$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
238 reviews
Amazing location

The hotel was a lot nicer than I was expecting, considering the great location and reasonable... See full review

  • Anna 123
  • Apr 15, 2014
Great value, Great location

The best thing about this hotel is it's location, its right round the corner from Time Square. The... See full review

  • Cath and Abbie
  • Mar 29, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel near the Broadway shows
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is ideally situated for theater buffs and visitors who want to be in the heart of Times Square. The boutique hotel is across the street from the Gershwin Theater. Other popular attractions, such as Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center, are a short walk away. At the Amsterdam Court Hotel, guests can grab a bite at the on-site restaurant and relax in beds with Belgian linens and down comforters.
Highlights
  • Complimentary espresso in the lounge
  • Steps from Broadway and across the street from the Gershwin Theater
  • Easy walk to Central Park and Rockefeller Center
Location

This smoke-free hotel is in the heart of the Theater District. Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance from the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Visitors can walk half a block to Broadway and stroll the street to experience Times Square. Families may appreciate the Ferris wheel in the Toys "R" Us store. For a more luxurious shopping experience, visitors will find stores such as Cartier and Bergdorf Goodman along Fifth Avenue.

Rooms

The 197 rooms at the Amsterdam Court Hotel are decorated in soothing beige tones and have either one double or one queen bed. Beds have Belgian sheets and down comforters. In-room amenities include hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, Internet access (fees apply), safes and complimentary bath products.

Features

Guests can enjoy complimentary espresso in the lounge and pick up a free newspaper in the Amsterdam Court Hotel lobby.

 

Dining

The one-site Natsumi restaurant serves Japanese-Italian fusion cuisine. The Times Square area has hundreds of restaurants to choose from -- everything from diners and delis to four-star eateries. Nearby restaurants include Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Le Bernardin and Ellen's Stardust Diner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th Street
  • Grand Central Terminal
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
Policies and fees

  • Parking fee is $30 USD per 24 hours with no in and out privileges. There is an extra $10 USD for oversize vehicles.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amsterdam Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amsterdam Court Hotel Rooms

Standard
Rooms with 1 double bed or 1 queen bed include Internet access - high speed, Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, CD player, Hypo-allergenic bedding available, Premium bedding, Climate control, Blackout drapes, Air conditioning, Multi-line phone, Voice mail, Refrigerator (on request), Wake-up calls, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower/tub combination, Electronic/magnetic keys, Clock radio, Desk, Iron/ironing board, Television, Smoking rooms. Rollaway bed is availabel at $ 20 charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (238)

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 238
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Texas.
Jun 25, 2011

Never again.

My daughter and I had just landed in New York from a 32 day trip starting in California , Ireland and London. We were looking forward to 7 more days in this great hotel and it's location. After all the hotels we stayed in on our journey we never thought we'd be so disappointed. Upon our arrival at the hotel it was under construction something that was never mentioned on line. Not only was it under construction but, it had been for the past 4 months. The hotel had one restaurant and one bar in the lobby not owned by the hotel. The bar was banging until 3 in the morning and the construction started at 7am, The hotel had one working elevator and the wait was pretty long so we used the stairs during our stay. The room was filthy, the bed was practically sitting flush with the floor. The shower head wasn't completely connected to the wall. The water shaving shower head blew so much air at you that the shower curtain flew around like it was in a wind storm. The phone in the room didn't ring down to the front desk. The front desk people weren't very helpful kind of sarcastic and short. I made arrangement for a car to take us to the airport for our departing flight 2 days before we left and they had the information wrong. They had the car come a day early and told us we we're no shows. hahaha. The location of this hotel was great but, I'll NEVER stay there again. I paid a lot of money for this hotel and was very disappointed. Please don't get me wrong I'm a humble girl from Texas who was finally able to take the trip of a life time and I picked a bad hotel for the last leg of my journey. Please spare yourself and keep looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middleton ma
Feb 28, 2011

REALLY BAD!

