$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
272 reviews
Amazing location

The hotel was a lot nicer than I was expecting, considering the great location and reasonable... See full review

  • Anna 123
  • Apr 15, 2014
Great value, Great location

The best thing about this hotel is it's location, its right round the corner from Time Square. The... See full review

  • Cath and Abbie
  • Mar 29, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel near the Broadway shows
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is ideally situated for theater buffs and visitors who want to be in the heart of Times Square. The boutique hotel is across the street from the Gershwin Theater. Other popular attractions, such as Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center, are a short walk away. At the Amsterdam Court Hotel, guests can grab a bite at the on-site restaurant and relax in beds with Belgian linens and down comforters.
Highlights
  • Complimentary espresso in the lounge
  • Steps from Broadway and across the street from the Gershwin Theater
  • Easy walk to Central Park and Rockefeller Center
Location

The hotel is in the heart of the Theater District. Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance from the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Visitors can walk half a block to Broadway and stroll the street to experience Times Square. Families may appreciate the Ferris wheel in the Toys "R" Us store. For a more luxurious shopping experience, visitors will find stores such as Cartier and Bergdorf Goodman along Fifth Avenue.

Rooms

The 197 rooms at the Amsterdam Court Hotel are decorated in soothing beige tones and have either one double or one queen bed. Beds have Belgian sheets and down comforters. In-room amenities include hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, Internet access (fees apply), safes and complimentary bath products.

Features

Guests can enjoy complimentary espresso in the lounge and pick up a free newspaper in the Amsterdam Court Hotel lobby.

 

Dining

The one-site Natsumi restaurant serves Japanese-Italian fusion cuisine. The Times Square area has hundreds of restaurants to choose from -- everything from diners and delis to four-star eateries. Nearby restaurants include Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Le Bernardin and Ellen's Stardust Diner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th Street
  • Grand Central Terminal
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
Policies and fees

  •     Starting 01 January 2014, the hotel will be a smoke-free property.
  •     Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7618 -73.985
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
Principal Airport:John F Kennedy JFK 25 miles.
Area description
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is conveniently located in the Theater District of Manhattan. The hotel is situated on 50th Street, just a few steps from legendary Broadway, where you will find many, if not all, Broadway shows within walking distance. The Gershwin Theater, for example, is just across the street. In addition, you will be within a few minutes from Times Square, the newly renovated Museum of Modern Art, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, and 5th Avenue Shopping. The Ed Sullivan Theater, home to the David Letterman Show, is only four blocks from the hotel. There are also a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate neighborhood, inviting you to sample the best New York has to offer.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amsterdam Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amsterdam Court Hotel Rooms

Standard
Rooms with 1 double bed or 1 queen bed include Internet access - high speed, Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, CD player, Hypo-allergenic bedding available, Premium bedding, Climate control, Blackout drapes, Air conditioning, Multi-line phone, Voice mail, Refrigerator (on request), Wake-up calls, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower/tub combination, Electronic/magnetic keys, Clock radio, Desk, Iron/ironing board, Television, Smoking rooms. Rollaway bed is availabel at $ 20 charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (272)

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alazan
East Hartford, CT
Jun 27, 2010

Would not stay at this hotel again

The best thing about this hotel is the location- right in the theater district and just up the street from Times Square. We were there to see the play "Wicked" at the Gershwin Theater, which is practically across the street from the hotel. The room was quite small but that's to be expected in NYC in this price range. The room was generally clean though my feet got dirty walking barefoot. The air conditioner seemed to be on it's last legs; it was noisy but barely worked, and the vents were dirty. The phone didn't work for the two days we were there but I don't know if that can be blamed on the hotel. The bed was a low platform bed and the mattress sagged in the middle. I requested a no-smoking room, and it did not smell of smoke, but there was an ashtray in the room. The elevators were very slow. One day waiting for the elevator I could hear people knocking who were stuck in the elevator. I told the person at the desk who seemed to not believe me at first. We used the stairs after that. Luckily we were only on the third floor, as we had to go the main desk to request things which should have been in the room such as toilet paper. The staff was not friendly and seemed to not want to be bothered by customers. When we asked for a taxi, we were told to walk to the end of the block. We had a wonderful time in NYC but would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, ca
Jan 22, 2011

Stay Away

Stay away from this hotel. We booked this hotel thinking that the pictures they provided would be what the hotel looked like. They took a picture of their one good room to lure people in. The rest of their rooms were terrible. The first room we went into was as big as a laundry room. There was just enough room for the bed. Also, there was a very loud humming noise that would come and go. After complaining, we were put in another room. This room, although bigger, had a hole in the floor that was covered up with carpet. The room heater would rock back and forth and bang against the wall and the bathroom toilet was so close to the wall you had to sit at an angle on the seat. One of the days that we were there we got stuff on the roof after the elevator malfunctioned. We asked workers on the roof questions about the elevator and they didn't speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sugar,SC
new york, ny
Apr 5, 2010

Not what I've expected...

