$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 9, 2015 Check-out: Feb 12, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
284 reviews
40th birthday trip

The hotel was so central, if you turned right out of the hotel you were on broadway and the David... See full review

  • samantha w.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Excelent

Best hotel for the price and super friendly. Great location. See full review

  • momt
  • Jan 17, 2015

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this non-smoking, boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is a smoke-free hotel that is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Room is non-smoking. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is available at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (284)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
284 out of 284
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pippin Fan
Business
NY
Mar 25, 2013

POD-like

The staff is nice and decor is modern but the rooms are ridiculously small. There was no place to even hang your coat and to find a place for a single suitcase, I had to store the snack bar tray under the sink. I recently stayed at a POD hotel in NYC and the rooms were the same size but the other place had coat hooks, bar & restaurant, lounge and a much better price. Stayed a few blocks further from Times Square at Xmas and had much better accomodations and even in that season a better price. If going back for another show, would not go back to Ameritania; there are many better options in that price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 9, 2010

Ameritania Hotel Review

I was very disappointed with the Hotel overall quality. It needs major renovation, especially in the bathroom. The carpet appears to be worn out in several areas of the Hotel. The Bellman/Doorman are not very attentive to arriving passengers; no assistance was offered with the luggage. I have stayed in many Hotels in New York City and this has to be one of the worst. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Feb 17, 2010

Location,Location,Location Nothing Else

This is a budget hotel at best. Everyones reviews about the location were right on. The staff is very friendly. The hotel needs major renovations. My room happened to be a floor where contruction was going on. The noise was out of control and there was no hot water.This seems to be a popular hotel with europeans. I was not happy and would not recommend this to anyone paying over $100 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Great teacher
Business
Boca Raton, Fl
Jul 7, 2010

I got what I paid for! BAD

The hotel felt unsafe, it is on a nice area, but look like ilegal activity was going on, and made me feel uncomfortable, to see some young ladies standing and sitting on the steps of the hotel at nigth, it did not look apropiate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 19, 2010

this place is hell

Never seen worst!! There's only two plug in the entire room; one in the bathroom and one toke me a long time to find. Air conditioner didn't work, so I tried to call room service, but the phone didn't work either. So I went to the front desk and asked for help, and they said they will send somebody. nobody came! Then I toke a shower, I found that the water was not even clean! God it was so terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GAINSVILLE, FL
Jul 30, 2011

HORRIBLE

SECURITY ISSUES. A/C DID NOT WORK. BED WAS SO OLD IT CREAKED EVERY TIME YOU MOVED. FILTHY.HORRIBLE. A COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY. WINDOW GLASS WAS SO THIN THAT YOU COULD HEAR PEOPLE CONVERSING OUTSIDE. YOU COULDN'T PAY ME TO STAY THERE AGAIN. THE WORST HOTEL I'VE EVER STAYED IN NEW YORK. I DON'T EVEN WANT TO GIVE IT A STAR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gimp
Business
Easley, S.C.
Nov 27, 2011

coincerge was lousy

I asked if I could grt help getting reservations to see the Christmas Spectacular at Radio Center Music Hall and was told that he would helpus get reservations. This action was on the evening of our arrival. He did not get the reservations for us nor did he tell me Why until we checked out . I am not used to being treated this way and I will not use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Qwerty Uiop
Business
Washington, D.C.
May 29, 2012

Closet-sized - and no closet

Great location if you're in NYC for the shows. Lobby is nice. My room was very small and had no place to hang clothes. Bathroom was spacious, however, with a great shower. The A/C unit was loud and leaked water into the carpet. Judging by the water marks on the ceiling, the same thing was happening on the floor above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Life long NYC fan
Business
Waterford, MI
Jan 27, 2013

Great location

This was definitely just a place to rest, nooooo extras. It was a great place to head out from, as it was within walking distance to all the "places to see". No internet service, when EVERYBODY uses some sort of device these days. The room was very dark, more lamps please. One on the desk would've been nice. Coffee in the lobby, especially after a cold walk back. And the "specials" at the bar...not so much. One or two blocks down and you'll find better drinks for less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a Metrocard asap, subway locations very close and will take anywhere you need to go :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Encephal
Business
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Feb 1, 2013

Not bad, not great

The location is fantastic. The continental breakfast was below average, the bar tender was excellent. The room was too hot and the heating/cooling system was too noisy. I set the thermostat at 65 and the room was still 77 degrees. Beds were comfortable but it was too hot and noisy to sleep well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Central Park from the Hotel is very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top