$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
238 reviews
Amazing location

The hotel was a lot nicer than I was expecting, considering the great location and reasonable... See full review

  • Anna 123
  • Apr 15, 2014
Great value, Great location

The best thing about this hotel is it's location, its right round the corner from Time Square. The... See full review

  • Cath and Abbie
  • Mar 29, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel near the Broadway shows
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is ideally situated for theater buffs and visitors who want to be in the heart of Times Square. The boutique hotel is across the street from the Gershwin Theater. Other popular attractions, such as Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center, are a short walk away. At the Amsterdam Court Hotel, guests can grab a bite at the on-site restaurant and relax in beds with Belgian linens and down comforters.
Highlights
  • Complimentary espresso in the lounge
  • Steps from Broadway and across the street from the Gershwin Theater
  • Easy walk to Central Park and Rockefeller Center
Location

This smoke-free hotel is in the heart of the Theater District. Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance from the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Visitors can walk half a block to Broadway and stroll the street to experience Times Square. Families may appreciate the Ferris wheel in the Toys "R" Us store. For a more luxurious shopping experience, visitors will find stores such as Cartier and Bergdorf Goodman along Fifth Avenue.

Rooms

The 197 rooms at the Amsterdam Court Hotel are decorated in soothing beige tones and have either one double or one queen bed. Beds have Belgian sheets and down comforters. In-room amenities include hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, Internet access (fees apply), safes and complimentary bath products.

Features

Guests can enjoy complimentary espresso in the lounge and pick up a free newspaper in the Amsterdam Court Hotel lobby.

 

Dining

The one-site Natsumi restaurant serves Japanese-Italian fusion cuisine. The Times Square area has hundreds of restaurants to choose from -- everything from diners and delis to four-star eateries. Nearby restaurants include Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Le Bernardin and Ellen's Stardust Diner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th Street
  • Grand Central Terminal
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
Policies and fees

  • Parking fee is $30 USD per 24 hours with no in and out privileges. There is an extra $10 USD for oversize vehicles.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amsterdam Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amsterdam Court Hotel Rooms

Standard
Rooms with 1 double bed or 1 queen bed include Internet access - high speed, Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, CD player, Hypo-allergenic bedding available, Premium bedding, Climate control, Blackout drapes, Air conditioning, Multi-line phone, Voice mail, Refrigerator (on request), Wake-up calls, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower/tub combination, Electronic/magnetic keys, Clock radio, Desk, Iron/ironing board, Television, Smoking rooms. Rollaway bed is availabel at $ 20 charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (238)

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 238
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorem Ipsum
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 15, 2012

Worth the Price

Excellent location, a parking garage across the street (hotel visitors get parking discount). Rooms are small, with basic amenities, but clean. Breakfast (extra $10) is not worth it - go outside and get a better meal for the same $10. The hotel is inexpensive considering its location, and I believe it is worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ashrimp
Business
Minneapolis,MN
Sep 11, 2012

Nice Hotel , just off Times Sq.

The rooms were small but clean. I took non smoking room. the room did not have any smell though the lobby had a little damp kindda smell but not too strong.Staff was very courteous. Bathrooms were clean. Overall i would rate this hotel a very good. This is just off Times SQ and very convenient to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Sq , Port authority(grey hound bus) terminal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LauraRC
Business
Cleveland Ohio
Aug 28, 2012

Overall, big win!

The hotel is new and clean. Awesome location! We were able to walk to everything we wanted to! The only thing that was weird was the shower. The shower had no walls or curtain. So when we would shower the ENTIRE bathroom floor was covered in water. They should make more of a dip or something to the drain. A more powerful fan in there would have been nice too... it would get really steamy. There was construction next door when we were there and that was mega unfortunate because they started at the crack of dawn. Hopefully it will be done soon for those of you staying there! lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Russian Vodka room was awesome... check it out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AVCK
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 20, 2012