as a first timer at the Amsterdam Hotel I was highly disappointed. My boyfriend flew in town,this was supposed to have been a romantic/intimate weekend... Checking in was easy with front desk.When my boyfriend and I opened our room door, both of our jaws dropped...The first thought was "this has got to be a joke"!We entered the room the size of a closet, no joke! It had a twin size bed as soon as you entered the room a small desk on the left, at the very end of the bed with maybe 1ft in space was a cabinet that served as the TV stand (TV had reg channels no cable, and of course very unclear it was all fuzzy!), buffet for the ice holder and two glasses, the bathroom was amazingly 3/4 of the room size.I turned around and walked right out to the front desk (the room was ground level)and requested another room, it was impossible for us to stay/fit in the room provided. I must Thank the front desk for working with us, they did try to accommodate our every req.He did locate another room,once we entered it was no better-at least the best was bigger than a twin size.We entered the room,the door couldn't open fully because the bed was in the way!Iwent back down the front desk I told them we will stay in the room for the night just please assure we get a larger room-they assured us. Next day,we were told to pack our bags and leave them on the side if we go out,our things will be moved for us into the new room. It wasn't two hours later housekeeping knocked to advise we need to pack up to go to our new room, i rushed to get dressed-luckily I just got out of the shower!Went down tot he front desk with our bags, asked for our new room keys-we were told they do not know which room will be avail because they have to wait on all of the check-outs.I was already annoyed, but I said OK how about we leave our bags here and when we return later in the afternoon we will check in again in a new room.the hostess was again kind enough to work with us. finally, when we returned we were able to check in a larger room! at this point, we just had to make the best of our weekend stay My experience at this Hotel was unfortunately unpleasant, staff was great and that's about it!!!!!Maybe if i was single this would have been great- a place to sleep. Location is definitely great,next to shopping, dinning, theaters and great bars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Total Dissapointment
Miami, FL
Jan 31, 2011

1/31/2011

The HOTEL was under construction and one of the elevators was broken. The other was as slow as a anails crawl. The room was incredibly small and not at all as the picture in description seem. The furniture old and TV had to be replaced. Forget if you are looking for a romantic place. Your better off booking at the Red Roof inn with the price of this room. Never again! Construction made it an impossible trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Stanton Social, Adams Familly show, Victors Cafe, Stone Rose, and KATZ Deli.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Texas.
Jun 25, 2011

Never again.

My daughter and I had just landed in New York from a 32 day trip starting in California , Ireland and London. We were looking forward to 7 more days in this great hotel and it's location. After all the hotels we stayed in on our journey we never thought we'd be so disappointed. Upon our arrival at the hotel it was under construction something that was never mentioned on line. Not only was it under construction but, it had been for the past 4 months. The hotel had one restaurant and one bar in the lobby not owned by the hotel. The bar was banging until 3 in the morning and the construction started at 7am, The hotel had one working elevator and the wait was pretty long so we used the stairs during our stay. The room was filthy, the bed was practically sitting flush with the floor. The shower head wasn't completely connected to the wall. The water shaving shower head blew so much air at you that the shower curtain flew around like it was in a wind storm. The phone in the room didn't ring down to the front desk. The front desk people weren't very helpful kind of sarcastic and short. I made arrangement for a car to take us to the airport for our departing flight 2 days before we left and they had the information wrong. They had the car come a day early and told us we we're no shows. hahaha. The location of this hotel was great but, I'll NEVER stay there again. I paid a lot of money for this hotel and was very disappointed. Please don't get me wrong I'm a humble girl from Texas who was finally able to take the trip of a life time and I picked a bad hotel for the last leg of my journey. Please spare yourself and keep looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kjd0309
milwaukee wi
Jul 8, 2014

not what i was sold

the hotel room was muggy and noisy the staff was nice the free breakfast cost 10.99 next time ill stay at the "y"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Becky Outlaw
Business
New York State
Mar 29, 2013

Noisy

The room was overheated and the window did not close, there were trash trucks and jackhammers going all night long. We checked out early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alazan
East Hartford, CT
Jun 27, 2010

Would not stay at this hotel again

The best thing about this hotel is the location- right in the theater district and just up the street from Times Square. We were there to see the play "Wicked" at the Gershwin Theater, which is practically across the street from the hotel. The room was quite small but that's to be expected in NYC in this price range. The room was generally clean though my feet got dirty walking barefoot. The air conditioner seemed to be on it's last legs; it was noisy but barely worked, and the vents were dirty. The phone didn't work for the two days we were there but I don't know if that can be blamed on the hotel. The bed was a low platform bed and the mattress sagged in the middle. I requested a no-smoking room, and it did not smell of smoke, but there was an ashtray in the room. The elevators were very slow. One day waiting for the elevator I could hear people knocking who were stuck in the elevator. I told the person at the desk who seemed to not believe me at first. We used the stairs after that. Luckily we were only on the third floor, as we had to go the main desk to request things which should have been in the room such as toilet paper. The staff was not friendly and seemed to not want to be bothered by customers. When we asked for a taxi, we were told to walk to the end of the block. We had a wonderful time in NYC but would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hank from Reston
Reston, VA, USA
Dec 5, 2012

Noisiest hotel

This was the noisiest hotel room my wife and I have ever slept in. There was intermittent hallway noise, you could hear loud water running sounds every time someone flushed the toilet or took a shower in nearby rooms and the toilet ran until I manually turned off the water. The phone was missing from the room and the TV remote was missing batteries. A knob was missing from the clothes cabinet that couldn't fully open because it was too close to the bed. The room was tiny, but we expected that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middleton ma
Feb 28, 2011

REALLY BAD!

The room was not ANYTHING like the picture on the website. The room was VERY small and dirty! One of the elevators was broken and the other was the size of a broom closet. The hotel itself was run down. I thought I booked a room with a queen size bed and a roll away bed - There was NO room for the roll away! We had to pay another 60.00 per night to get a room that would fit the roll away bed! Worst hotel I have ever been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top