$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

3 stars
View map of 522 W 38th Street, New York, NY 10018-1104

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spike2012
Business
Seattle
Mar 6, 2012

Convenient Value near Javits

Convenient access to Javits and tunnel to New Jersey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ew59
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Great economy stay close to Times Square

rooms are small but comfortable, hotel is clean and looks recently renovated. walls are very thin so you might get to hear your neighboors. there is a railway very close to hotel which makes it loud when the train is passing but it wasn't too bad at night though. just 10-15 min away from Times Square. Overall very good experience, will definitely come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MACK D
Business
Northeast, PA
Jan 3, 2012

Decent for the price

New Year's Eve is going to be pricey in NYC and this certainly was the case here. Bare bones amenities, but in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in garage one block down 38th St. You'll save compared to the garage right next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bhoney
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Good location, clean & simple

My fiance and I enjoyed our stay at the best western. Of course its nothing fancy, but it is clean and in a good location to Times Square and good shopping/restaurants. We walked everywhere from the hotel easily. It is located across from a pharmacy on one corner and a car garage on the other so the view isn't great, but we didn't mind.We would stay there again because you can't beat its price compaired to other hotels in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Krishna
Business
NY
Sep 16, 2011

Overall OK

It is overall OK. But the hotel is in a shady area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
ex san jose
Oct 10, 2010

drt trip to big apple

two adults in small rooms,i did like the location was good. it was over price even for new york.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee WI
Oct 5, 2009

Hotel

The rooms were small, but the hotel is convenient to most of Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southampton, NY
Aug 8, 2009

Unhappy stay!

First of all, the room that they first gave us upon arrival was supposed to have a king bed in it, there were two double beds put together under a coverlet. The room smelled of pesticide leading us to believe that there had a bug problem in there. We opened the window to air out the room and found that there was no screen, so it was impossible to keep the window open for any period of time without bugs getting in. The person writing this is James Morgan's girlfriend Sarah Halsey who stayed with him at the hotel. We left to do some sightseeing and shut the window. When we got back that evening, when I went to bed, I felt like things were crawling on me, I turned the light on and there were dozens of bugs crawling over me, my pillow cases and my sheets of my double bed part of the bed that we were in. I have bug bites on both feet, both legs all the way up to my stomach. I was not a happy camper to say the least. I finally slept on top of the bed in the coverlet, it was either there or sleep in the bathtub. Also, there was hydraulic drills being used throughout the night, there is a taxi repair center across the street, and even with the air conditioning on, the noise was outrageous. I reported this the next morning and the staff member was very courteous to me and arranged to put us in another room. We stepped out to do some more sightseeing and the hotel personnel moved our bags to another room, which was we found when we arrived back was a little bigger and had the kingsize bed that we were originally supposed to get and it was bug free. The manager I must say was wonderful to me, she saw that I was still in a lot of pain, from the bug bites on my feet, I had to wear bandaids on both feet to be able to wear my sandles to walk. She went out and bought me some calamine lotion for my bites and upon check out she did give my boyfriend $80.00 in cash for the pain and suffering that we went through. Also during the transfer of bags from the first room to the replacement room, a burnished silver ring with a bezelled topaz stone which I had in one of the pockets of my suitcase went missing. This is something that I am in the process of calling the hotel and seeing if it can be recovered, but I fear that it was stolen. I made it myself and it is worth well over $500.00. I have had many more enjoyable trips than one in the past. The staff did seem to be gracious, especially the manager. But I do hope that they will get the bug infestation taken care of. Even the second room had a pesticide smell to it, but it wasnt as bad as the first room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About three blocks away from the hotel is a marvelous italian restaurant called Il Punto, it was absolutely awesome! Fantastic service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

the room is small. it is very noisy not only from the neighbours but also from the outside. The environment around the hotel is horrible. There is a horse stable near around.So the ordor is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jinter
Business
MA
Jul 19, 2009

Clean, Comfortable, perfectly adequate

We went to see a show and enjoy Neew York the next day. I t all worked very much to our satisfaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Irish Rogue, Eighth and Forty First

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top