$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

3 stars
231 Grand Street, New York, NY 10013-4246
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
58 reviews
great chinatown/little italy spot right on the B/D metro

This is a great chinatown/little italy spot right on the B/D metro. Everything you need with easy... See full review

  • Wool Socks
  • Nov 18, 2014
Great location

The people that worked here were very Wonderful. Easy to walk everywhere, lovely bamboo Hardwood... See full review

  • Sbowen
  • Sep 22, 2013
Stay at this 100% non-smoking New York City, New York hotel located next to the subway and key local attractions such as Canal Street, Chinatown and Little Italy. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, where guests will find exceptional customer service and accommodations at an affordable rate. This New York City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each offering cable satellite television with free HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this 100% non-smoking hotel will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning before heading out to sightsee. Additional amenities include an exercise facility and a full-service business center. The BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel is ideally located less than one mile from many New York attractions including Chinatown, Little Italy, the Wall Street financial district and the World Trade Center Memorial. Hotel guests will enjoy an afternoon of shopping on 5th Avenue or visiting key sights such as Ellis Island, the Statue of Liberty, the Empire State Building and Times Square. Corporate travelers will appreciate being a half mile from the New York Stock Exchange, the Federal Reserve Bank, JP Morgan and American Express®. This New York hotel is also ideal for viewing several annual events including the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade®, the Chinese New Year and the Tribeca Film Festival. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in New York, New York. Make a reservation today and save!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFABD,DELUXE,MICRFG,FLAT TV, HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HISPD,FLATSCRN,DESK,SAFE,CFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,FLATSCRN,DESK,SAFE,CFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,FLATSCRN,DESK,SAFE,CFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.1 mi
  • Bowery: 0.1 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.3 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.1 mi
  • Bowery: 0.1 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.3 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.3 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.3 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.4 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.4 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.5 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.5 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.5 mi
  • Alfred E. Smith House: 0.5 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.5 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.5 mi
  • Queen of Greene Street: 0.5 mi
  • African Burial Ground: 0.6 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.6 mi
  • New York Law School: 0.6 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi
  • Juan Pablo Duarte Square: 0.6 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Capsouto Park: 0.6 mi
  • Dahesh Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.7 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • South Street Seaport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Pace University: 0.7 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.7 mi

Dining

The Odeon
0.25 mile(s) from The Odeon, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Nyonya
0.10 mile(s) from Nyonya, Full Service, Vietnamese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Flamma Osteria
0.10 mile(s) from Flamma Osteria, Full Service, Italian, Open for: dinner,
New York Noodletown
0.10 mile(s) from New York Noodletown, Fast Food, Chinese, Open for: dinner,
Nobu
0.75 mile(s) from Nobu, Full Service, Japanese, Open for: dinner,
Chanterella
0.25 mile(s) from Chanterella, Full Service, French, Open for: dinner,
Plate NYC
0.25 mile(s) from Plate NYC, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Big Wong King
0.10 mile(s) from Big Wong King, Full Service, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Suba
0.25 mile(s) from Suba, Full Service, Mediterranean, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paulo 2T
Business
Petaluma, CA
May 14, 2010

Excellent staff, small room, spotty wifi

Overall the hotel is very clean, comfortable bed with extremelly friendly staff. Wasn't able to use char on desk, WIFI erratic. The breafast loungue is small for so many guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zr's mom
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Apr 5, 2010

clean and sleek

This hotel is in Chinatown and only 2 blocks from Little Italy. The hotel appears newly renovated, spotless, and has a European style. The front desk service was prompt and friendly. There are no real amenities (like a pool), but this hotel provides you with the basics for a visit to New York. The rooms are not huge but they aren't cramped either - not bad for a hotel room in a city like NY. A breakfast buffet is included and there was a large spread, and even enough tables to accomodate the guests. All of NY is expensive, but this part of town costs less than uptown and the value seems very good. The nearest subway entrance is about 10 minutes walk. The only complaint I can think of is that there is a lot of street noise at night. This isn't the hotel's fault, just the nature of the city. We were on the 3rd floor, so this problem would probably be reduced if you asked for a room on a higher floor (I think the rooms spans floors 3-10). I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat in Little Italy (Mulberry St.) while you are there! Fabulous!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Concord, NH
Mar 17, 2010

Best Western Hanabee Hotel in Chinatown

Room was clean and comfortable. The door deadbolt was inoperative. Phoned front desk to service door deadbolt. Front desk could not repair the door deadbolt until the next morning. Spent an uneasy night with a door improperly secured.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

New York City is easy to get around. Subway system can carry you any where you want to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Most convenient location ever!

I took the red eye from LAX on Monday evening and got to my hotel at 10AM on Tuesday. The front desk was very accommodating to get me into my room right away so I could rest. This was my first trip to New York and I was flying solo for business. My client that I was working with was in the Soho area. I was very excited that despite the weather that I could walk to their store in under 10 minutes. I was out very late every night walking the streets and felt totally comfortable with the surroundings. I was never bothered once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I used the Dial7 car service to and from the hotel and it was so worth the $38 dollars with tip from La Guardia. They picked me up curbside both times and wasted no time in getting me to my destination.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cph, denmark
Feb 15, 2010

awesome location, great rooms

...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
China baby's Mom
Business
Long Island, NY
Feb 14, 2010

Great Stay!

Enjoyed a fantastic Chinese New Year. Hotel is a block from the best restaurants, parking, festivities, lots of shopping. Immaculately clean! Large room, exceptional staff. Eleven thirty am. check out helped too! Will undoubtedly book for next year, can't wait! Highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bad Breeff
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 31, 2010

Would Absolutely Stay Again

Incredibly friendly staff, allowed us to check in 2 hours early (a room was available) and check out later than the proposed 11:30am. Located in Chinatown, we had no issues findings cabs. The rooms were very comfortable and much larger than the average NYC hotel room. Bathroom was large as well. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and plan on it in the next couple of months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delfina822
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 25, 2010

don't have one complaint

This was my first time staying at this hotel, but definitely not the last. I mainly chose this hotel because of the reasonable price, the rooms looked nice and modern from the online photos and I wanted to be in Lower Manhattan. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we felt very welcome. The front desk staff were very pleasant and recommended a great restaurant for us for lunch (Novella in Little Italy, just a few blocks away). The room was great; very bright, clean and especially for a NYC hotel, roomy. The bathroom was spotless. I loved the location because within walking distance are great restaurants and shops. I could've spent all day just going in to all of the shops and browsing around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Novella, for great Italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travellers to NY City
Business
Golden, CO
Jan 18, 2010

Manhatten 1/15-17/2010

Very good price for Manhattan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We were there for a wedding, with most options pre-arranged. It is eas to hail a cab on Browery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dvg
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 14, 2009

NYC btwn Chinatown and Little Italy

Thermostat not always as high as I would like it to be. It was 32 outside for most of visit, so would have liked a warmer respite in room. Clean, good view. Decent continental breakfast. Fabulous staff. Called back to my room right away w/ updated subway info, dining recommendations. Loved walking right out the front door into Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Congee - great service, great price, Cantonese style

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top