00 Noon to 10:00 p.m.
Manganaro's Hero Boy
0.20 mile(s) from Manganaro's Hero Boy, deli, Monday through Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. and Sunday 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
ESPN Zone
0.50 mile(s) from ESPN Zone, American, 12:00 Noon to 12:00 p.m.
HK-Hell's Kitchen
0.20 mile(s) from HK-Hell's Kitchen, American, 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 a.m., Happy hour 4:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jjd6980
Business
new jersey
Mar 12, 2014

skip

this place is terrible. do not stay, rude staff, not helpful at all....they rely on their proximity to the convention center as their main source of business, if it wasnt for that, there would be NO reason to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business forever
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 21, 2013

Not a good stay

This hotels makes Best Western's look very very bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
betito
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 10, 2013

bad place to stay in

hi It is a right place for not a long distance from the mayor attractions in New York City but unfortunately cleaness is terrible... smells terrible all the hotel... the people at the front desk they are brute and have no respect for the tourist, meanwhile they can get your money off it doesn´t matter how... I personally don´t recomend this place at all.. I would prefer to play a litte more and be closer to downtown in a safest and nicest place with clean rooms....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

it is not far away from the main attractions but the area at the hotel is dark at night and looks unsafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southampton, NY
Aug 8, 2009

Unhappy stay!

First of all, the room that they first gave us upon arrival was supposed to have a king bed in it, there were two double beds put together under a coverlet. The room smelled of pesticide leading us to believe that there had a bug problem in there. We opened the window to air out the room and found that there was no screen, so it was impossible to keep the window open for any period of time without bugs getting in. The person writing this is James Morgan's girlfriend Sarah Halsey who stayed with him at the hotel. We left to do some sightseeing and shut the window. When we got back that evening, when I went to bed, I felt like things were crawling on me, I turned the light on and there were dozens of bugs crawling over me, my pillow cases and my sheets of my double bed part of the bed that we were in. I have bug bites on both feet, both legs all the way up to my stomach. I was not a happy camper to say the least. I finally slept on top of the bed in the coverlet, it was either there or sleep in the bathtub. Also, there was hydraulic drills being used throughout the night, there is a taxi repair center across the street, and even with the air conditioning on, the noise was outrageous. I reported this the next morning and the staff member was very courteous to me and arranged to put us in another room. We stepped out to do some more sightseeing and the hotel personnel moved our bags to another room, which was we found when we arrived back was a little bigger and had the kingsize bed that we were originally supposed to get and it was bug free. The manager I must say was wonderful to me, she saw that I was still in a lot of pain, from the bug bites on my feet, I had to wear bandaids on both feet to be able to wear my sandles to walk. She went out and bought me some calamine lotion for my bites and upon check out she did give my boyfriend $80.00 in cash for the pain and suffering that we went through. Also during the transfer of bags from the first room to the replacement room, a burnished silver ring with a bezelled topaz stone which I had in one of the pockets of my suitcase went missing. This is something that I am in the process of calling the hotel and seeing if it can be recovered, but I fear that it was stolen. I made it myself and it is worth well over $500.00. I have had many more enjoyable trips than one in the past. The staff did seem to be gracious, especially the manager. But I do hope that they will get the bug infestation taken care of. Even the second room had a pesticide smell to it, but it wasnt as bad as the first room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About three blocks away from the hotel is a marvelous italian restaurant called Il Punto, it was absolutely awesome! Fantastic service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missoula
Jun 27, 2008

My review of Best Western Convention Center Hotel

I stay in NYC often and this is the worst hotel I've ever been in the City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PJ Travel Organizer
Business
Roanoke, VA
Apr 11, 2014

Business Trip

We reserved 3 rooms for 3 days and there was a problem with each reservation. The hotel staff was not cooperative with helping solve the problems. The elevator didn't work several of the days and we had to walk up 9 floors. The lobby was torn up for remodeling. The breakfast was okay, but nothing special. The rooms were tiny. It was very close to the convention center - which was about the only good thing. The price of the room was too expensive for the service and size of the room that were received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you can walk and save yourself a taxi ride, that is best, plus you might find something interesting on your walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
ex san jose
Oct 10, 2010

drt trip to big apple

two adults in small rooms,i did like the location was good. it was over price even for new york.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MACK D
Business
Northeast, PA
Jan 3, 2012

Decent for the price

New Year's Eve is going to be pricey in NYC and this certainly was the case here. Bare bones amenities, but in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in garage one block down 38th St. You'll save compared to the garage right next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ingrtw
Business
New Hampshire
Jan 7, 2013

needs improvment

Streets nearby are run down and dirty , stairs were littered , staff was nice , no liner in trash cans in room .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
True to the King
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 4, 2014

Cramped and spartan

Good location and relatively value pricing but small rooms and limited facitlies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

TImes Square is awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top