$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

3 stars
View map of 231 Grand Street, New York, NY 10013-4246

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IamATL
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 17, 2012

Better Than Expected

Everything was great. Didn't expect a Best Western to be this nice. Room was clean, comfortable, modern, just really nice all the way around. Staff was great and helpful. I would definitely stay there again and recommend to others, especially for the continental breakfast that also includes a waffle maker, cereal and pastries, not just toast and water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EricBo
Business
France
Nov 2, 2011

Downtown In Chinatown New York City

Noisy (furthermore our neighbors were noisy). Good location downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacylu
Business
Maine, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Terrific!

The rooms are super clean and comfortable. The staff is great and so helpful. We make an annual trip to NYC and would not stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago Ed
Business
Chicago, Il
Oct 5, 2011

Good hotel

Have stayed at the Hanbee a few times now. I like the location and the cleanliness and amenities. This time, however, their broadband was down the whole time I was there. A bit of a downer and something which, if it occurs again, will cause me to book elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tri kamnya
Business
San Mateo, CA
Sep 20, 2011

good

It was really expensive during fashion week, but otherwise I have no complaints. The room made sense, it wasn't super noisy. The breakfast was OK. The room was kept clean. This was my second time there. When I was there before, it was noisy because of road construction outside. Much better this time. Also, I don't think these guys gave me good information when I asked about getting a cab. They said finding a cab at night could be difficult and I had to use the car service that charged $72 for JFK, which I proved wrong by stepping outside and catching a yellow cab easily. Maybe I was just lucky, but it had a taste of an in-cahoots kind of arrangement. Sorry hotel team if I'm wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C. L. Freire
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 4, 2011

AMAZING!!!! On both sides of the coin

I just got back from a two-week vacation that ended in NYC, where we stayed at the Bowery Hanbee Hotel in Chinatown. A few things travelers should know is: First off, the hotel was VERY clean, comfortable, and the customer service was AMAZING! When we got there, I requested that our pre-reserved king room be in a particular part of the hotel, and the staff, namely [...] and [...], were beyond accommodating. TO be honest, every staff member we spoke with throughout our stay was just as helpful and friendly. They were friendly, helpful, and always took the time each day to provide us with a map and directions as to which subway to take to get to where we wanted to go. The first night, our a/c wasn't working and I informed the staff, who, without hesitation, upgraded us to a fall-over-from-shock-worthy king suite, which had two TVs, a table and four chairs, a nice bathroom, a sofa and two comfortable lounge chairs. AWESOME ROOM! The street itself wasn't all that clean, and always smelled like fish, but the vibe in the air was vastly interesting. If you get the chance to stay at this hotel, don't hesitate if you're looking for an memorable stay in NYC. If you're looking for an area with 24-hr street life, go somewhere else, since this area is primarily made up of small businesses. There are no bars here on this street, but it is NYC, so walk a little, and you'll find yourself in the center of something, without question. As far as our experience, all I cal say is I'm glad we got to experience Chinatown like this, because in truth, visitors to the city never see the real Chinatown unless they stay there. WARNING: We took a bus tour that gave us some helpful insight into how to decide on any particular restaurant. He told us that every restaurant (by law), must display in the window, the health department's official cleanliness grade for the establishment. MOST of the restaurants we passed by in the area where this hotel was was graded "B". Stay clear of any restaurant that is graded anything but an "A". Trust me, as good as the food is, eating at a B is not worth it. If only I'd known about this before I ate at NY Noodletown. Great food, bad reaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Be on the look out for the Grade displayed in the window of each and every restaurant you enter. Steer clear of anything below an A.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sailor home on leave
Business
Upstate NY
Mar 20, 2011

Definitely a Great Choice!

I stayed 5 nights here, and as a single, 24-year-old guy, I couldn't have ask for anything better. Hugh at the front desk was a big help when I checked in, and the other people were just as helpful. The room was actually pretty sizable for an NYC hotel. Everything was in great shape, the room was quiet despite its location in chinatown, and the bed was wicked comfortable. There is also wired AND wireless internet in the rooms, as well as wireless in the lobby, and a guest PC in the lobby that has a printer, which if you need to print flight info or tickets, is incredibly convenient. The location was great too. Only a couple blocks from the ramp to the Manhattan Bridge, and the B/D train is a block down grand street, and the J is up-one/over-one block. It's overall a great, modern, quiet place to stay in a hectic city, and the rate was great. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a GREAT spot for shopping, smack-dab in the middle of Canal & Houston, both are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Dakota
Dec 20, 2010

Great price, Nice motel, Friendly staff

This hotel was very clean, Staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were good eating places close to this motel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricos
Business
Raleigh .NC
Oct 2, 2010

Nice and Clean

No parking,Polite staff.Good price compared to other places,plus it was non-smoking(the whole building.It was noisy at times late at night,but not too bad that we couldn't sleep.Ran out of eggs on our last day,so breakfast was kinda ruined on that day.Overall it was clean.Oh yea the housekeeping left body lotion instead of hair conditioner,and i had already took my clothes off,however they quickly remedied the situation by bringing more conditioner immeditaely.Definitely a great choice for anyone wanting to visit Chinatown or any place in NY for that matter.We quickly learned about using the subway after a fouled up car rental.DO NOT RENT A CAR DURING YOUR STAY HERE...You will pay through the nose for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clapton
Business
Florida
Sep 13, 2010

Conveinent Location

This is my second time staying at this hotel and will stay again. The rooms are nice and the hotel is conveinent to Lower Manhattan and Little Italy. (where the food is great)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy is a great place to dine if you love Italian food. Close to the hotel too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top