$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KCheri
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 29, 2014

location, location, location

The room was okay for a single traveler. It was a little in need of some repairs. Overall, the staff was wonderful and I loved the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
boatboy333
Business
chiang mai and USA
Oct 13, 2014

Old and shows all the wrinkles

I had three different rooms. The first can only be described as a broom closet, and to even attempt to place a person in that room was a disgrace. I have to admit that after two other room changes, I was in a room that at least met two stars...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChiSparty
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 10, 2014

Nickel and Dimes You on Everything

The location is nearly unbeatable. However, the room smelled strange and the shower temperature vacillated between scalding and freezing. Also, they offer a mediocre continental breakfast, which would be fine if it were free. It was $10.95 + tax. Also, wifi was $10.90 for a 24hr period and there was not even a basic coffeemaker in the room. Because of the comfortable bed, friendly staff and great location, I give it 2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Head to Tribeca or SoHo for best food options.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Campbell von Campbell
Business
Palm Desert, CA
Nov 15, 2014

One must suffer for their passion.

I come to NYC once or twice a year to catch up on theater. From California, it tends to be an expensive habit, as ticket prices are crazy high and hotel rooms fluxuate all over the place. I got a really good rate using an on-line coupon, so I will keep that in mind while reviewing this hotel. Room 201 was painfully small; no chair, no drawers, no desk, no lamps, no closet. Just one creaky double bed. Everything was worn down, dented, thread-bare, etc. I had lowered my expectations in advance, so I got through it. Somehow, this hotel has a friendly and professional staff far surpassing personnel I have encountered in nearby hotels at 3 times the price. I travel solo. Two persons in this room would really test a relationship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gina Vasquez
Business
San Antonio
Dec 19, 2014

Could have been better

The hotel staff is fantastic and the check-in process was painless. I have had 2 stays at Amsterdam Court and highly recommend it. The only negative I can report was that our hotel room was way too hot. The room had a window unit but that didn't work. I demanded to be moved on the last day of my 4 day stay which I regret not having done sooner. This trip was a Christmas gift to my daughters and having them wake up all sticky and sweaty could have been avoided. It was my fault for not speaking up sooner. The staff is very accommodating and goes above and beyond to keep guest satisfied. Keep in mind the hotel was built in the 1920's therefore it is not perfect so if something's not up to par let them know. They will fix the problem ASAP!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Keep this hotel in mind!

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Willy D
Business
Nicholson
Feb 26, 2015

Disaster room in great location

Some of the rooms have been remodeled, and I was told to request one of them next time. Do the same leave if there are none available. Old style steam heat radiator hissed LOUDLY every 15-20 minutes heat not controlled from the room. Hot, then cold. Almost impossible to sleep w/ hiss. Small room but OK for a low price great shower. TV w/ only a few channels, and coffee only in the basement lounge (simple bkfst. was $10 extra). Super location 1/2 block from subway, lots of restaurants in the same block. With a remodeled room this would be a good property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jean
Business
Trujillo Alto
Apr 14, 2015

Birthday celebration

Didn't meet our expectations. we had to change rooms to a bigger one since the one they gave us was way to small. Pillows were uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
World traveler Sir
Business
USA
Aug 13, 2011

N Y Vacation.

After opening door to assigned room we were faced with horrible smell, as of today I not been been able to associate such a horrible fowl odor, after contacting the front desk we were lead to a better / larger room adjacent to ongoing construction, which generated very loud noise starting at very early hour.Please request Hotel to update photos in the Hotel promotion page, photos DID NOT matched what I saw there photos are misleading.Location is the ONLY plus offered here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, FL
Dec 21, 2010

Would not stay here again.

The hotel is located right next to Times Square, but it has very small rooms, and would never stay there again. Ever. We laughed about how bad the room was because we were only sleeping there one night. Find another!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 20, 2007

FAB LOCATION

Very small rooms For a nonsmoker very uncomfortable smoke smell in room. Bellman excellent arranged car to airport next day. We love small botique hotels- just not this one - would not recomend... HOWEVER FAB LOCATION...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rock Center Time SQ. Theater Dist Food/ Entertainment

Back to menu Return to top