$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shoebox
Single
Vancouver, CA
Nov 1, 2009

Don't do it

I love New York City. This hotel did have a good location (the North end of Time Square, at 50th), but that is about all the positives. Rude staff, loud, tiny rooms, not very clean and a really uncomfortable bed. Good luck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kjd0309
Family
milwaukee wi
Jul 8, 2014

not what i was sold

the hotel room was muggy and noisy the staff was nice the free breakfast cost 10.99 next time ill stay at the "y"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hot mom and dad
Couples
Borger, TX
Jul 11, 2014

No good

Horrible. The 1st room was so small. The bath wouldn't drain and handle in bathtub was broke. So moved us to different room and the air conditioner was spitting out water so they came in replaced it for one that didn't blow cool air at all. So came back and finally fixed it after 3 hrs. Stayed in many hotels in different states and places and this was the worst. Dont waste your time staying here, you'll regret it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Rockefeller Bldg

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fashion 101
Single
New York
Sep 15, 2014

Amsterdam Hotel

The location was perfect however when I arrived the female manger was really rude. On top of that I didn't know you have to pay an upfront $50 for incidentals. Then I get to my room and it was sooooooo small. I could barley move around. The bathroom in the pictured on the site when I got the room was NOT at all the one I got when I got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Wax museum

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TheaterConcert goer
Single
Los Angeles, California
Sep 21, 2014

Never again

If I had not pre-paid, I would not even have checked in. While I waited, exhausted, in the lobby for well over an hour for my room, at least 6 other people came to the desk to complain, and not one got help (2 left to find other hotel). No coffee, no wi-fi (no matter what they say), no closet in room, no place to hang my clothes, no luggage stand so the only chair in the room was my closet/dresser. Man at the desk behaved as though he wanted everyone to just go away. There are many nice places to stay in NYC: go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DG
Business
Buffalo Grove
Feb 10, 2015

Great trip bad hotel

This hotel should be downgraded to 2 stars motel. The room was so small that it was to hard walking around the bed. There is 0 sound proofing, so every time someone closed the door on the floor, they waked me up. TV was from 1960. probably first color tv invented. it was showing only 3 or 4 channels. Room was clean, but it had nothing to do with the picture shown on the registration page. Would not EVER go there again. The only reason people might choose this place is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
World traveler Sir
Family
USA
Aug 13, 2011

N Y Vacation.

After opening door to assigned room we were faced with horrible smell, as of today I not been been able to associate such a horrible fowl odor, after contacting the front desk we were lead to a better / larger room adjacent to ongoing construction, which generated very loud noise starting at very early hour.Please request Hotel to update photos in the Hotel promotion page, photos DID NOT matched what I saw there photos are misleading.Location is the ONLY plus offered here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mean Jean
Couples
Bellevue, WA
Dec 31, 2011

adequate lodging

This was by far the smallest hotel room we have had in NY, but it was clean, the staff was friendly and it was a fairly good bargain. I would have appreciated knowing how tiny the room was before I booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cosmic Diner is a great place for breakfast. Even if there is a line, you can usually get a seat quickly at the counter.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wicked tourist
Family
Puerto Rico
Jul 19, 2012

Great location, not much of a Hotel

It's location is really good, just next to Times Square. I had tickets for Wicked and the theater is located just across the street, so that was something. But my God did the room was small... The TV was smaller than my computer screen, there was just a little space between the bed and the walls and that was it, the curtains on the little window went down over the small A/C, so each night I needed to tuck the curtain up any way I could to get the air conditioning flowing. There was obviously no view, it was a 4th floor and I expected that for the price and location. Carpet all over the hotel looked very weathered and lighting was dim. Bathroom small, again as expected, but the tub had some chipped peaces. Service at the door and the "very small" reception counter was ok, courteous but not great either. I would rather not stay here again, I am looking for a different hotel experience next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelerddd
Business
NY
Nov 21, 2012

Too small room

Good location, but too small room and bed for me. Clean room and bathroom. Just about 5 min to Timesquare. Too too too small bed. A lot of noises at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top