$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

3 stars
231 Grand Street, New York, NY 10013-4246
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
58 reviews
great chinatown/little italy spot right on the B/D metro

This is a great chinatown/little italy spot right on the B/D metro. Everything you need with easy... See full review

  • Wool Socks
  • Nov 18, 2014
Great location

The people that worked here were very Wonderful. Easy to walk everywhere, lovely bamboo Hardwood... See full review

  • Sbowen
  • Sep 22, 2013
Stay at this 100% non-smoking New York City, New York hotel located next to the subway and key local attractions such as Canal Street, Chinatown and Little Italy. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, where guests will find exceptional customer service and accommodations at an affordable rate. This New York City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each offering cable satellite television with free HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this 100% non-smoking hotel will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning before heading out to sightsee. Additional amenities include an exercise facility and a full-service business center. The BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel is ideally located less than one mile from many New York attractions including Chinatown, Little Italy, the Wall Street financial district and the World Trade Center Memorial. Hotel guests will enjoy an afternoon of shopping on 5th Avenue or visiting key sights such as Ellis Island, the Statue of Liberty, the Empire State Building and Times Square. Corporate travelers will appreciate being a half mile from the New York Stock Exchange, the Federal Reserve Bank, JP Morgan and American Express®. This New York hotel is also ideal for viewing several annual events including the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade®, the Chinese New Year and the Tribeca Film Festival. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in New York, New York. Make a reservation today and save!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFABD,DELUXE,MICRFG,FLAT TV, HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HISPD,FLATSCRN,DESK,SAFE,CFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,FLATSCRN,DESK,SAFE,CFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,FLATSCRN,DESK,SAFE,CFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.1 mi
  • Bowery: 0.1 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.3 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.1 mi
  • Bowery: 0.1 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.3 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.3 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.3 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.4 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.4 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.5 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.5 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.5 mi
  • Alfred E. Smith House: 0.5 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.5 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.5 mi
  • Queen of Greene Street: 0.5 mi
  • African Burial Ground: 0.6 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.6 mi
  • New York Law School: 0.6 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi
  • Juan Pablo Duarte Square: 0.6 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Capsouto Park: 0.6 mi
  • Dahesh Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.7 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • South Street Seaport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Pace University: 0.7 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.7 mi

Dining

The Odeon
0.25 mile(s) from The Odeon, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Nyonya
0.10 mile(s) from Nyonya, Full Service, Vietnamese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Flamma Osteria
0.10 mile(s) from Flamma Osteria, Full Service, Italian, Open for: dinner,
New York Noodletown
0.10 mile(s) from New York Noodletown, Fast Food, Chinese, Open for: dinner,
Nobu
0.75 mile(s) from Nobu, Full Service, Japanese, Open for: dinner,
Chanterella
0.25 mile(s) from Chanterella, Full Service, French, Open for: dinner,
Plate NYC
0.25 mile(s) from Plate NYC, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Big Wong King
0.10 mile(s) from Big Wong King, Full Service, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Suba
0.25 mile(s) from Suba, Full Service, Mediterranean, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 58
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bad Breeff
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 31, 2010

Would Absolutely Stay Again

Incredibly friendly staff, allowed us to check in 2 hours early (a room was available) and check out later than the proposed 11:30am. Located in Chinatown, we had no issues findings cabs. The rooms were very comfortable and much larger than the average NYC hotel room. Bathroom was large as well. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and plan on it in the next couple of months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Sep 23, 2008

very nice and modern

This was a great NYC hotel. The room was large for the average city hotel. It had a flat screen and a great shower, bathroom and comfortable bed. it is located in chinatown but also close to the subway and SOHO. I will be looking to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great Whloe Foods Market on bowery and houston were you can get some snacks and beverages to make your stay very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacylu
Business
Maine, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Terrific!

