$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
229 reviews
Amazing location

The hotel was a lot nicer than I was expecting, considering the great location and reasonable... See full review

  • Anna 123
  • Apr 15, 2014
Great value, Great location

The best thing about this hotel is it's location, its right round the corner from Time Square. The... See full review

  • Cath and Abbie
  • Mar 29, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel near the Broadway shows
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is ideally situated for theater buffs and visitors who want to be in the heart of Times Square. The boutique hotel is across the street from the Gershwin Theater. Other popular attractions, such as Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center, are a short walk away. At the Amsterdam Court Hotel, guests can grab a bite at the on-site restaurant and relax in beds with Belgian linens and down comforters.
Highlights
  • Complimentary espresso in the lounge
  • Steps from Broadway and across the street from the Gershwin Theater
  • Easy walk to Central Park and Rockefeller Center
Location

This smoke-free hotel is in the heart of the Theater District. Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance from the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Visitors can walk half a block to Broadway and stroll the street to experience Times Square. Families may appreciate the Ferris wheel in the Toys "R" Us store. For a more luxurious shopping experience, visitors will find stores such as Cartier and Bergdorf Goodman along Fifth Avenue.

Rooms

The 197 rooms at the Amsterdam Court Hotel are decorated in soothing beige tones and have either one double or one queen bed. Beds have Belgian sheets and down comforters. In-room amenities include hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, Internet access (fees apply), safes and complimentary bath products.

Features

Guests can enjoy complimentary espresso in the lounge and pick up a free newspaper in the Amsterdam Court Hotel lobby.

 

Dining

The one-site Natsumi restaurant serves Japanese-Italian fusion cuisine. The Times Square area has hundreds of restaurants to choose from -- everything from diners and delis to four-star eateries. Nearby restaurants include Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Le Bernardin and Ellen's Stardust Diner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th Street
  • Grand Central Terminal
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
Policies and fees

  • Parking fee is $30 USD per 24 hours with no in and out privileges. There is an extra $10 USD for oversize vehicles.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7618 -73.985
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property." Parking charges are $30 per 24 hours with no in and out privileges, plus an extra $10 for oversize vehicles.
Nearby airports
Principal Airport:John F Kennedy JFK 25 miles.
Area description
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is conveniently located in the Theater District of Manhattan. The hotel is situated on 50th Street, just a few steps from legendary Broadway, where you will find many, if not all, Broadway shows within walking distance. The Gershwin Theater, for example, is just across the street. In addition, you will be within a few minutes from Times Square, the newly renovated Museum of Modern Art, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, and 5th Avenue Shopping. The Ed Sullivan Theater, home to the David Letterman Show, is only four blocks from the hotel. There are also a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate neighborhood, inviting you to sample the best New York has to offer.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amsterdam Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amsterdam Court Hotel Rooms

Standard
Rooms with 1 double bed or 1 queen bed include Internet access - high speed, Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, CD player, Hypo-allergenic bedding available, Premium bedding, Climate control, Blackout drapes, Air conditioning, Multi-line phone, Voice mail, Refrigerator (on request), Wake-up calls, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower/tub combination, Electronic/magnetic keys, Clock radio, Desk, Iron/ironing board, Television, Smoking rooms. Rollaway bed is availabel at $ 20 charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moose Berry
Business
Graniteville, sc
Dec 21, 2013

Mediocre

There was construction on the street right outside of my room and it didn't start until late evening. The heater made random, loud, knocking noises making it hard to sleep.The staff at the front desk was incredibly nice and helpful though. Location was perfect. I was two blocks from 5th avenue and right around the corner from time square. Overall it was great, just would've been nice to have a heads up about the construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Britt from NOLA
Business
New Orleans
Dec 20, 2013

Great location, great price

While this hotel isn't the fanciest or most spacious, it is ideal for those looking to save money and experience the attractions of Manhattan. The room was small but tidy, and the staff was very helpful . The Amsterdam Court was located near Times Square, across the street from Gershwin Theater and a lovely, delicious Mexican restaurant (Toalache), and it was also a couple blocks from the subway and bus tour stop. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk right across the street and eat at Toalaches. Best appetizers!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Banana44
Business
Rochester, NY
Dec 13, 2013

Wonderful Location!!

Greeted by friendly desk staff, who gave us parking info and general info about the hotel. Robert helped us with our bags and showed me how to back up to get into the parking garage. He was pleasantly professional. The bathroom fan was pretty noisy but worked well. On our last night there was work being done on the street with a jackhammer but we wouldn't've changed our view for the world. 50th street is gorgeous at night. Continental breakfast was pretty sparse for $9.95 per person, and bar drinks were quite pricey, but I guess that's just NYC!I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be near the theaters, Tmes Square, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center--all the things one comes to NYC to see and do!! All were within easy walking distance! Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Foods of NY Tours, wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Daddy Matty
Business
NYC
Dec 13, 2013

Place to stay near family!

Close and convenient to all of theTimes Square area on NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loopy Loo
Business
Southampton, UK
Dec 3, 2013

Great location

This hotel is perfectly located for sightseeing and getting about Time Square a stone throw away and a subway on the corner of 50th. The staff were very helpful, the room was very comfortable and clean and what I expected for the price. If you want luxury or high end then this is not that, but for somewhere warm and a comfy bed after long days of sightseeing then this is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stardust diner was great fun with live singers at breakfast! on Broadway on 51st. Also HB Burger was awesome near Time Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
can't wait to go again
Business
yorkshire england
Nov 22, 2013

ritz without the price

no room service one day lost it one point, the room looked well used, lived in and comfortable. when we walked in I thought we were in the wrong hotel, far to good for the price we paid. the staff were so helpfull finding me some specilist shops & printing out the details. location 2mins. from two diferent subway stations, so easy to get to anywere in N.Y. 5mins from times sq. winner. would I recommed this hotel Oooo Yessss!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

'subway' 4 doors away dunkin doughnuts @ metro entrance A deli 1min round the corner (breakfast, dinner, tea & supper)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ESJSS
Business
Houston
Nov 17, 2013

Just the two of us

Honestly, we came to experience the city of New York. It was Awsome! We did not have any problems with the room during our four night stay. The bathroom smelled and looked bleachy clean. We stayed in the non-smoking section so that was beneficial. My suggestion is for the hotel to update their televisions and make the Wifi service free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take the E Subway to Chelsia Market. The food their is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Burtons
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Nov 12, 2013

Old facility with perfect location

Can't ask for a better location - the hotel is close to the subway and all major attractions. We were extremely pleased with that. However, it is an older facility. We had a couple issue for the first couple of nights. We had a room on the 7th floor, and the water was going to cycles of super hot and super cold when we taking a shower. So it was not pleasant. Therefore, the friendly staff switched us to another room on the 6th floor. The new room is just as cozy, but we had a big bulky 19 inch old style TV - not a big deal and the shower was great! They do not have central heating/cooling system so the old style heating unit can be nosy if you are a light sleeper - be aware! The site says that the wifi internet was free. When we got there, they said the internet is $10 per day. Luckily, I print out my reservation to show them so they honored the free internet for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new jerseyan1
Business
New Jersey
Nov 10, 2013

Average

Good for the money. Would not go there for extended stay, but for 1-2 nights it is good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sucram11
Business
Lexington, KY
Nov 5, 2013

Meh

The hotel room was tiny. We got "upgraded" to a King bed which was nice but no iron in the room, the shower temperature was very inconsistent, no fan in the bathroom to help with foggy mirrors. The shower curtain moved constantly. I wasn't the least impressed. But hey, I had a place to lay my head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top