$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snarky
Spartanburg, SC, USA
Apr 4, 2013

NYC Trip

The hotel was in a great location. We were able to walk to most of our destinations throughout the city. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Our room was always clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. I really liked this hotel and it helped make our stay in NYC all the more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ellen's Stardust Diner Majestic Cafe'

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Contrigor
Business
Merida
Dec 16, 2014

Great couple trip

Hotel is small but cozy, clean, renewed, very good located. Near to metro station, theaters, times square, and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent NYC visitor 16
Business
NJ
Dec 6, 2014

Convenient Value

Busy time in city but this more reasonable than others in area. Asked for quietest possible room and appreciated spot at back away from street noise. Would be too dark for some. Though very small room had desk so a work surface. Better armoire size than in many properties that have gone this rouute vs closets. Actually tall enough to hang long coats and with drawer space. Decent lights for reading . Small bUt updated bath

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex5678ttt
Business
New York
Dec 5, 2014

Ordinary

It's a ordinary and small. But may be worth the price in such area. But mattress is not good. Many springs seem broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BarryD
Business
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Dec 2, 2014

Great Location and Great Staff

Good stay overall. Staff was very helpful, especially Bobby. He was incredibly busy but was able to assist me with issues with my cancelled duplicate reservation. Only challenge was the bed being very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fluffy's Cafe is great. Great coffee and breakfast foods!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maggie1987
Business
Bethesda
Dec 1, 2014

Great location, quite clean

7 minutes to Times square, 5 minutes to Rockefeller center, 15 minutes to Central Park. It is a good choice for those who plan to see Broadway shows because the hotel is located in theater district and so close to many famous theaters. The room is small but tidy, it suits one single person living there very well. But!!!! The business center in this hotel charged me $15.00 for printing one slide of paper!!! So unreasonable!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Please don't buy any metro pass, you will find you walk all the time and the bus and metro are not so convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Taylor 1987
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 25, 2014

Good Location

The location of the hotel was perfect. The room was small and a little loud, but overall it was good. Good place to stay if you just want a place to sleep at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nessa Bruin
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 21, 2014

Last minute getaway

I was looking for hotels last minute and was happy to find this place. It's affordable and in a great location. The staff was friendly and although the room is rather small (this is New York after all), I was comfortable and happy with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rcwitt
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 19, 2014

Great value and perfect location!

I was very pleased with our stay. I visit NYC a couple of times a year and this was the first time I stayed at the Amsterdam. I would highly recommend it and I would stay there again. The rooms are small - but all NYC rooms are small. They were very clean and they had a very efficient use of the space. The location is great if you want to see shows and be close to Times Square without being in the middle of the chaos of Times Square. Close to the subway as well. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to use the subway system. It's very easy to use and people are helpful in directing you if you have questions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bon79
Business
USA
Nov 17, 2014

Amsterdam Court in NYC

Booked this hotel needing a room in the heart of the sights and action, could not have booked a better placed hotel. Right next to Broadway for the shows. Compared to other hotels in tne same area price was a killer deal. Let's face it you don't go to NYC to stay in your room so the fact that it's a small room didn't bother me at all. It was clean and comfortable, room service everyday I was there. I had read about hot water issues, it was slow on coming but piping hot once there...great pressure made for long showers after walking the city all day. I stayed on tne 7th floor so street noise was not that bad but again it's NYC...the street buzz is part of the deal. I would get up and open the window..take in the sounds and smells...great! Free coffee in the lobby all day worked well for me but there's a dunkins two doors down as well. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful , always happy to give advice. There is also 24hr parking next door so to be sure and ask reception for a hotel discount. I feel that I got a bargin with this hotel and I,ll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you go to a live comedy show DO NOT buy tickets from vendors on the street....go direct to the venue and buy with confidence.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teabag
Business
Ireland
Nov 17, 2014

New York base

First impressions of the hotel were a classy entrance but a very disappointing room. The room was very small with no view, no tea making facilities and old, shabby furniture. However, the room was clean, with a comfortable bed and Time Square is just round the corner so it was ideal as a base to explore the city and then sleep. One problem was plug sockets: there were no free sockets so we had to unplug bedside lamps to charge phones. Wifi was $10 per day per item. But an ideal hotel for sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top