$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
261 reviews
Perfect Location!

We were in town for a wedding and decided to make a long week out of it. The hotel staff was... See full review

  • Kelly Bstreet
  • Oct 13, 2014
City break

Good, clean & comfortable hotel in a great location. Staff were very friendly & brilliant customer... See full review

  • SueM
  • Oct 1, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this non-smoking, boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is a smoke-free hotel that is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.764 -73.9825
Area served
New York, New York. Please note guest must be 21 years old or older to check-in to this hotel.
Nearby airports
New York John F Kennedy International (JFK) 15 MI , New York La Guardia (LGA) 8 MI
Area description
The Ameritania at Times Square is conveniently located in the heart of Mid-town Manhattan at 54th street and the Broadway.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Room is non-smoking. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is available at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (261)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 261
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly Bstreet
Business
Huntersville, NC
Oct 13, 2014

Perfect Location!

We were in town for a wedding and decided to make a long week out of it. The hotel staff was wonderful. Jeff went above and beyond the typical doorman service. So warm and inviting and helpful! The location was great! Walking distance to the subway and plenty of bars and places to eat right there. We will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb G.
Business
Nebraska
Sep 16, 2014

Nice Hotel

The hotel is beautiful and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our only problems were 3 times before we could get keys that worked and the fuses blew when 2 used blow dryers! The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They have performers singing while you eat your burger! Very fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Batttelpirt
Business
Columbia, Missouri
May 31, 2014

Mother-daughter adventure

We had a wonderful experience! Location was perfect for the sights we wished to see. Staff was VERY helpful! Even brought me ice one evening. Only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mosquito
Business
Florida
May 8, 2014

It is all you need to visit Manhattan

Ameritania has a perfect location, it is comfortable and clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nades
Business
Yorkshire, England
Apr 2, 2014

Super stay

Staff at this hotel are amazing going out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Any questions or issues are dealt with immediately and nothing is too much trouble. Door staff are knowledgeable about NYC and help you plan your trip even before you get there, just email! The room we had was plenty big enough for 4. Only downside was lighting was a bit dim so seeing into clothes closet and safe was a little difficult. Air con could be noisy but we didn't really need it so no problem for us. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Iguana, two doors down does amazing mojitos, 26 different flavours!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
harriedmom
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 17, 2014

Great location!

Stayed here with my daughter during a college break while we caught a couple of shows. Selected because of the more modern decor and location which is close to the theater district, MOMA and shopping. The staff here is fantastic -- very friendly and helpful! Bellman went up to the corner in traffic to catch us a cab. Room was moderately clean but still rings/spills from prior occupant's drinks on the desk's glass top. We had a room with two double beds which was quite small but ordinary for NYC. My daughter said it was the most comfortable hotel bed ever! OVerall for the price a good value but nothing to rave about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant on the fifth floor of MOMA serves a great, interesting lunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EricPhilipLink
Business
Des Moines
Jan 4, 2014

OK for a place to crash

At arrival our room was not ready. We were told it would take 40 mins. We waited an hour and a half. Also, house keeping was slow getting our room cleaned. Twice I had to ask for clean towels. The hotel was updated with nice tile and fixures but installed poorly. Bathroom door would not close. Sloppy grout work on the tile. Beware of the shower hand wond, it has sharp edges and it cut my finger. Room door did not latch, we found that out after a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy P
Business
Irvine, Scotland
Oct 21, 2013

First time in NYC

Must have looked at dozens of hotels online before deciding on the Ameritania. Location and size appealed most. On arrival we were welcomed in by Jeff. Check in was quick and smooth. Jeff collected our bags and we headed for our room. On entering our room Jeff provided some excellent local info and arranged a cupcake to be delivered for my son. Room size was larger than I expected for New York. Cool decor and comfy beds. Unfortunately there was construction being completed directly across from our window so after 2 nights we asked for another room. Staff agreed to move us but next room was very poorly located. Again we asked for a move and 3rd time lucky. You will note i scored this hotel highly. This is because despite having to move rooms twice, this was completed with no fuss from hotel staff. Location is fab for Broadway,Times Square and Central Park. Would recommend to everyone, Stay at this Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick scooby snack, pizza shop 100 yards from hotel sells pizza slices for 99c or 2 slices and a can of sprite etc for $2.79. Delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mini Holiday
Business
Sydney, Australia
Oct 3, 2013

Great location and friendly staff.

The hotel was located in a perfect location to access all the sites and transportation. Only issue was WIFI was not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midwest soccer mom
Business
Ohio
Aug 19, 2013

Asolutely perfect location

Within easy walking distance of Central Park, Broadway and Times Square, all sorts of restaurants, MoMa and many museums, a block away from subway station.... we could not ask for anything better in terms of location. The room was small but clean. With 2 parents and 2 teenagers we managed fine since we were out all day anyway. The doormen were very helpful - stored our bags cheerfully before we checked in and after we checked out since we had time after flying in and before flying back out. The doorman also arranged for a car to drive us back to LaGuardia so we sat in comfort for a little less than the cabfare we paid to get there. The desk staff answered questions and were efficient, but not quite as friendly as the doormen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of reasonably-priced restaurants on 9th Ave, ~2-3 blocks walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top