The room was not ANYTHING like the picture on the website. The room was VERY small and dirty! One of the elevators was broken and the other was the size of a broom closet. The hotel itself was run down. I thought I booked a room with a queen size bed and a roll away bed - There was NO room for the roll away! We had to pay another 60.00 per night to get a room that would fit the roll away bed! Worst hotel I have ever been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kjd0309
Business
milwaukee wi
Jul 8, 2014

not what i was sold

the hotel room was muggy and noisy the staff was nice the free breakfast cost 10.99 next time ill stay at the "y"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 20, 2007

FAB LOCATION

Very small rooms For a nonsmoker very uncomfortable smoke smell in room. Bellman excellent arranged car to airport next day. We love small botique hotels- just not this one - would not recomend... HOWEVER FAB LOCATION...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rock Center Time SQ. Theater Dist Food/ Entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
World traveler Sir
Business
USA
Aug 13, 2011

N Y Vacation.

After opening door to assigned room we were faced with horrible smell, as of today I not been been able to associate such a horrible fowl odor, after contacting the front desk we were lead to a better / larger room adjacent to ongoing construction, which generated very loud noise starting at very early hour.Please request Hotel to update photos in the Hotel promotion page, photos DID NOT matched what I saw there photos are misleading.Location is the ONLY plus offered here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wicked tourist
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 19, 2012

Great location, not much of a Hotel

It's location is really good, just next to Times Square. I had tickets for Wicked and the theater is located just across the street, so that was something. But my God did the room was small... The TV was smaller than my computer screen, there was just a little space between the bed and the walls and that was it, the curtains on the little window went down over the small A/C, so each night I needed to tuck the curtain up any way I could to get the air conditioning flowing. There was obviously no view, it was a 4th floor and I expected that for the price and location. Carpet all over the hotel looked very weathered and lighting was dim. Bathroom small, again as expected, but the tub had some chipped peaces. Service at the door and the "very small" reception counter was ok, courteous but not great either. I would rather not stay here again, I am looking for a different hotel experience next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
my experience
Business
Little Rock AR
Aug 15, 2013

my four night stay at Amsterdam Court Hotel

The Staff was very friendly,amenities were few, location was great. The room very clean, the beds were too hard and very uncomfortable. I could not bathe on the first nite of stay ,asked for wash cloths three times until I finally gave up. The next morning I received wash clothes to bathe. This Hotel could be a five star if a little more convience was directed toward the customers, I could not have a key to my room because they said no keys was working, I asked for a refrigator for that night because the wait time for getting someone to let me in and out of my room was long and by giving me a refrigator could have help with my in and out of my room that evening. I asked for it just until the key worked the next day but they said the charge would be 30$ although I was inconvience and had paid for my stay of four nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

New York is a great place to visit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jul 25, 2011

Fair experiances

The hotel staff were nice and and tried to assist. Our first room was very warm and the air conditioner was not working. The unit are very old and in need of replacement. After we called the deck they gave us a second room were the unit was working much better. The rooms are very small with little confort. A bed and bathroom. No place to sit or put your baggage or move around. The bed was like sleeping on a board. Room was clean and location is great for folks going to shows and sieghtseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get Donald Trump to buy the place and redo the room and building then I am sure it will be rated at four star hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jmeul
Business
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Jul 21, 2014

Affordable NYC accomodations

The pros: the location was excellent-close to all the action. The cons: Tiny tiny room. The color of the room was gray-nearly felt like solitary confinement. Could use brighter colors and brighter lighting. Spent minimal time in room -enough to get a couple of hours of sleep and then off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Book popular broadway shows online cause they do sell out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BMET
Business
Canada
Nov 23, 2011

Mother Daughter Weekend in New York

Everything was fine, just not memorable. The room had a funny smell that did not go away and it was as small as a closet which was ok as we spent the least amount of time there, but a little bigger space would have been nice. If I had gone with my husband the room would have been far too small. The location however was awesome, walking distance to everything. Staff were great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ma Ma Mia is right around the corner from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top