$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Avalon Hotel

3 stars
16 East 32nd Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
35 reviews
Fantastic weeks stay at the Avalon

Our third time in the city and our third different hotel (and not the most expensive we've stayed... See full review

  • Mrs RHC
  • Nov 14, 2014
Location, Location, Location!!!

This hotel is one of a kind in NYC. Location is perfect - right on the middle of everything.... See full review

  • jaocat travel bug
  • Sep 1, 2014
European-feeling boutique near the Empire State Building
This boutique hotel exudes warmth, from the lobby with ornate wood details and marble columns, to the wallpapered rooms that give the feel of a bed and breakfast. Rooms and suites are spacious, with flat-screen TVs and free Internet access. Perks include complimentary use of the nearby Equinox gym and a kids stay free program.
Highlights
  • Spacious rooms and suites
  • Children under 12 stay free with parents
  • Free access to nearby Equinox gym
  • Short walk to the Empire State Building
Rooms

Cozy-feeling rooms are wallpapered, have wood floors and dark wood furniture. Superior rooms are about 250 square feet with amenities including flat-screen TVs, iHome systems, safes, free Internet access and the hotel's own signature body pillows. The majority of the hotel's 99 rooms are suites. Suites start at 425 square feet and feature sitting areas with sofa beds. Executive suites add Jacuzzi tubs and Bose Wave radios.

Features

Children under age 12 are free when they stay in their parents' room. Guests receive complimentary access to the nearby Equinox gym. The hotel provides concierge services and valet parking (fees apply). Guests find free coffee in the lobby from 5:30 a.m. to 7:30 a.m. and in the library from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Transportation
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Penn Station (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • 33rd St.-Lexington subway station (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (8.7 mi/ 14 km)
  • Newark Liberty Airport (14.7 mi/ 23.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Airport (16.7 mi/ 26.9 km)
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Union Square (0.8 mi/ 1.29 km)
  • Times Square (1.2 mi/ 1.93 km)
  • Central Park (1.8 mi/ 2.90 km)
Business
  • Complimentary business center
  • Six meeting rooms with up to 4,249 square feet of space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avalon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Avalon Hotel Rooms

Executive Suite
Approximately 450 square feet with a King-size bed and separate living room and sofa bed. Bathroom has separate shower stall and jacuzzi tub, double sinks and bidet.
Standard Room
Approximately 200 square feet with a Queen size bed.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with queen size bed or two double beds with sitting area and sofa bed. Max Occupancy: Junior Queen: 3 Guests Junior Double/Double: 4 Guests
Deluxe Suite
Approximately 450 square feet with a King-size bed, or two queen-size beds, with sitting area and sofa bed. Bathroom has separate shower stall, tub, and double sinks.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Six meeting rooms are decorated in neo-classic style with imported Italian marble from Verona. Audio/visual equipment and catering available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs RHC
Business
West Yorkshire
Nov 14, 2014

Fantastic weeks stay at the Avalon

Our third time in the city and our third different hotel (and not the most expensive we've stayed in) and the first I will definitely be returning to. THE GOOD Location, location, location. A skip and a hop from 5th Avenue and the Empire State Building made this perfect for us. Rooms - we travelled as a family and had 1201 and 1202 rooms next to each other on the top floor. The high floor meant little traffic noise and despite being right next to the lift we never noticed any noise from it (contrary to other reviewers). The rooms were both spacious by NYC standards although we did notice that 1202 had no chest of drawers which left little storage space for folded clothes something maybe the mgt team could easy remedy. Staff - the reception and concierge team were lovely. Special mention for Wilson on the door team who was cheery, helpful and welcoming. The coffee and hot choc machine in the library area were a welcome sight at the start and end of the day and I'd take fresh bean to cup FREE coffee over having a kettle and freeze dried sachets in my room any day. THE BAD Nothing. This fit my requirements and budget perfectly. THE UGLY Nothing within the hotels control and something I know they are pushing with the city council is the on street bin bags from nearby restaurants. Would be good for those to be sorted. My judge of somewhere is 'would I let my Mum stay here' and the answer in this case it's a YES! As she was part of our party and loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire state building close by. Ask hotel reception staff for a pass to skip the security queue and also buy your tickets in advance to skip the ticket queue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaocat travel bug
Business
Yakima, WA
Sep 1, 2014

Location, Location, Location!!!

This hotel is one of a kind in NYC. Location is perfect - right on the middle of everything. Action, attraction, points of interest can be found just couple of blocks away in each direction. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Negative thing for me was absence of in-room coffee pot. Each time I needed cup of tea or coffee I had to take elevator down to the lobby where communal coffee dispenser is located. That is inconvenience. ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan R.
Business
Potomac, MD
Feb 26, 2014

We like the Avalon

Clean, quiet, frindly staff, nice location, well-appointed. Coffee machine in the library is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Korean barbeque at Miss Korea, just a block away on the other side of 5th Ave., is really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taty R.
Business
Colombia
Feb 18, 2014

Nice experience

Its perfect located!!! Our Room Had a good size and was very clean. Subway its two blocks away. Have no complains about it. I would definnetly staying here again for sure!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taty R.
Business
Colombia
Feb 18, 2014

Love it!!!

Its was a very good experience un Ny !! Great location subway two blocks away. Very spacious rooms and cleans. I would definnetly stay here next time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N Sara
Business
Houston
Dec 23, 2013

great location, big room and bathroom

Great location & big room and bathroom, freindly staff, free wifi in room, espresso machine in the lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yihang
Business
Champaign, IL
Dec 1, 2013

Fall break

the overall is great. great location with a walk distance to any major place. what i'm really bothered is the wifi. the wifi is so slow. never been to any hotel with such a horrible wifi speed. plz update your wifi connection. Please!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ibpsyd
Business
Atlanta
Apr 22, 2013

Great stay

It was clean, convenient, friendly, and with surprisingly large rooms, considering the area. Not a lot of extras, but what they did, they did well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlphaBeta
Business
Manchester, UK
Jan 14, 2012

Nothing special

This hotel had very good reviews in almost all travel websites we checked, however we were rather disappointed with it: the room was small for a 4 star hotel, a bit shabby and old and I think could do with some redecorating (to be fair there ware no mould in the bathroom, cobwebs and hanging wallpaper, but overall the hotel and room did not give cheerful impression as the other travellers suggested in their reviews) . The staff was very friendly, there was free wireless internet, but no tea making facilities. Bathroom was a reasonable size. I would expect a bit better rooms for a 4 star hotel. Would recommend if you are not going to spend much time in the room and have a good deal on the price and therefore all disadvantages wouldn't matter because you did not pay much. I certainly would not pay full price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Willie24
Business
Solvay, new York
Dec 26, 2011

Nice

Good location friendly staff. Great bar. Restaurant was ok. Break fast was not good at all. No hot water even though they said they would increase the temperature. We spent four days with lukewarm showers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top