$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

3 stars
View map of 231 Grand Street, New York, NY 10013-4246

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tetterman
Business
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Oct 15, 2012

Hot&Happening for business and fun

A great place! Well connected with the rest of Manhattan by metro, and a great neighborhood for the days I was not working. A mix of Chinatown, little Italy and Hot Lower Manhattan: restaurants, bars, shops, bustling street-life. Rooms are larger than average in NY and staff is so friendly and helpful that they're on course for whatever prize there is for great hospitality. Breakfast is simple, for more sophisticated stuff go to Little Italy. One suggestion: change internet provider - surfing was sometimes slow and sometimes interrupted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Nyoya - a great (!) Malaysian restaurant next-door.

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY taveler
Business
connecticut
Oct 18, 2012

convenient and comfortable

The hotel was within close proximity to all I was doing in New York, very convenient. And the staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend to a friend, nothing fancy but a comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY taveler
Business
connecticut
Nov 16, 2012

perfect for my business in the city

helpful, efficient, and clean stay. location was perfect for my travel needs. the only complaint was that the desk in the room was too small for really doing any work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minh D
Business
Hanoi, Vietnam
Dec 24, 2012

A relative good hotel

The best thing about the hotel is its location, which is only 3 minutes walking from the train (subway) station. The B-D line in this station would take you to most of the attraction sites (shopping centers on 34rd street, 42nd street, Times Square, Central Park, etc). It will also take 7-10 mins walking to Soho, where you can find quite some fashion stores as well. However, if you really want to be in the center and can walk to the fashion districts, I'd not recommend this hotel. You can book another in mid-town for $25/night more (I used to book one and then cancelled because my friend recommend to stay in Chinatown). The 2nd best thing about the hotel is the bathroom. It's clean, water is hot, strong and the bath space is quite roomy. At the end of the day, I think a good shower is what you really really need. The bed is quite comfortable, I could get some really good sleep here. Overall, I do not really have any complains. I did not need any help from the staff but I saw them helping other guests quite enthusiastically.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to try some Asian/Vietnamese food, the Nam Son restaurant nearby is a really good one. If you want to go shopping, use the train station to get to 34rd street (Macys, Victoria Secret, Gap, etc) and then 42nd street (Zara, H&M, BCBG, and other department stores).

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eza007
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jan 12, 2013

Cheap and Cheerful

Room was clean, neat and tidy and not a bad size for NY!! It was cute, staff were friendly and the WIFI actually worked!!!! Definitely recommend!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bren St
Business
London Ontario
Feb 19, 2013

good week overall

the hotel staff were great, the breakfast was great and the rooms were clean. It was close to the subway and easy to get around. The internet was poor in the mornings and I had one cool shower. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

so many places to eat hard to decide!

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Voseo
Business
Moscow, Russia
Oct 18, 2013

A good place to sleep and have a morning coffee

Nice and clean hotel, perfect location to explore downtown Manhattan and Brooklyn. Breakfast was okay and staff was helpful and polite. I will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a decent Vietnamese restaurant next block.

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mayorbarry
Business
chicago
Oct 23, 2013

Clean and comfortable

Ideal location for many nearby rock clubs. Comfortable bed and pillow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Winnie213
Business
Indiana
Dec 1, 2013

Thanks giving stay

We went to attend a family event in Chinatown on the thanksgiving day, when all the hotels nearby were full and expensive. This one was of great value compared to others at this special day. But if it were during a low season, the price might be too high. Overall very good experience, nice and decent hotel room within the Chinatown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zr's mom
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Apr 5, 2010

clean and sleek

This hotel is in Chinatown and only 2 blocks from Little Italy. The hotel appears newly renovated, spotless, and has a European style. The front desk service was prompt and friendly. There are no real amenities (like a pool), but this hotel provides you with the basics for a visit to New York. The rooms are not huge but they aren't cramped either - not bad for a hotel room in a city like NY. A breakfast buffet is included and there was a large spread, and even enough tables to accomodate the guests. All of NY is expensive, but this part of town costs less than uptown and the value seems very good. The nearest subway entrance is about 10 minutes walk. The only complaint I can think of is that there is a lot of street noise at night. This isn't the hotel's fault, just the nature of the city. We were on the 3rd floor, so this problem would probably be reduced if you asked for a room on a higher floor (I think the rooms spans floors 3-10). I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat in Little Italy (Mulberry St.) while you are there! Fabulous!!!

Back to menu Return to top