$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
243 reviews
Amazing location

The hotel was a lot nicer than I was expecting, considering the great location and reasonable... See full review

  • Anna 123
  • Apr 15, 2014
Great value, Great location

The best thing about this hotel is it's location, its right round the corner from Time Square. The... See full review

  • Cath and Abbie
  • Mar 29, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel near the Broadway shows
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is ideally situated for theater buffs and visitors who want to be in the heart of Times Square. The boutique hotel is across the street from the Gershwin Theater. Other popular attractions, such as Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center, are a short walk away. At the Amsterdam Court Hotel, guests can grab a bite at the on-site restaurant and relax in beds with Belgian linens and down comforters.
Highlights
  • Complimentary espresso in the lounge
  • Steps from Broadway and across the street from the Gershwin Theater
  • Easy walk to Central Park and Rockefeller Center
Location

This smoke-free hotel is in the heart of the Theater District. Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance from the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Visitors can walk half a block to Broadway and stroll the street to experience Times Square. Families may appreciate the Ferris wheel in the Toys "R" Us store. For a more luxurious shopping experience, visitors will find stores such as Cartier and Bergdorf Goodman along Fifth Avenue.

Rooms

The 197 rooms at the Amsterdam Court Hotel are decorated in soothing beige tones and have either one double or one queen bed. Beds have Belgian sheets and down comforters. In-room amenities include hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, Internet access (fees apply), safes and complimentary bath products.

Features

Guests can enjoy complimentary espresso in the lounge and pick up a free newspaper in the Amsterdam Court Hotel lobby.

 

Dining

The one-site Natsumi restaurant serves Japanese-Italian fusion cuisine. The Times Square area has hundreds of restaurants to choose from -- everything from diners and delis to four-star eateries. Nearby restaurants include Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Le Bernardin and Ellen's Stardust Diner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th Street
  • Grand Central Terminal
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
Policies and fees

  • Parking fee is $30 USD per 24 hours with no in and out privileges. There is an extra $10 USD for oversize vehicles.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amsterdam Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amsterdam Court Hotel Rooms

Standard
Rooms with 1 double bed or 1 queen bed include Internet access - high speed, Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, CD player, Hypo-allergenic bedding available, Premium bedding, Climate control, Blackout drapes, Air conditioning, Multi-line phone, Voice mail, Refrigerator (on request), Wake-up calls, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower/tub combination, Electronic/magnetic keys, Clock radio, Desk, Iron/ironing board, Television, Smoking rooms. Rollaway bed is availabel at $ 20 charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (243)

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRR4
Business
Phila PA
Feb 19, 2013

Best $105 manhattan hotel stay ever

Hotel rates vary all over the place from night to night. Any time you can get a night in Manhattan under $150 it's a bargain, but getting this for $105 was a steal. I was worried it would be a fleabag but it was a legitimate nice place. Friendly staff, updated furnishings. Same hotel is sometimes $275 a night. If I could get this for $105 or $150 I'd take it every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Always bring earplugs
Business
New Brunswick,NJ
Feb 18, 2013

Location location location

Its hard to find a hotel with such a great location near Times Square and the theaters at a reasonable price. That said, our shower head needed to be replaced and the radiator never got hot unless I temporarily removed the steam vent to release the air. (Which means that there is no way to control the room temp).This is definitely an older hotel in need of some repair but if you just need a place to sleep and watch a little TV-its fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a supermarket right around the block where you can also sit down and eat what you purchased.If you are not into saving money there are plenty of good restaurants on the same street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marian Ed
Business
New Jersey
Feb 16, 2013

Great Place and Fabulous Location

Went to see Wicked, hotel was right across the street. Close to Times Square and many other attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lovely Lily
Business
Florida
Feb 4, 2013

PERFECT!

the hotel is perfect I love everything about it I love that it was in Times Square the hotel is very clean the staff was very very nice and I love the style of the hotel I was very surprised

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H011ywood
Business
Austin, Texas
Jan 23, 2013

Great place to sleep!

The room is small, no question, but it is clean and quiet and the bed was quite comfy. If your plan is to see new york, as ours was, then sleeping, showering and location should be your only concern. like I said, comfy bed in a quiet room, the shower was hot and had good pressure. the staff was very nice and helpful and the location cant be beat: maybe 50 feet from a subway entrance, maybe 100 feet from the Broadway strip, about 8 blocks from time square and within walking distance to countless shops. we plan to stay here again when next we visit New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

you could spen a week just exploring a 6 block radius around the hotel, it's that well located!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xtra Special
Business
Chicago
Jan 16, 2013

Nice!

I was in New York for business. Hotel wasn't spectacular but for the price it was a walk from Times Sqare, minutes from Central Park, and very accesible to all transportation to move around the city. Bar & Restaurant were connected to the Hotel and very nice. Lots of 24hr places near by to get everything so my late night arrival was not an issue. Would stay againfor business

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GUILLERMO RIVAS
Business
SUN CITY WEST , ARIZONA
Jan 4, 2013

THE WORST HOTEL STAY

OUR STAY HERE AT THE AMSTERDAM COURT HOTEL WE FELT WAS NOT WHAT WE HAD EXPECTED.. THE PICTURES WHERE A LITTLE MISLEADING TO MAKE IT LOOK MORE MODERNIZED. THE ROOMS REAL REAL SMALL.. THE BATHROOM BATHROOM CEILING WERE THE PIPE IS WAS PEALING AND COMING APART.. THEY NEVER GAVE US A CLEAN BLANKLET WE WERE USING THE SAME ONE EVERYDAY..WHEN WE ARE TO GET CLEAN LINES AND BLANKETS EVEYDAY.. HAVE OF THIME WE DID NOT EVEN GET WASH CLOTHS OR A RUG TOWLE TO PUT ON THE TILE AFTER OUR SHOWERS.. THE DOOR MAN HALF OF THE TIME WAS ALWAYS TALKING WITH THE GIRLS UP AT THE FROMT AND NOT PAYING ATTENDATION THE PEOPLE COMING OR GOING AND HE WAW EVEN TALKING ABOUT BEING SICK HALF OF THE TIME... AD TOP OF THIS WE HAVE TO P[AUY FOR OUR CONTINENTL BREAKFAST FOR $9.95.. WE HAVE BEEN TO SEVERAL OTHER HOTELS WERE WE HAD THAT INCLUDED AND NEVER HAD TO PAY A DIME.. THAT WAS A FIRST TIME FOR US..THEN ON TOP OF EVEYTHING WE HAD TO PAY TWICE FOR OUR TRANSPORATION FROM AIR[ORT TO THE HOTEL OUR TRANSPORTATION NEVER SHOWED UP AND WENT TO ANOTHER LOCATION. YOUR BEDS ARE HARD AS IF YOU ARE SLEEPING ON TWO BOX SPRINGS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aleka
Business
Maryland
Dec 26, 2012

Good place to live

During the night, it is a little noisy cause it is close to the street. But the location and price worth the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young Vet Student
Business
Massachusetts
Dec 24, 2012

Average

I wasn't impressed by this hotel - the location was very close to Times Square but the rooms were tiny and the bed was very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan from DC
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 17, 2012

Exactly what we were looking for.

The location couldn't be better and it was a really nice for the price. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Book of Mormon ticket lottery is mere feet away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top