$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
271 reviews
Amazing location

The hotel was a lot nicer than I was expecting, considering the great location and reasonable... See full review

  • Anna 123
  • Apr 15, 2014
Great value, Great location

The best thing about this hotel is it's location, its right round the corner from Time Square. The... See full review

  • Cath and Abbie
  • Mar 29, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel near the Broadway shows
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is ideally situated for theater buffs and visitors who want to be in the heart of Times Square. The boutique hotel is across the street from the Gershwin Theater. Other popular attractions, such as Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center, are a short walk away. At the Amsterdam Court Hotel, guests can grab a bite at the on-site restaurant and relax in beds with Belgian linens and down comforters.
Highlights
  • Complimentary espresso in the lounge
  • Steps from Broadway and across the street from the Gershwin Theater
  • Easy walk to Central Park and Rockefeller Center
Location

The hotel is in the heart of the Theater District. Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance from the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Visitors can walk half a block to Broadway and stroll the street to experience Times Square. Families may appreciate the Ferris wheel in the Toys "R" Us store. For a more luxurious shopping experience, visitors will find stores such as Cartier and Bergdorf Goodman along Fifth Avenue.

Rooms

The 197 rooms at the Amsterdam Court Hotel are decorated in soothing beige tones and have either one double or one queen bed. Beds have Belgian sheets and down comforters. In-room amenities include hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, Internet access (fees apply), safes and complimentary bath products.

Features

Guests can enjoy complimentary espresso in the lounge and pick up a free newspaper in the Amsterdam Court Hotel lobby.

 

Dining

The one-site Natsumi restaurant serves Japanese-Italian fusion cuisine. The Times Square area has hundreds of restaurants to choose from -- everything from diners and delis to four-star eateries. Nearby restaurants include Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Le Bernardin and Ellen's Stardust Diner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th Street
  • Grand Central Terminal
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
Policies and fees

  •     Starting 01 January 2014, the hotel will be a smoke-free property.
  •     Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amsterdam Court Hotel Rooms

Standard
Rooms with 1 double bed or 1 queen bed include Internet access - high speed, Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, CD player, Hypo-allergenic bedding available, Premium bedding, Climate control, Blackout drapes, Air conditioning, Multi-line phone, Voice mail, Refrigerator (on request), Wake-up calls, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower/tub combination, Electronic/magnetic keys, Clock radio, Desk, Iron/ironing board, Television, Smoking rooms. Rollaway bed is availabel at $ 20 charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amsterdam Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7618 -73.985
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
Principal Airport:John F Kennedy JFK 25 miles.
Area description
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is conveniently located in the Theater District of Manhattan. The hotel is situated on 50th Street, just a few steps from legendary Broadway, where you will find many, if not all, Broadway shows within walking distance. The Gershwin Theater, for example, is just across the street. In addition, you will be within a few minutes from Times Square, the newly renovated Museum of Modern Art, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, and 5th Avenue Shopping. The Ed Sullivan Theater, home to the David Letterman Show, is only four blocks from the hotel. There are also a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate neighborhood, inviting you to sample the best New York has to offer.

Nearby points of interest

  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
one of the superdads
minneapolis, mn
Sep 24, 2013

good stay, great location

Perfect location to take in all the excitement possible in the big city. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay near times square. Helpful staff and clean room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont tell mama -piano bar

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dinaker
MPLS MN
Sep 3, 2013

Not as expected

Not as expected - Room is to small - Windows not working - no scenic from window - not worth its rate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wanderlust
San Mateo Califonia
Aug 27, 2013

Great Location

Nice little boutique hotel located one block away from Times Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Attractions a just a short block from hotel include: Rockefeller Center Times Square Empire State Building Grand Central Theater District

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
my experience
Little Rock AR
Aug 15, 2013

my four night stay at Amsterdam Court Hotel

The Staff was very friendly,amenities were few, location was great. The room very clean, the beds were too hard and very uncomfortable. I could not bathe on the first nite of stay ,asked for wash cloths three times until I finally gave up. The next morning I received wash clothes to bathe. This Hotel could be a five star if a little more convience was directed toward the customers, I could not have a key to my room because they said no keys was working, I asked for a refrigator for that night because the wait time for getting someone to let me in and out of my room was long and by giving me a refrigator could have help with my in and out of my room that evening. I asked for it just until the key worked the next day but they said the charge would be 30$ although I was inconvience and had paid for my stay of four nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

New York is a great place to visit

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kiyana
Seattle, Washington
Aug 7, 2013

Nice Hotel

The room was very clean and orderly, but a bit small. The staff was nice and helpful with answering any questions I had about my stay. I really liked the location of the hotel, very close to alot of attractions, including Times Square. Overall I can't complain, I enjoyed my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Time Squares.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Educational vacation
Vallejo , California
Aug 4, 2013

perfect little hotel

staff was excellent, rooms are clean perfect location, location was a time saver

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to everything specially the hop on hop off bus

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pata M
South Florida
Jul 13, 2013

Solo trip

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom very clean with comfortable bed and pillows. Excellent location in the heart of Times Square. Price is very reasonable for this location. Would not recommend continental breakfast, just try the many places out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Basera, Indian Food on 9th Avenue.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
babynj
Dallas, TX
Jul 8, 2013

Great location, but staff was unfriendly

Overall satisfied with experience. Staff was very unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kleino
Business
CULVER CITY, CA.
Jun 26, 2013

Into the closet!

We booked 2 rooms. One was adequate and we gave that to our lady associate. Instead of the other room being equivalent, it was the tiniest room I've ever stayed in. There was no desk, no writing surface, no drawers to put clothes in. A tiny room with tiny space around the bed and a tiny curtained hanging space. It was less than minimally adequate. Phone connection to other guest rooms didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you're in New York, don't miss walking the HIGH LINE!

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle Annie
Business
Seattle
Jun 6, 2013

Most convenient hotel in NYC!

I had read a review raving about the lack of bedbugs at the hotel, and noting that the rooms are small and that sometimes the air conditioner in the window can be noisy-- and that the elevator is slow. The lack of bedbugs is a plus, as is the cleanliness of the room I had and the updated bathroom with outstanding shower. The air conditioner seemed noisy to begin with but I solved that problem with earplugs for sleeping. The hotel is steps from Broadway, and from the subway system on which you can go anywhere in the city. I liked the front desk folks also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top