$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triciaf
Business
Chevy Chase, Md
Jul 28, 2014

Nice stay

I had an amazing weekend stay at the Amsterdam Court. The room was clean and for one person , it was big enough!!!! My only complaint was the ice machine not too fsr from my room):. It scared me off a couple of times. The location is perfect. Happened to be not too far away from M&M's world and aso many other great spots in Manhattan . The staff is amazingggggg. Yes i would stay there again:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nickname123456
Business
ny, ny
Jul 27, 2014

good location, helpful and nice staff

the front desk was very helpful with food recommendations and reservations. i found that they are obligated to recommend restaurants that are affiliated with the hotel, which was a little frustrating. but once we got past that, they gave some of their own personal recs which i found to be very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

i found that the hotel concierge is obligated to recommend places officiated with the hotel, which i did not like. but if you continue to ask, they will be more than willing to give their own recs.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dancing Chris
Business
Washington DC
Jul 24, 2014

Business trip night

Very small room but comfortable. I would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jmeul
Business
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Jul 21, 2014

Affordable NYC accomodations

The pros: the location was excellent-close to all the action. The cons: Tiny tiny room. The color of the room was gray-nearly felt like solitary confinement. Could use brighter colors and brighter lighting. Spent minimal time in room -enough to get a couple of hours of sleep and then off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Book popular broadway shows online cause they do sell out.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theatre Man
Business
Erie, PA
Jul 19, 2014

Great Location

Good location for the theatre district, close but not too close. Yes, rooms are small but for one person it was fine. Staff was very nice, very helpful. When only a small room was available (since I was late checking in) they moved me the next day and gave me breakfast. Coffee and tea always available and nice roof top deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BCU1979
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 13, 2014

Good location.

The best thing about the hotel is the location. It's near the theater district without being too close to the Times Square madness. The hotel only has one elevator and it moves very slow. The corridors on the floor are a little weird. Room was comfortable/clean enough. It's fine if you're only there for a night or two. But I wouldn't want to spend much time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hot mom and dad
Business
Borger, TX
Jul 11, 2014

No good

Horrible. The 1st room was so small. The bath wouldn't drain and handle in bathtub was broke. So moved us to different room and the air conditioner was spitting out water so they came in replaced it for one that didn't blow cool air at all. So came back and finally fixed it after 3 hrs. Stayed in many hotels in different states and places and this was the worst. Dont waste your time staying here, you'll regret it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Rockefeller Bldg

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYConabudget
Business
New York, NY
Jul 10, 2014

Great location but don't spend too much time in the room

I read the reviews before booking and was expecting a very small hotel, however I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the storage space. We got in early and they asked if we wanted to wait to check in because the only room available at the time was small, and luckily they we're able to upgrade us to a king size room since we were staying for a week. The only down side is that the toilet was running every 30 seconds and the shower only had two temperatures, scalding hot and freezing cold. We mentioned it once and they said they would send someone out to look at it, it was better for a little bit but then back to the extremes. We asked a second time but never heard what happened. When we checked out they were very apologetic, but everyone we talked to mentioned that a lot of people using the water could be causing the problem, but isn't that what temperature regulators are for? The bathrooms were tiny and needed an upgrade. We were rarely in the room other than to sleep so this wasn't a big deal to us. The staff however was wonderful, very friendly and helpful, came quickly when we called and they were able to solve most of our problems, other than the crazy plumbing. The location was perfect! So close to the metro we were able to zig zag the city with ease, would probably even come back to this hotel on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother buying a city pass, most of the museums are pay what you wish and many attractions have free days, its often cheaper to just pay the full price for the main attraction. When they say "skip the line" it only means wait in a totally different line.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rocky10
Business
Finland
Jul 10, 2014

Good location, bad rooms

Very good location, but the room was very small without window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun Boy
Business
Chicago
Jul 10, 2014

Great Location

Great location with very friendly stuff. Short distance to JFK train

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top