The rooms are super clean and comfortable. The staff is great and so helpful. We make an annual trip to NYC and would not stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C. L. Freire
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 4, 2011

AMAZING!!!! On both sides of the coin

I just got back from a two-week vacation that ended in NYC, where we stayed at the Bowery Hanbee Hotel in Chinatown. A few things travelers should know is: First off, the hotel was VERY clean, comfortable, and the customer service was AMAZING! When we got there, I requested that our pre-reserved king room be in a particular part of the hotel, and the staff, namely [...] and [...], were beyond accommodating. TO be honest, every staff member we spoke with throughout our stay was just as helpful and friendly. They were friendly, helpful, and always took the time each day to provide us with a map and directions as to which subway to take to get to where we wanted to go. The first night, our a/c wasn't working and I informed the staff, who, without hesitation, upgraded us to a fall-over-from-shock-worthy king suite, which had two TVs, a table and four chairs, a nice bathroom, a sofa and two comfortable lounge chairs. AWESOME ROOM! The street itself wasn't all that clean, and always smelled like fish, but the vibe in the air was vastly interesting. If you get the chance to stay at this hotel, don't hesitate if you're looking for an memorable stay in NYC. If you're looking for an area with 24-hr street life, go somewhere else, since this area is primarily made up of small businesses. There are no bars here on this street, but it is NYC, so walk a little, and you'll find yourself in the center of something, without question. As far as our experience, all I cal say is I'm glad we got to experience Chinatown like this, because in truth, visitors to the city never see the real Chinatown unless they stay there. WARNING: We took a bus tour that gave us some helpful insight into how to decide on any particular restaurant. He told us that every restaurant (by law), must display in the window, the health department's official cleanliness grade for the establishment. MOST of the restaurants we passed by in the area where this hotel was was graded "B". Stay clear of any restaurant that is graded anything but an "A". Trust me, as good as the food is, eating at a B is not worth it. If only I'd known about this before I ate at NY Noodletown. Great food, bad reaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Be on the look out for the Grade displayed in the window of each and every restaurant you enter. Steer clear of anything below an A.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fun in ny
Business
MA
May 23, 2010

Great hotel for the price!

Hotel is surprisingly nice. We had a suite, and that was pretty big, and modern. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just right. Cannot beat the price for this hotel, and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delfina822
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 25, 2010

don't have one complaint

This was my first time staying at this hotel, but definitely not the last. I mainly chose this hotel because of the reasonable price, the rooms looked nice and modern from the online photos and I wanted to be in Lower Manhattan. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we felt very welcome. The front desk staff were very pleasant and recommended a great restaurant for us for lunch (Novella in Little Italy, just a few blocks away). The room was great; very bright, clean and especially for a NYC hotel, roomy. The bathroom was spotless. I loved the location because within walking distance are great restaurants and shops. I could've spent all day just going in to all of the shops and browsing around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Novella, for great Italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billebones
Business
Saugerties Jul 5, 2012

Can't Beat this place

What a deal and price , location was excellent, Chinatown and Little Italy, 2 queen sized beds, nice bathroom and shower, good breakfast. Short cab ride to the South Street Seaport . We'll stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many great restuarants in Little Italy and Chinatown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eza007
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jan 12, 2013

Cheap and Cheerful

Room was clean, neat and tidy and not a bad size for NY!! It was cute, staff were friendly and the WIFI actually worked!!!! Definitely recommend!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bren St
Business
London Ontario
Feb 19, 2013

good week overall

the hotel staff were great, the breakfast was great and the rooms were clean. It was close to the subway and easy to get around. The internet was poor in the mornings and I had one cool shower. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

so many places to eat hard to decide!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yumm106
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 14, 2014

central location

This place was perfect for us. We didn't want to spend a lot of money. The room was clean, the bed was super comfy. Slept great. And we were walking distance from Lombardi's (best pizza ever), Vanessa's dumplings (4 for $1), gelato in Little Italy, Doughnut Plant, and even Katz Deli for the best Pastrami sandwich I've ever eaten. We were in town for a show at the Public Theater which was also walking distance away. And we took the plunge and walked to Chelsea Market one day (2 miles away). On full stomachs we took the subway home. Google maps makes it so easy to get around on public transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top