$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lilla11
Single
Moscow, Russia
Nov 29, 2012

Great location!

The location was awesome, very close to everything. The stuff was really friendly, room is clean and good price for night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelerddd
Business
NY
Nov 21, 2012

Too small room

Good location, but too small room and bed for me. Clean room and bathroom. Just about 5 min to Timesquare. Too too too small bed. A lot of noises at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankB
Single
NY
Nov 6, 2012

Great Location

Stayed here a few times, great location to Times Square and theatre district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crescentmm
Friends
Toronto
Oct 15, 2012

Loved the location!

The hotel is in Broadway Theater District and it was perfect for me because I love musical. Room was small for two people but that's NY's standard, I think. The fact that it's reasonably priced and clean is good enough reason for me to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
From CA to NY
Business
NYC
Oct 8, 2012

Amsterdam Court

Great location and friendly staff. They were overbooked the first night though and sent me to the Empire which was a bit annoying, but they were really nice about it. My bed was really comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorem Ipsum
Family
Boston, MA
Sep 15, 2012

Worth the Price

Excellent location, a parking garage across the street (hotel visitors get parking discount). Rooms are small, with basic amenities, but clean. Breakfast (extra $10) is not worth it - go outside and get a better meal for the same $10. The hotel is inexpensive considering its location, and I believe it is worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ashrimp
Family
Minneapolis,MN
Sep 11, 2012

Nice Hotel , just off Times Sq.

The rooms were small but clean. I took non smoking room. the room did not have any smell though the lobby had a little damp kindda smell but not too strong.Staff was very courteous. Bathrooms were clean. Overall i would rate this hotel a very good. This is just off Times SQ and very convenient to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Sq , Port authority(grey hound bus) terminal

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LauraRC
Couples
Cleveland Ohio
Aug 28, 2012

Overall, big win!

The hotel is new and clean. Awesome location! We were able to walk to everything we wanted to! The only thing that was weird was the shower. The shower had no walls or curtain. So when we would shower the ENTIRE bathroom floor was covered in water. They should make more of a dip or something to the drain. A more powerful fan in there would have been nice too... it would get really steamy. There was construction next door when we were there and that was mega unfortunate because they started at the crack of dawn. Hopefully it will be done soon for those of you staying there! lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Russian Vodka room was awesome... check it out!

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AVCK
Friends
Atlanta, GA
Aug 20, 2012

Not impressive, but not bad

The location of this hotel was pretty amazing. Near plenty of subway stations, blocks from Times Square, and near several broadway theaters. However, given the price, the room quality was less than impressive. It was NY and we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but when we were there, it was minimal quality. The beds weren't comfortable, so the little sleep we got wasn't great. The shower didn't drain properly even after asking for assistance, so you were standing in water, and maid service didn't come until late in the afternoon (around 5pm). The staff at the front desk were friendly when necessary, but when asked for assistance the bellman and front desk staff were less than pleased and very sarcastic (in a bad way). Considering the location and the fact that we were in NY the room quality didn't factor in too much; however, for what we paid for and the fact that we were in NY we expected much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Venture to restuarants away from the tourists. The closer to the "hot spots" (i.e. times square), the more expensive the food, the trendier the spots, the longer the wait, the worse the wait staff, etc. Go where the locals go, not the tourists. It's more like NY that way. Ask the locals what they like best and you'll get a more enjoyable experience.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KateRM
Friends
Vermont
Aug 17, 2012

Great location but...

The location of the hotel was amazing; near Times Square, great restaurants, broadway, shopping, etc. The staff was friendly too. The room was tiny which was OK but it was very worn out! There were cracked tiles in the bathroom floor and shower and even a gaping hole! The pipes started loudly clanging while showering to the point that you had to repeatedly turn down the hot water. The furniture was quite worn out too. The radiator looked like it hadn't been painted since the '50s. I would ask if there are any updated rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner is a wonderful restaurant, Thalia, where we ate a fantastic, well-priced lunch!

Back to menu Return to top