$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
286 reviews
Fantastic Birthday Experience

Everything about this hotel was perfect! The rooms were beautiful! The location was key! The staff... See full review

  • Jennifer RTT
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great place!

Great location! Super clean!! Staff was amazing! Doormen had cars waiting or grabbed Taxis. Subway... See full review

  • Take NYC by storm
  • May 23, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is availabe at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.764 -73.9825
Area served
New York, New York. Please note guest must be 21 years old or older to check-in to this hotel.
Nearby airports
New York John F Kennedy International (JFK) 15 MI , New York La Guardia (LGA) 8 MI
Area description
The Ameritania at Times Square is conveniently located in the heart of Mid-town Manhattan at 54th street and the Broadway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bada Bing
Staffs England
Dec 15, 2012

Location,Location,Location!

Perfect location for exploring New York. The staff were friendly and helpful,particularly the Concierge, Jeffrey. Our room was small but very warm and comfortable. We would have brought the mattress home with us if we could! Thoroughly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aninha
Brazil
Jul 20, 2012

I enjoyed very much and recomend the hotel!

The Hotel has a very nice decoration style. The room is very confortable, the breakfast was good. The staff could be a little better with the luggage but in general i enjoyed very much everything about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Devina and Lando
Fort Worth
May 15, 2013

Fantastic Anniversary

Let me start with location, wow, it was close to everything we wanted to see and close to subway stations. the room was a bit small but very clean and comfortable. The staff was exceptional. especially the bartender, who gave us a lot of places to visit that were not your ordinary tourist attractions and the cosmos were fantastic. Me and my husband will be back next year and stay at this hotel. Thank you Ameritania for making our first visit to NYC enjoyable..........totally loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darren
London .uk
Mar 29, 2013

Midtown / mid price hotel = great stay.

Love this hotel... Get a good price, the location, staff, look and feel of the hotel makes it my favourite in NY. Can't beat the location, it's the centre of NY to me. 4th time stay with them. First was 15 years ago and loved it. Then a couple of visits 5 / 7 years back, and not so good. Old, tired and shabby ..... But now... GREAT.. Completely refurbished and styled.. Back to the former glories I remember. A contemporary fashion styled theme, not to large, and a homely feel. Staff all seem genuinely friendly (unlike most in NY), from doorman, reception, bar, maids and even maintenance. Even recognised some staff from previous stay. Given free room upgrade. Plus even waived all Internet fees for the stay.. 5 whole days. Yes there must be bigger, better, but pricier places out there, but this is the place that I will be returning to again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pinklady
UK
Mar 13, 2014

Excellent location!

This hotel has the perfect location, less than 10 minutes walk to Times Sq. The metro stop round the corner literally takes to everywhere from Penn Station, Herald Sq to World Trade Centre. Room size was good, nice bathroom and comfy bed. The only downside is the lighting, a bit dark to get ready in but definitely not a deal breaker. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

For the ultimate shopper, get a bus ticket in advance to Woodbury Common. It is about an hour away from Manhattan, In this outlet, there are brands everywhere. I'd recommend going there first before you do any shopping in Macy's etc.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael a
Houston
May 22, 2012

The best hotel

The best thing about the Hotel is its location because you don't need any transportation to go to time square, and it is very comfortable. Also, it is near to subway and there are a lot of stores for food coffee and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
blodwyn
wales
Nov 3, 2012

perfect location

great place to stay, jeffrey on the door was brill especially as we were concerened about our flight home as sandy was heading our way , so helpful thankyou, would defo go back there . close to theatres ,central park and bars close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KHeather
Scottsdale, Arizona
Apr 26, 2013

Fantastic Customer Service!

Although having a slight mishap, the hotel set about making it right immediately. They went over and above what they needed to do to make me feel comfortable and they valued me as a customer. I had such a nice stay here-would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Take NYC by storm
Minneapolis
May 23, 2014

Great place!

Great location! Super clean!! Staff was amazing! Doormen had cars waiting or grabbed Taxis. Subway is a block away, Central Park 4 blocks, Times Square 2 blocks. Ask for an inside room, super quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the doorman to have a car ready, if you leave the city it's a flat rate so it's nicer than a taxi.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kkkkkkkk
Glendale, Az
Feb 20, 2014

New York Trip

We arrived about 5 hrs early the bellman took our bags they were stored for free. We then came back at 2pm an hour before check in. Due to the room not being ready we were given free breakfast during our stay, free WIFI, and 2 cupcakes. The room was better than the 4 star we were staying at before coming here. The staff was really friendly and answered any questions we had. We were within 3 blocks of where we wanted to be located. The subway was only a block away. The room was spacious and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top