$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYConabudget
Business
New York, NY
Jul 10, 2014

Great location but don't spend too much time in the room

I read the reviews before booking and was expecting a very small hotel, however I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the storage space. We got in early and they asked if we wanted to wait to check in because the only room available at the time was small, and luckily they we're able to upgrade us to a king size room since we were staying for a week. The only down side is that the toilet was running every 30 seconds and the shower only had two temperatures, scalding hot and freezing cold. We mentioned it once and they said they would send someone out to look at it, it was better for a little bit but then back to the extremes. We asked a second time but never heard what happened. When we checked out they were very apologetic, but everyone we talked to mentioned that a lot of people using the water could be causing the problem, but isn't that what temperature regulators are for? The bathrooms were tiny and needed an upgrade. We were rarely in the room other than to sleep so this wasn't a big deal to us. The staff however was wonderful, very friendly and helpful, came quickly when we called and they were able to solve most of our problems, other than the crazy plumbing. The location was perfect! So close to the metro we were able to zig zag the city with ease, would probably even come back to this hotel on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother buying a city pass, most of the museums are pay what you wish and many attractions have free days, its often cheaper to just pay the full price for the main attraction. When they say "skip the line" it only means wait in a totally different line.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rocky10
Business
Finland
Jul 10, 2014

Good location, bad rooms

Very good location, but the room was very small without window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun Boy
Business
Chicago
Jul 10, 2014

Great Location

Great location with very friendly stuff. Short distance to JFK train

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kjd0309
Business
milwaukee wi
Jul 8, 2014

not what i was sold

the hotel room was muggy and noisy the staff was nice the free breakfast cost 10.99 next time ill stay at the "y"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel430
Business
USA
Jul 8, 2014

Convenient location

Convenient to theater district, and to subway lines nearby, which can take you almost anywhere in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aacnbio
Business
Boston
Jul 2, 2014

Excelent location

This hotel is in a great location!! I love it. The room is not very comfortable but is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krystal Broadway Lover
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 2, 2014

Amsterdam Court Hotel Stay

A friend and I stayed at the Amsterdam Court Hotel for vacation. The location was on point! We had an issue with our hotel room and they happily fixed the situation quickly at no charge! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Gershwin Theater literally across the street!

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OR Travel RN
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 30, 2014

Great Place for Theatre-Goers

Rooms are small, but not unusually so for this part of town. The décor is enticing, teetering on the border of nuevo art deco and historic chic. Staff are very friendly and housekeeping is done well. My room had a standard double bed that was surprisingly comfortable. Lots of TV channels to select from, but not a lot of space for your laptop. Good luck finding an electrical outlet for your computer or cell phone charger. There are lots of great restaurants and the best of the theaters all around you. Typical midtown Manhattan claptrap dots the landscape between them; so whatever you need you can walk to. The subway is practically next door, and catching a cab is as easy as making it to the sidewalk. Overall great location if you do not require space or amenities. Otherwise you need to look a few blocks south toward Times Square (and much, MUCH deeper into your wallet).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Palm Restaurant next door (to your left as you exit the hotel). Amazing dining and service!

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
theatregoer
Business
near Philadelphia, PA
Jun 26, 2014

Good for a theatre trip

Clean and decent small hotel. Rooms have been redone, bed was comfortable, price was good (for NYC). Negatives: window air conditioner is a bit noisy, bathroom is dark (only light is in the shower ceiling, nowhere near the sink and mirror) and has no vanity around sink, just one small shelf over the toilet that isn't wide enough to stow a toiletry kit. For a one-night trip to see a few shows, however, it was fine and in an excellent location. My companion had the continental breakfast, which was adequate and reasonably priced. We would stay there again if the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr TV Guy
Business
Brecksville, Ohio
Jun 16, 2014

Small but clean

The location is perfect for the theaters and Times square. There is food and a drug store very close. The rooms are small but clean. Watch you head in the tiny bathroom. The staff seemed board and inattentive. When I went to check out, I stood at the counter for five minutes while the girl at the counter helped someone with their cell phone. I had a car waiting so I had to go. She would not even acknowledge that I was there. I finally just put the key on the counter and left. The staff could use some training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Peter Luger's is amazing.

Back to menu Return to top