$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

3 stars
231 Grand Street, New York, NY 10013-4246
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
84 reviews
Great location

The people that worked here were very Wonderful. Easy to walk everywhere, lovely bamboo Hardwood... See full review

  • Sbowen
  • Sep 22, 2013
Great stay!

Great stay! Great location - in the heart of China town, next to Little Italy! Great gelato one... See full review

  • Ninikookamunga
  • Jun 13, 2014
Stay at this 100% non-smoking New York City, New York hotel located next to the subway and key local attractions such as Canal Street, Chinatown and Little Italy. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, where guests will find exceptional customer service and accommodations at an affordable rate. This New York City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each offering cable satellite television with free HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this 100% non-smoking hotel will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning before heading out to sightsee. Additional amenities include an exercise facility and a full-service business center. The BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel is ideally located less than one mile from many New York attractions including Chinatown, Little Italy, the Wall Street financial district and the World Trade Center Memorial. Hotel guests will enjoy an afternoon of shopping on 5th Avenue or visiting key sights such as Ellis Island, the Statue of Liberty, the Empire State Building and Times Square. Corporate travelers will appreciate being a half mile from the New York Stock Exchange, the Federal Reserve Bank, JP Morgan and American Express®. This New York hotel is also ideal for viewing several annual events including the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade®, the Chinese New Year and the Tribeca Film Festival. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in New York, New York. Make a reservation today and save!

Hotel Map

40.7186 -73.9952
Nearby airports
(LGA), 12.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFABD,DELUXE,MICRFG,FLAT TV, HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HISPD,FLATSCRN,DESK,SAFE,CFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,FLATSCRN,DESK,SAFE,CFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,FLATSCRN,DESK,SAFE,CFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.1 mi
  • Bowery: 0.1 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.3 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.1 mi
  • Bowery: 0.1 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.3 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.3 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.3 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.4 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.4 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.5 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.5 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lower East Side: 0.5 mi
  • Alfred E. Smith House: 0.5 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.5 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.5 mi
  • Queen of Greene Street: 0.5 mi
  • African Burial Ground: 0.6 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.6 mi
  • New York Law School: 0.6 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi
  • Juan Pablo Duarte Square: 0.6 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Capsouto Park: 0.6 mi
  • Dahesh Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.7 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • South Street Seaport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Pace University: 0.7 mi

Dining

Big Wong King
0.10 mile(s) from Big Wong King, Full Service, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Plate NYC
0.25 mile(s) from Plate NYC, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Flamma Osteria
0.10 mile(s) from Flamma Osteria, Full Service, Italian, Open for: dinner,
Suba
0.25 mile(s) from Suba, Full Service, Mediterranean, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chanterella
0.25 mile(s) from Chanterella, Full Service, French, Open for: dinner,
The Odeon
0.25 mile(s) from The Odeon, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Nyonya
0.10 mile(s) from Nyonya, Full Service, Vietnamese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Nobu
0.75 mile(s) from Nobu, Full Service, Japanese, Open for: dinner,
New York Noodletown
0.10 mile(s) from New York Noodletown, Fast Food, Chinese, Open for: dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bren St
London Ontario
Feb 19, 2013

good week overall

the hotel staff were great, the breakfast was great and the rooms were clean. It was close to the subway and easy to get around. The internet was poor in the mornings and I had one cool shower. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

so many places to eat hard to decide!

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
China baby's Mom
Long Island, NY
Feb 14, 2010

Great Stay!

Enjoyed a fantastic Chinese New Year. Hotel is a block from the best restaurants, parking, festivities, lots of shopping. Immaculately clean! Large room, exceptional staff. Eleven thirty am. check out helped too! Will undoubtedly book for next year, can't wait! Highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacylu
Maine, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Terrific!

The rooms are super clean and comfortable. The staff is great and so helpful. We make an annual trip to NYC and would not stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Most convenient location ever!

I took the red eye from LAX on Monday evening and got to my hotel at 10AM on Tuesday. The front desk was very accommodating to get me into my room right away so I could rest. This was my first trip to New York and I was flying solo for business. My client that I was working with was in the Soho area. I was very excited that despite the weather that I could walk to their store in under 10 minutes. I was out very late every night walking the streets and felt totally comfortable with the surroundings. I was never bothered once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I used the Dial7 car service to and from the hotel and it was so worth the $38 dollars with tip from La Guardia. They picked me up curbside both times and wasted no time in getting me to my destination.

