$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nessa Bruin
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 21, 2014

Last minute getaway

I was looking for hotels last minute and was happy to find this place. It's affordable and in a great location. The staff was friendly and although the room is rather small (this is New York after all), I was comfortable and happy with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rcwitt
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 19, 2014

Great value and perfect location!

I was very pleased with our stay. I visit NYC a couple of times a year and this was the first time I stayed at the Amsterdam. I would highly recommend it and I would stay there again. The rooms are small - but all NYC rooms are small. They were very clean and they had a very efficient use of the space. The location is great if you want to see shows and be close to Times Square without being in the middle of the chaos of Times Square. Close to the subway as well. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to use the subway system. It's very easy to use and people are helpful in directing you if you have questions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bon79
Business
USA
Nov 17, 2014

Amsterdam Court in NYC

Booked this hotel needing a room in the heart of the sights and action, could not have booked a better placed hotel. Right next to Broadway for the shows. Compared to other hotels in tne same area price was a killer deal. Let's face it you don't go to NYC to stay in your room so the fact that it's a small room didn't bother me at all. It was clean and comfortable, room service everyday I was there. I had read about hot water issues, it was slow on coming but piping hot once there...great pressure made for long showers after walking the city all day. I stayed on tne 7th floor so street noise was not that bad but again it's NYC...the street buzz is part of the deal. I would get up and open the window..take in the sounds and smells...great! Free coffee in the lobby all day worked well for me but there's a dunkins two doors down as well. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful , always happy to give advice. There is also 24hr parking next door so to be sure and ask reception for a hotel discount. I feel that I got a bargin with this hotel and I,ll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you go to a live comedy show DO NOT buy tickets from vendors on the street....go direct to the venue and buy with confidence.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teabag
Business
Ireland
Nov 17, 2014

New York base

First impressions of the hotel were a classy entrance but a very disappointing room. The room was very small with no view, no tea making facilities and old, shabby furniture. However, the room was clean, with a comfortable bed and Time Square is just round the corner so it was ideal as a base to explore the city and then sleep. One problem was plug sockets: there were no free sockets so we had to unplug bedside lamps to charge phones. Wifi was $10 per day per item. But an ideal hotel for sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Campbell von Campbell
Business
Palm Desert, CA
Nov 15, 2014

One must suffer for their passion.

I come to NYC once or twice a year to catch up on theater. From California, it tends to be an expensive habit, as ticket prices are crazy high and hotel rooms fluxuate all over the place. I got a really good rate using an on-line coupon, so I will keep that in mind while reviewing this hotel. Room 201 was painfully small; no chair, no drawers, no desk, no lamps, no closet. Just one creaky double bed. Everything was worn down, dented, thread-bare, etc. I had lowered my expectations in advance, so I got through it. Somehow, this hotel has a friendly and professional staff far surpassing personnel I have encountered in nearby hotels at 3 times the price. I travel solo. Two persons in this room would really test a relationship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChiSparty
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 10, 2014

Nickel and Dimes You on Everything

The location is nearly unbeatable. However, the room smelled strange and the shower temperature vacillated between scalding and freezing. Also, they offer a mediocre continental breakfast, which would be fine if it were free. It was $10.95 + tax. Also, wifi was $10.90 for a 24hr period and there was not even a basic coffeemaker in the room. Because of the comfortable bed, friendly staff and great location, I give it 2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Head to Tribeca or SoHo for best food options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiri E
Business
Oakland, CA
Nov 4, 2014

Great Times Square location with personal service!

The staff and amenities here are great. Location is fantastic and the Sushi restaurant downstairs is fantastic as well. Will definitely consider staying here again on a return visit. Thank you all the personal service, directions, etc. Really friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sushi Restaurant downstairs is fabulous. Great cocktails and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
boatboy333
Business
chiang mai and USA
Oct 13, 2014

Old and shows all the wrinkles

I had three different rooms. The first can only be described as a broom closet, and to even attempt to place a person in that room was a disgrace. I have to admit that after two other room changes, I was in a room that at least met two stars...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KCheri
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 29, 2014

location, location, location

The room was okay for a single traveler. It was a little in need of some repairs. Overall, the staff was wonderful and I loved the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TheaterConcert goer
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 21, 2014

Never again

If I had not pre-paid, I would not even have checked in. While I waited, exhausted, in the lobby for well over an hour for my room, at least 6 other people came to the desk to complain, and not one got help (2 left to find other hotel). No coffee, no wi-fi (no matter what they say), no closet in room, no place to hang my clothes, no luggage stand so the only chair in the room was my closet/dresser. Man at the desk behaved as though he wanted everyone to just go away. There are many nice places to stay in NYC: go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top