$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 24, 2015 Check-out: Feb 27, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
251 reviews
One night stay

I stayed in this hotel one night while looking for an apartment in the city. I went and checked in... See full review

  • Jill M.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Amazing location

The hotel was a lot nicer than I was expecting, considering the great location and reasonable... See full review

  • Anna 123
  • Apr 15, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel near the Broadway shows
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is ideally situated for theater buffs and visitors who want to be in the heart of Times Square. The boutique hotel is across the street from the Gershwin Theater. Other popular attractions, such as Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center, are a short walk away. At the Amsterdam Court Hotel, guests can grab a bite at the on-site restaurant and relax in beds with Belgian linens and down comforters.
Highlights
  • Complimentary espresso in the lounge
  • Steps from Broadway and across the street from the Gershwin Theater
  • Easy walk to Central Park and Rockefeller Center
Location

This smoke-free hotel is in the heart of the Theater District. Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance from the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Visitors can walk half a block to Broadway and stroll the street to experience Times Square. Families may appreciate the Ferris wheel in the Toys "R" Us store. For a more luxurious shopping experience, visitors will find stores such as Cartier and Bergdorf Goodman along Fifth Avenue.

Rooms

The 197 rooms at the Amsterdam Court Hotel are decorated in soothing beige tones and have either one double or one queen bed. Beds have Belgian sheets and down comforters. In-room amenities include hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, Internet access (fees apply), safes and complimentary bath products.

Features

Guests can enjoy complimentary espresso in the lounge and pick up a free newspaper in the Amsterdam Court Hotel lobby.

 

Dining

The one-site Natsumi restaurant serves Japanese-Italian fusion cuisine. The Times Square area has hundreds of restaurants to choose from -- everything from diners and delis to four-star eateries. Nearby restaurants include Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Le Bernardin and Ellen's Stardust Diner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th Street
  • Grand Central Terminal
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
Policies and fees

  • Parking fee is $30 USD per 24 hours with no in and out privileges. There is an extra $10 USD for oversize vehicles.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amsterdam Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amsterdam Court Hotel Rooms

Standard
Rooms with 1 double bed or 1 queen bed include Internet access - high speed, Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, CD player, Hypo-allergenic bedding available, Premium bedding, Climate control, Blackout drapes, Air conditioning, Multi-line phone, Voice mail, Refrigerator (on request), Wake-up calls, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower/tub combination, Electronic/magnetic keys, Clock radio, Desk, Iron/ironing board, Television, Smoking rooms. Rollaway bed is availabel at $ 20 charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex5678ttt
Business
New York
Dec 5, 2014

Ordinary

It's a ordinary and small. But may be worth the price in such area. But mattress is not good. Many springs seem broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BarryD
Business
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Dec 2, 2014

Great Location and Great Staff

Good stay overall. Staff was very helpful, especially Bobby. He was incredibly busy but was able to assist me with issues with my cancelled duplicate reservation. Only challenge was the bed being very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fluffy's Cafe is great. Great coffee and breakfast foods!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maggie1987
Business
Bethesda
Dec 1, 2014

Great location, quite clean

7 minutes to Times square, 5 minutes to Rockefeller center, 15 minutes to Central Park. It is a good choice for those who plan to see Broadway shows because the hotel is located in theater district and so close to many famous theaters. The room is small but tidy, it suits one single person living there very well. But!!!! The business center in this hotel charged me $15.00 for printing one slide of paper!!! So unreasonable!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Please don't buy any metro pass, you will find you walk all the time and the bus and metro are not so convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Taylor 1987
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 25, 2014

Good Location

The location of the hotel was perfect. The room was small and a little loud, but overall it was good. Good place to stay if you just want a place to sleep at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nessa Bruin
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 21, 2014

Last minute getaway

I was looking for hotels last minute and was happy to find this place. It's affordable and in a great location. The staff was friendly and although the room is rather small (this is New York after all), I was comfortable and happy with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rcwitt
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 19, 2014

Great value and perfect location!

I was very pleased with our stay. I visit NYC a couple of times a year and this was the first time I stayed at the Amsterdam. I would highly recommend it and I would stay there again. The rooms are small - but all NYC rooms are small. They were very clean and they had a very efficient use of the space. The location is great if you want to see shows and be close to Times Square without being in the middle of the chaos of Times Square. Close to the subway as well. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to use the subway system. It's very easy to use and people are helpful in directing you if you have questions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bon79
Business
USA
Nov 17, 2014

Amsterdam Court in NYC

Booked this hotel needing a room in the heart of the sights and action, could not have booked a better placed hotel. Right next to Broadway for the shows. Compared to other hotels in tne same area price was a killer deal. Let's face it you don't go to NYC to stay in your room so the fact that it's a small room didn't bother me at all. It was clean and comfortable, room service everyday I was there. I had read about hot water issues, it was slow on coming but piping hot once there...great pressure made for long showers after walking the city all day. I stayed on tne 7th floor so street noise was not that bad but again it's NYC...the street buzz is part of the deal. I would get up and open the window..take in the sounds and smells...great! Free coffee in the lobby all day worked well for me but there's a dunkins two doors down as well. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful , always happy to give advice. There is also 24hr parking next door so to be sure and ask reception for a hotel discount. I feel that I got a bargin with this hotel and I,ll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you go to a live comedy show DO NOT buy tickets from vendors on the street....go direct to the venue and buy with confidence.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teabag
Business
Ireland
Nov 17, 2014

New York base

First impressions of the hotel were a classy entrance but a very disappointing room. The room was very small with no view, no tea making facilities and old, shabby furniture. However, the room was clean, with a comfortable bed and Time Square is just round the corner so it was ideal as a base to explore the city and then sleep. One problem was plug sockets: there were no free sockets so we had to unplug bedside lamps to charge phones. Wifi was $10 per day per item. But an ideal hotel for sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Campbell von Campbell
Business
Palm Desert, CA
Nov 15, 2014

One must suffer for their passion.

I come to NYC once or twice a year to catch up on theater. From California, it tends to be an expensive habit, as ticket prices are crazy high and hotel rooms fluxuate all over the place. I got a really good rate using an on-line coupon, so I will keep that in mind while reviewing this hotel. Room 201 was painfully small; no chair, no drawers, no desk, no lamps, no closet. Just one creaky double bed. Everything was worn down, dented, thread-bare, etc. I had lowered my expectations in advance, so I got through it. Somehow, this hotel has a friendly and professional staff far surpassing personnel I have encountered in nearby hotels at 3 times the price. I travel solo. Two persons in this room would really test a relationship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChiSparty
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 10, 2014

Nickel and Dimes You on Everything

The location is nearly unbeatable. However, the room smelled strange and the shower temperature vacillated between scalding and freezing. Also, they offer a mediocre continental breakfast, which would be fine if it were free. It was $10.95 + tax. Also, wifi was $10.90 for a 24hr period and there was not even a basic coffeemaker in the room. Because of the comfortable bed, friendly staff and great location, I give it 2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Head to Tribeca or SoHo for best food options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top