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacylu
Maine, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Terrific!

The rooms are super clean and comfortable. The staff is great and so helpful. We make an annual trip to NYC and would not stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fun in ny
MA
May 23, 2010

Great hotel for the price!

Hotel is surprisingly nice. We had a suite, and that was pretty big, and modern. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just right. Cannot beat the price for this hotel, and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C. L. Freire
Miami, FL
Aug 4, 2011

AMAZING!!!! On both sides of the coin

I just got back from a two-week vacation that ended in NYC, where we stayed at the Bowery Hanbee Hotel in Chinatown. A few things travelers should know is: First off, the hotel was VERY clean, comfortable, and the customer service was AMAZING! When we got there, I requested that our pre-reserved king room be in a particular part of the hotel, and the staff, namely [...] and [...], were beyond accommodating. TO be honest, every staff member we spoke with throughout our stay was just as helpful and friendly. They were friendly, helpful, and always took the time each day to provide us with a map and directions as to which subway to take to get to where we wanted to go. The first night, our a/c wasn't working and I informed the staff, who, without hesitation, upgraded us to a fall-over-from-shock-worthy king suite, which had two TVs, a table and four chairs, a nice bathroom, a sofa and two comfortable lounge chairs. AWESOME ROOM! The street itself wasn't all that clean, and always smelled like fish, but the vibe in the air was vastly interesting. If you get the chance to stay at this hotel, don't hesitate if you're looking for an memorable stay in NYC. If you're looking for an area with 24-hr street life, go somewhere else, since this area is primarily made up of small businesses. There are no bars here on this street, but it is NYC, so walk a little, and you'll find yourself in the center of something, without question. As far as our experience, all I cal say is I'm glad we got to experience Chinatown like this, because in truth, visitors to the city never see the real Chinatown unless they stay there. WARNING: We took a bus tour that gave us some helpful insight into how to decide on any particular restaurant. He told us that every restaurant (by law), must display in the window, the health department's official cleanliness grade for the establishment. MOST of the restaurants we passed by in the area where this hotel was was graded "B". Stay clear of any restaurant that is graded anything but an "A". Trust me, as good as the food is, eating at a B is not worth it. If only I'd known about this before I ate at NY Noodletown. Great food, bad reaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Be on the look out for the Grade displayed in the window of each and every restaurant you enter. Steer clear of anything below an A.

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
China baby's Mom
Long Island, NY
Feb 14, 2010

Great Stay!

Enjoyed a fantastic Chinese New Year. Hotel is a block from the best restaurants, parking, festivities, lots of shopping. Immaculately clean! Large room, exceptional staff. Eleven thirty am. check out helped too! Will undoubtedly book for next year, can't wait! Highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sailor home on leave
Upstate NY
Mar 20, 2011

Definitely a Great Choice!

I stayed 5 nights here, and as a single, 24-year-old guy, I couldn't have ask for anything better. Hugh at the front desk was a big help when I checked in, and the other people were just as helpful. The room was actually pretty sizable for an NYC hotel. Everything was in great shape, the room was quiet despite its location in chinatown, and the bed was wicked comfortable. There is also wired AND wireless internet in the rooms, as well as wireless in the lobby, and a guest PC in the lobby that has a printer, which if you need to print flight info or tickets, is incredibly convenient. The location was great too. Only a couple blocks from the ramp to the Manhattan Bridge, and the B/D train is a block down grand street, and the J is up-one/over-one block. It's overall a great, modern, quiet place to stay in a hectic city, and the rate was great. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a GREAT spot for shopping, smack-dab in the middle of Canal & Houston, both are within walking distance.

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 28, 2008

very family friendly

The stay was awesome the staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice, clean very comfortable beds and well stocked with everything you would need for your stay. The location was ok not the best but not the worst either it was close to most things just a short taxi ride to everything. The only thing I wasn't happy with was the size of the rooms not much room to move around and put your luggage with 4 people in the room. I would stay again though it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

China town great shopping great deals!!!!

Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 28, 2008

very family friendly

The stay was awesome the staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice, clean very comfortable beds and well stocked with everything you would need for your stay. The location was ok not the best but not the worst either it was close to most things just a short taxi ride to everything. The only thing I wasn't happy with was the size of the rooms not much room to move around and put your luggage with 4 people in the room. I would stay again though it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

China town great shopping great deals!!!!

Back to menu Return to top