$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
253 reviews
daughters 16 th bday

It was a great visit location was wonderful for in city See full review

  • Denise1977
  • Feb 17, 2015
One night stay

I stayed in this hotel one night while looking for an apartment in the city. I went and checked in... See full review

  • Jill M.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel near the Broadway shows
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is ideally situated for theater buffs and visitors who want to be in the heart of Times Square. The boutique hotel is across the street from the Gershwin Theater. Other popular attractions, such as Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center, are a short walk away. At the Amsterdam Court Hotel, guests can grab a bite at the on-site restaurant and relax in beds with Belgian linens and down comforters.
Highlights
  • Complimentary espresso in the lounge
  • Steps from Broadway and across the street from the Gershwin Theater
  • Easy walk to Central Park and Rockefeller Center
Location

This smoke-free hotel is in the heart of the Theater District. Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance from the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Visitors can walk half a block to Broadway and stroll the street to experience Times Square. Families may appreciate the Ferris wheel in the Toys "R" Us store. For a more luxurious shopping experience, visitors will find stores such as Cartier and Bergdorf Goodman along Fifth Avenue.

Rooms

The 197 rooms at the Amsterdam Court Hotel are decorated in soothing beige tones and have either one double or one queen bed. Beds have Belgian sheets and down comforters. In-room amenities include hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, Internet access (fees apply), safes and complimentary bath products.

Features

Guests can enjoy complimentary espresso in the lounge and pick up a free newspaper in the Amsterdam Court Hotel lobby.

 

Dining

The one-site Natsumi restaurant serves Japanese-Italian fusion cuisine. The Times Square area has hundreds of restaurants to choose from -- everything from diners and delis to four-star eateries. Nearby restaurants include Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Le Bernardin and Ellen's Stardust Diner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th Street
  • Grand Central Terminal
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
Policies and fees

  • Parking fee is $30 USD per 24 hours with no in and out privileges. There is an extra $10 USD for oversize vehicles.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amsterdam Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amsterdam Court Hotel Rooms

Standard
Rooms with 1 double bed or 1 queen bed include Internet access - high speed, Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, CD player, Hypo-allergenic bedding available, Premium bedding, Climate control, Blackout drapes, Air conditioning, Multi-line phone, Voice mail, Refrigerator (on request), Wake-up calls, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower/tub combination, Electronic/magnetic keys, Clock radio, Desk, Iron/ironing board, Television, Smoking rooms. Rollaway bed is availabel at $ 20 charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teabag
Business
Ireland
Nov 17, 2014

New York base

First impressions of the hotel were a classy entrance but a very disappointing room. The room was very small with no view, no tea making facilities and old, shabby furniture. However, the room was clean, with a comfortable bed and Time Square is just round the corner so it was ideal as a base to explore the city and then sleep. One problem was plug sockets: there were no free sockets so we had to unplug bedside lamps to charge phones. Wifi was $10 per day per item. But an ideal hotel for sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Campbell von Campbell
Business
Palm Desert, CA
Nov 15, 2014

One must suffer for their passion.

I come to NYC once or twice a year to catch up on theater. From California, it tends to be an expensive habit, as ticket prices are crazy high and hotel rooms fluxuate all over the place. I got a really good rate using an on-line coupon, so I will keep that in mind while reviewing this hotel. Room 201 was painfully small; no chair, no drawers, no desk, no lamps, no closet. Just one creaky double bed. Everything was worn down, dented, thread-bare, etc. I had lowered my expectations in advance, so I got through it. Somehow, this hotel has a friendly and professional staff far surpassing personnel I have encountered in nearby hotels at 3 times the price. I travel solo. Two persons in this room would really test a relationship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChiSparty
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 10, 2014

Nickel and Dimes You on Everything

The location is nearly unbeatable. However, the room smelled strange and the shower temperature vacillated between scalding and freezing. Also, they offer a mediocre continental breakfast, which would be fine if it were free. It was $10.95 + tax. Also, wifi was $10.90 for a 24hr period and there was not even a basic coffeemaker in the room. Because of the comfortable bed, friendly staff and great location, I give it 2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Head to Tribeca or SoHo for best food options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiri E
Business
Oakland, CA
Nov 4, 2014

Great Times Square location with personal service!

The staff and amenities here are great. Location is fantastic and the Sushi restaurant downstairs is fantastic as well. Will definitely consider staying here again on a return visit. Thank you all the personal service, directions, etc. Really friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sushi Restaurant downstairs is fabulous. Great cocktails and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
boatboy333
Business
chiang mai and USA
Oct 13, 2014

Old and shows all the wrinkles

I had three different rooms. The first can only be described as a broom closet, and to even attempt to place a person in that room was a disgrace. I have to admit that after two other room changes, I was in a room that at least met two stars...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KCheri
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 29, 2014

location, location, location

The room was okay for a single traveler. It was a little in need of some repairs. Overall, the staff was wonderful and I loved the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TheaterConcert goer
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 21, 2014

Never again

If I had not pre-paid, I would not even have checked in. While I waited, exhausted, in the lobby for well over an hour for my room, at least 6 other people came to the desk to complain, and not one got help (2 left to find other hotel). No coffee, no wi-fi (no matter what they say), no closet in room, no place to hang my clothes, no luggage stand so the only chair in the room was my closet/dresser. Man at the desk behaved as though he wanted everyone to just go away. There are many nice places to stay in NYC: go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mercyme82
Business
The woodlands, TX
Sep 18, 2014

Met all of our basic needs

This hotel is in the perfect location for a tourist, easy subway access and close to Times Square and other attractions. Right across the street from the Gershwin theatre. And the restaurant downstairs is phenomenal! However it is New York, so the room was Tiny and expensive. Not much room for anything but showering and sleeping, but what more do you need, you're not going to spend much time in your room anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to have the tempura cheesecake at natsumi!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fashion 101
Business
New York
Sep 15, 2014

Amsterdam Hotel

The location was perfect however when I arrived the female manger was really rude. On top of that I didn't know you have to pay an upfront $50 for incidentals. Then I get to my room and it was sooooooo small. I could barley move around. The bathroom in the pictured on the site when I got the room was NOT at all the one I got when I got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Wax museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sushan
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Aug 29, 2014

great location!

We only stayed for one night, it was not a bad experience nor a fantastic one. The night shift front desk personnel was not very nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top