$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
244 reviews
Sweet Location!

We were just a block away from ALL attractions (Times Square, Rockefeller Center etc.) yet distant... See full review

  • Semperwife
  • Jul 2, 2015
Weekend get away

We had a great visit. It was everything we expected. The staff at the hotel was beyond helpful,... See full review

  • Michele Mann
  • Jun 23, 2015
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is ideally situated for theater buffs and visitors who want to be in the heart of Times Square. The boutique hotel is across the street from the Gershwin Theater. Other popular attractions, such as Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center, are a short walk away. At the Amsterdam Court Hotel, guests can grab a bite at the on-site restaurant and relax in beds with Belgian linens and down comforters.
Location

This smoke-free hotel is in the heart of the Theater District. Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance from the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Visitors can walk half a block to Broadway and stroll the street to experience Times Square. Families may appreciate the Ferris wheel in the Toys "R" Us store. For a more luxurious shopping experience, visitors will find stores such as Cartier and Bergdorf Goodman along Fifth Avenue.

Dining

The one-site Natsumi restaurant serves Japanese-Italian fusion cuisine. The Times Square area has hundreds of restaurants to choose from -- everything from diners and delis to four-star eateries. Nearby restaurants include Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Le Bernardin and Ellen's Stardust Diner.

Rooms

The 197 rooms at the Amsterdam Court Hotel are decorated in soothing beige tones and have either one double or one queen bed. Beds have Belgian sheets and down comforters. In-room amenities include hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, Internet access (fees apply), safes and complimentary bath products.

Property features

Guests can enjoy complimentary espresso in the lounge and pick up a free newspaper in the Amsterdam Court Hotel lobby.

 

Highlights
  • Complimentary espresso in the lounge
  • Steps from Broadway and across the street from the Gershwin Theater
  • Easy walk to Central Park and Rockefeller Center
Nearby attractions
  • Times Square (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th Street
  • Grand Central Terminal
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Policies

  • Parking fee is $30 USD per 24 hours with no in and out privileges. There is an extra $10 USD for oversize vehicles.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amsterdam Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$148
3.9 / 5 288 reviews
★★★
$130
3.7 / 5 186 reviews
★★★
$114
3.6 / 5 1,363 reviews
★★★★
$134
3.7 / 5 187 reviews
★★★
$134
3.5 / 5 78 reviews
★★★
$126
3.2 / 5 408 reviews
★★★★
$155
4.0 / 5 210 reviews
★★★
$100
3.5 / 5 757 reviews
★★★★
$169
3.9 / 5 86 reviews

Amsterdam Court Hotel Rooms

Standard
Rooms with 1 double bed or 1 queen bed include Internet access - high speed, Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, CD player, Hypo-allergenic bedding available, Premium bedding, Climate control, Blackout drapes, Air conditioning, Multi-line phone, Voice mail, Refrigerator (on request), Wake-up calls, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower/tub combination, Electronic/magnetic keys, Clock radio, Desk, Iron/ironing board, Television, Smoking rooms. Rollaway bed is availabel at $ 20 charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 244
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bradley b.
Couples
fort lupton
Jul 14, 2015

Quick trip

Slightly small and in need of repair. Was located very close to time square. I expected more for as much as this place cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Semperwife
Couples
N/A
Jul 2, 2015

Sweet Location!

We were just a block away from ALL attractions (Times Square, Rockefeller Center etc.) yet distant away from the massive crowds/busyness. The Metro was down the street which took us to/from LGA Airport within 15 mins (WTC, Macy's on 34th Street, Penn Station, ENDLESS all within MINS)! Hotel, was okay. Lobby is pretty/attractive a pale comparison to the rooms you get. Considering your time is spent more enjoying NYC than the room itself, it was great! Bathroom was fairly updated and clean, however, the water pressure was absolutely AWFUL! Not to mention the pool of water you stand on while showering (slow drainage). The hotel is a bit dark, wish they would lighten the look/decor to make it more inviting. Otherwise the place is great for a simple weekend getaway, location is EVERYTHING and the staff is pretty darn amazing as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michele Mann
Couples
Fountaintown
Jun 23, 2015

Weekend get away

We had a great visit. It was everything we expected. The staff at the hotel was beyond helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Thank you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janice D.
Couples
N/A
Apr 18, 2015

Will come again!

This hotel was great, room was a tad small for 2 people but we didnt stay in our room that much, I will be booking here again! Staff was super friendly and helpful as well! Also the room was very clean too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jean
Couples
Trujillo Alto
Apr 14, 2015

Birthday celebration

Didn't meet our expectations. we had to change rooms to a bigger one since the one they gave us was way to small. Pillows were uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elisa p.
Couples
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Great Location

Well I think it was a good hotel. However I went on a budget trip so I was expecting what I paid for which was like 90$ a night. So for this price it was AMAZING! literally you walk out of the hotel make a right and time squares is right there. Only thing is that the room is tiny but I was with my bf so we did not care and also we barely spent time in the hotel. so I def recommended it. the reviews scared me but don't believe everything you read. Again I am not use to 5 star hotels so to me it was a good hotel because the location killed it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JAVIER f.
Couples
Cancun
Mar 4, 2015

Excellent Location

Perfect location to be at NY, people at reception was very kind, definitelly come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveSp
Couples
BRIDGEPORT CT
Jan 12, 2015

Ok no complaints

The room was very small...however i suppose this is expected in the city, very clean...no complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HughJ
Couples
Denver
Jan 7, 2015

Great Location, Average Room

The location was greatest part of the hotel. The room was small as expected in NYC. We had a noisy neighbor, but we can't blame the hotel for that. Overall, we enjoyed our time in NYC and it was a place to sleep and shower. We didn't go in with high expectations, so we weren't too disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

2 major subway lines are on the same block, super convenient to catch and get a ride from/to LGA airport.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teabag
Couples
Ireland
Nov 17, 2014

New York base

First impressions of the hotel were a classy entrance but a very disappointing room. The room was very small with no view, no tea making facilities and old, shabby furniture. However, the room was clean, with a comfortable bed and Time Square is just round the corner so it was ideal as a base to explore the city and then sleep. One problem was plug sockets: there were no free sockets so we had to unplug bedside lamps to charge phones. Wifi was $10 per day per item. But an ideal hotel for sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top