$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Daddy Matty
Family
NYC
Dec 13, 2013

Place to stay near family!

Close and convenient to all of theTimes Square area on NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loopy Loo
Single
Southampton, UK
Dec 3, 2013

Great location

This hotel is perfectly located for sightseeing and getting about Time Square a stone throw away and a subway on the corner of 50th. The staff were very helpful, the room was very comfortable and clean and what I expected for the price. If you want luxury or high end then this is not that, but for somewhere warm and a comfy bed after long days of sightseeing then this is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stardust diner was great fun with live singers at breakfast! on Broadway on 51st. Also HB Burger was awesome near Time Square

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
can't wait to go again
Couples
yorkshire england
Nov 22, 2013

ritz without the price

no room service one day lost it one point, the room looked well used, lived in and comfortable. when we walked in I thought we were in the wrong hotel, far to good for the price we paid. the staff were so helpfull finding me some specilist shops & printing out the details. location 2mins. from two diferent subway stations, so easy to get to anywere in N.Y. 5mins from times sq. winner. would I recommed this hotel Oooo Yessss!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

'subway' 4 doors away dunkin doughnuts @ metro entrance A deli 1min round the corner (breakfast, dinner, tea & supper)

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ESJSS
Couples
Houston
Nov 17, 2013

Just the two of us

Honestly, we came to experience the city of New York. It was Awsome! We did not have any problems with the room during our four night stay. The bathroom smelled and looked bleachy clean. We stayed in the non-smoking section so that was beneficial. My suggestion is for the hotel to update their televisions and make the Wifi service free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take the E Subway to Chelsia Market. The food their is great!

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Burtons
Couples
Austin, TX, USA
Nov 12, 2013

Old facility with perfect location

Can't ask for a better location - the hotel is close to the subway and all major attractions. We were extremely pleased with that. However, it is an older facility. We had a couple issue for the first couple of nights. We had a room on the 7th floor, and the water was going to cycles of super hot and super cold when we taking a shower. So it was not pleasant. Therefore, the friendly staff switched us to another room on the 6th floor. The new room is just as cozy, but we had a big bulky 19 inch old style TV - not a big deal and the shower was great! They do not have central heating/cooling system so the old style heating unit can be nosy if you are a light sleeper - be aware! The site says that the wifi internet was free. When we got there, they said the internet is $10 per day. Luckily, I print out my reservation to show them so they honored the free internet for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new jerseyan1
Couples
New Jersey
Nov 10, 2013

Average

Good for the money. Would not go there for extended stay, but for 1-2 nights it is good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sucram11
Couples
Lexington, KY
Nov 5, 2013

Meh

The hotel room was tiny. We got "upgraded" to a King bed which was nice but no iron in the room, the shower temperature was very inconsistent, no fan in the bathroom to help with foggy mirrors. The shower curtain moved constantly. I wasn't the least impressed. But hey, I had a place to lay my head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Littlelady
Family
England
Nov 3, 2013

Sightseeing trip

The Amsterdam Hotel is in a great location for all our sightseeing trips and for all the shops. The hotel itself was fine as were most of the staff although one of the night porters was rude on occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RayPRQ
St Louis, MO, USA
Oct 28, 2013

Almost a luxury boutique in a great location

The location (Midtown West, near Times Square) is great, and the room (small, but this is standard for Manhattan prices) was decent. The closet was smartly built around the bed, and there was the seemingly rare (these days) shelf to hold toiletries in the bathroom. But other details like a closet drawer that did not slide out but instead could only slam open and shut and a flat screen TV that was set atop a cheap office supply looking nightstand made the overall feel of the room not-quite excellent. I also arrived early (11 AM-12 Noon) and saw at least 6 other guests waiting to depart, but was told that not a single room was available for an early check-in. I found that impossible to believe but did not feel like arguing the point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

There is only one small elevator, so bypass it and use the stairs - the stairwell wraps around the elevator well.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
one of the superdads
Couples
minneapolis, mn
Sep 24, 2013

good stay, great location

Perfect location to take in all the excitement possible in the big city. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay near times square. Helpful staff and clean room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont tell mama -piano bar

Back to menu Return to top