$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

3 stars
231 Grand Street, New York, NY 10013-4246
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
57 reviews
great chinatown/little italy spot right on the B/D metro

This is a great chinatown/little italy spot right on the B/D metro. Everything you need with easy... See full review

  • Wool Socks
  • Nov 18, 2014
Great location

The people that worked here were very Wonderful. Easy to walk everywhere, lovely bamboo Hardwood... See full review

  • Sbowen
  • Sep 22, 2013
Stay at this 100% non-smoking New York City, New York hotel located next to the subway and key local attractions such as Canal Street, Chinatown and Little Italy. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, where guests will find exceptional customer service and accommodations at an affordable rate. This New York City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each offering cable satellite television with free HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this 100% non-smoking hotel will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning before heading out to sightsee. Additional amenities include an exercise facility and a full-service business center. The BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel is ideally located less than one mile from many New York attractions including Chinatown, Little Italy, the Wall Street financial district and the World Trade Center Memorial. Hotel guests will enjoy an afternoon of shopping on 5th Avenue or visiting key sights such as Ellis Island, the Statue of Liberty, the Empire State Building and Times Square. Corporate travelers will appreciate being a half mile from the New York Stock Exchange, the Federal Reserve Bank, JP Morgan and American Express®. This New York hotel is also ideal for viewing several annual events including the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade®, the Chinese New Year and the Tribeca Film Festival. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in New York, New York. Make a reservation today and save!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFABD,DELUXE,MICRFG,FLAT TV, HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HISPD,FLATSCRN,DESK,SAFE,CFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,FLATSCRN,DESK,SAFE,CFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,FLATSCRN,DESK,SAFE,CFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.1 mi
  • Bowery: 0.1 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.3 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.1 mi
  • Bowery: 0.1 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.3 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.3 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.3 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.3 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.4 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.4 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.5 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.5 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.5 mi
  • Alfred E. Smith House: 0.5 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.5 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.5 mi
  • Queen of Greene Street: 0.5 mi
  • African Burial Ground: 0.6 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.6 mi
  • New York Law School: 0.6 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi
  • Juan Pablo Duarte Square: 0.6 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Capsouto Park: 0.6 mi
  • Dahesh Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.7 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • South Street Seaport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Pace University: 0.7 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.7 mi

Dining

The Odeon
0.25 mile(s) from The Odeon, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Nyonya
0.10 mile(s) from Nyonya, Full Service, Vietnamese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Flamma Osteria
0.10 mile(s) from Flamma Osteria, Full Service, Italian, Open for: dinner,
New York Noodletown
0.10 mile(s) from New York Noodletown, Fast Food, Chinese, Open for: dinner,
Nobu
0.75 mile(s) from Nobu, Full Service, Japanese, Open for: dinner,
Chanterella
0.25 mile(s) from Chanterella, Full Service, French, Open for: dinner,
Plate NYC
0.25 mile(s) from Plate NYC, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Big Wong King
0.10 mile(s) from Big Wong King, Full Service, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Suba
0.25 mile(s) from Suba, Full Service, Mediterranean, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarelChicago
Business
Chicago
Jun 7, 2012

Good, clean and roomy

For New York, this was a very nice room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Street noise at night from work on the streets was an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
middle aged
Business
Maryland, USA
Apr 2, 2012

we will definitely go back again

Fantastic location. In the middle of Chinatown and edge of Little Italy, so plethora of great/cheap places to eat. A block away from the B/D subway line. Really friendly and helpful staff. Our room was a bit noisy from Bowery St. traffic, so bring earplugs if that would bother you. A great find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SMITSALVOR
Business
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Mar 25, 2012

MR

Staff good room clean but VERY POOR BREAKFAST VERY NOISY INTERNET TOO MANY PROBLEMS ONE WHOLE AFTERNOON NO ELEVATORS AT ALL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
orangewolf
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Quality Stay

The facility was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, the neighborhood was safe. Close proximity to the Little Italy and in the center of China town. The neighborhood is not as refined as midtown or downtown but still nice. I would stay there again for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IamATL
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 17, 2012

Better Than Expected

Everything was great. Didn't expect a Best Western to be this nice. Room was clean, comfortable, modern, just really nice all the way around. Staff was great and helpful. I would definitely stay there again and recommend to others, especially for the continental breakfast that also includes a waffle maker, cereal and pastries, not just toast and water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EricBo
Business
France
Nov 2, 2011

Downtown In Chinatown New York City

Noisy (furthermore our neighbors were noisy). Good location downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacylu
Business
Maine, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Terrific!

The rooms are super clean and comfortable. The staff is great and so helpful. We make an annual trip to NYC and would not stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago Ed
Business
Chicago, Il
Oct 5, 2011

Good hotel

Have stayed at the Hanbee a few times now. I like the location and the cleanliness and amenities. This time, however, their broadband was down the whole time I was there. A bit of a downer and something which, if it occurs again, will cause me to book elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tri kamnya
Business
San Mateo, CA
Sep 20, 2011

good

It was really expensive during fashion week, but otherwise I have no complaints. The room made sense, it wasn't super noisy. The breakfast was OK. The room was kept clean. This was my second time there. When I was there before, it was noisy because of road construction outside. Much better this time. Also, I don't think these guys gave me good information when I asked about getting a cab. They said finding a cab at night could be difficult and I had to use the car service that charged $72 for JFK, which I proved wrong by stepping outside and catching a yellow cab easily. Maybe I was just lucky, but it had a taste of an in-cahoots kind of arrangement. Sorry hotel team if I'm wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C. L. Freire
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 4, 2011

AMAZING!!!! On both sides of the coin

I just got back from a two-week vacation that ended in NYC, where we stayed at the Bowery Hanbee Hotel in Chinatown. A few things travelers should know is: First off, the hotel was VERY clean, comfortable, and the customer service was AMAZING! When we got there, I requested that our pre-reserved king room be in a particular part of the hotel, and the staff, namely [...] and [...], were beyond accommodating. TO be honest, every staff member we spoke with throughout our stay was just as helpful and friendly. They were friendly, helpful, and always took the time each day to provide us with a map and directions as to which subway to take to get to where we wanted to go. The first night, our a/c wasn't working and I informed the staff, who, without hesitation, upgraded us to a fall-over-from-shock-worthy king suite, which had two TVs, a table and four chairs, a nice bathroom, a sofa and two comfortable lounge chairs. AWESOME ROOM! The street itself wasn't all that clean, and always smelled like fish, but the vibe in the air was vastly interesting. If you get the chance to stay at this hotel, don't hesitate if you're looking for an memorable stay in NYC. If you're looking for an area with 24-hr street life, go somewhere else, since this area is primarily made up of small businesses. There are no bars here on this street, but it is NYC, so walk a little, and you'll find yourself in the center of something, without question. As far as our experience, all I cal say is I'm glad we got to experience Chinatown like this, because in truth, visitors to the city never see the real Chinatown unless they stay there. WARNING: We took a bus tour that gave us some helpful insight into how to decide on any particular restaurant. He told us that every restaurant (by law), must display in the window, the health department's official cleanliness grade for the establishment. MOST of the restaurants we passed by in the area where this hotel was was graded "B". Stay clear of any restaurant that is graded anything but an "A". Trust me, as good as the food is, eating at a B is not worth it. If only I'd known about this before I ate at NY Noodletown. Great food, bad reaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Be on the look out for the Grade displayed in the window of each and every restaurant you enter. Steer clear of anything below an A.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top