Not impressive, but not bad

The location of this hotel was pretty amazing. Near plenty of subway stations, blocks from Times Square, and near several broadway theaters. However, given the price, the room quality was less than impressive. It was NY and we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but when we were there, it was minimal quality. The beds weren't comfortable, so the little sleep we got wasn't great. The shower didn't drain properly even after asking for assistance, so you were standing in water, and maid service didn't come until late in the afternoon (around 5pm). The staff at the front desk were friendly when necessary, but when asked for assistance the bellman and front desk staff were less than pleased and very sarcastic (in a bad way). Considering the location and the fact that we were in NY the room quality didn't factor in too much; however, for what we paid for and the fact that we were in NY we expected much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Venture to restuarants away from the tourists. The closer to the "hot spots" (i.e. times square), the more expensive the food, the trendier the spots, the longer the wait, the worse the wait staff, etc. Go where the locals go, not the tourists. It's more like NY that way. Ask the locals what they like best and you'll get a more enjoyable experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KateRM
Business
Vermont
Aug 17, 2012

Great location but...

The location of the hotel was amazing; near Times Square, great restaurants, broadway, shopping, etc. The staff was friendly too. The room was tiny which was OK but it was very worn out! There were cracked tiles in the bathroom floor and shower and even a gaping hole! The pipes started loudly clanging while showering to the point that you had to repeatedly turn down the hot water. The furniture was quite worn out too. The radiator looked like it hadn't been painted since the '50s. I would ask if there are any updated rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner is a wonderful restaurant, Thalia, where we ate a fantastic, well-priced lunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teacher from Ma
Business
Massachusetts
Aug 8, 2012

Perfect for a short stay in NY

Renovated older building with small hallways. Small room but very comfortable if you can tune out the sound of the window a/c. Location right in the middle of the theater district and a short walking distance from Time Square, Rockerfeller Center, Central Park, 5th ave, and other NY attractions. Subway station next door. For the price and location, no free internet or breakfast was ok. Staff was very helpful. A mix of fast food and expensive restaurants in the area. Will be booking another stay in September.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to go downtown or to South Ferry, take the M5 bus on 5th ave instead of the subway. You will see more of Manhattan island without having to walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mothers daughter duo
Business
San juan, Puerto Rico
Jul 28, 2012

Perfect location, friendly staff

It was one of the cheapest hotels in the area, but the hotel and rooms are very modern and clean. It is a very comfortable hotel, perfect for families. The location was great-near all the big manhattan go see locations. Metro and buses nearby. Really friendly and honest staff. Loved it, i reccomend it to everyone and when i go back to NYC i will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The bus m20 takes you all the way downtown and offres great panoramic views also!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wicked tourist
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 19, 2012

Great location, not much of a Hotel

It's location is really good, just next to Times Square. I had tickets for Wicked and the theater is located just across the street, so that was something. But my God did the room was small... The TV was smaller than my computer screen, there was just a little space between the bed and the walls and that was it, the curtains on the little window went down over the small A/C, so each night I needed to tuck the curtain up any way I could to get the air conditioning flowing. There was obviously no view, it was a 4th floor and I expected that for the price and location. Carpet all over the hotel looked very weathered and lighting was dim. Bathroom small, again as expected, but the tub had some chipped peaces. Service at the door and the "very small" reception counter was ok, courteous but not great either. I would rather not stay here again, I am looking for a different hotel experience next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Giacomina
Business
London, England
Jun 21, 2012

Sister's 30th birthday whirlwind NY citybreak!

Hotel was in a fantastic location, 5 minutes from Times Square! Room was quite small and basic, but it was clean and the shower was good, lots of hot water! TV could do with being upgraded. Overall, an ok Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ramsil
Business
chicago,il
Jun 3, 2012

Ok but could be better

We stayed in this hotel for three days our main purpose is sight seeing. The hotel served the purpose but did not feel like staying again here.First of all the staff are very friendly and they do their best to make your stay memorable,they answered our questions with patience also provided a booklet with discounts and suggestions for places to see in NYC and maps. Hotel is close proximity 10 min to Times square we actually went there twice in three days and liked it, 10 min walking distance from central park,5 min walking distance from Rockfeller center which has Top of the Rock observation desk which my personal favorite and the subway is just end of the street very convieninet to go downtown and visit more places. But the room itself is very small,boring especially the dim lighting made it more like a dark room then a lively one,the hotel could do something to add good lighting in the room.You can clearly hear noises from next room as if it was coming from your own room. Overall if your looking just for a place to sleep after long tiring day you may choose this hotel with no doubt,but i personally think I may not be staying next time because this hotel can be noisy sometimes especially in the middle of nights if you couldn't sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top