$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
246 reviews
Super stay

Staff at this hotel are amazing going out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.... See full review

  • Nades
  • Apr 2, 2014
FANTASTICCCC

has a great expierence at this hotel deff deserves a 5 star, staff was great bar was awesome and... See full review

  • Evelis
  • Mar 17, 2014
Sleek Art Deco chic in midtown Manhattan near best Broadway theatres

Step into the Art Deco era at Ameritania Hotel, with a stylized lobby and atmospheric, sleek guest rooms with marble bathrooms, pay-per-view movies and CD players. The location at Broadway and West 54th Street places visitors to New York City a short walk from Central Park, the Theatre District, Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza and the Museum of Modern Art, plus the subway station. Twist Lounge offers full-service relaxation on-site at Ameritania.

Highlights

                                                                                                                

  • Soothing Art Deco ambience, color-blocked in reds, blacks and creams
  • Twist Lounge, with cocktails, a fireplace and sofas
  • Walk to the best of New York, including Central Park, Broadway shows and MoMA

Location

With a prime location at Broadway and West 54th Street in midtown Manhattan, Ameritania Hotel guests can easily walk to Central Park, MoMA, theatres and Times Square. The subway is only two blocks away.

Rooms

Ameritania Hotel features 219 smoking and nonsmoking guest rooms with sleek style. Each includes cable TV with pay-per-view movies, individual air conditioning, a marble bathroom, a CD player, an alarm clock/radio, a two-line phone with data port and wake-up service, and a hair-dryer. Wi-Fi is available (guests without Wi-Fi capabilities may purchase an access card at the hotel desk) and guests receive a free copy of the Financial Times weekdays. 

Features

The Twist Lounge pairs a full-service bar/lounge with the coziness of a fireplace atmosphere, and dining is plentiful in the area. The Ameritania Hotel also features parking (fees apply), a concierge desk and access to a nearby fitness center (fees apply).

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Penn Station (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.7 mi/25.2 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17.9 mi/28.8 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Times Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.1 mi/3.5 km)

Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is availabe at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.764 -73.9825
Area served
New York, New York. Please note guest must be 21 years old or older to check-in to this hotel.
Nearby airports
New York John F Kennedy International (JFK) 15 MI , New York La Guardia (LGA) 8 MI
Area description
The Ameritania at Times Square is conveniently located in the heart of Mid-town Manhattan at 54th street and the Broadway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
33 out of 246
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
whatever12
Anchorage, AK
Feb 5, 2014

Amazing location, great value for money

Lovely decor in rooms, staff was friendly and helpful, location is absolutely perfect (around the corner from Ed Sullivan theater, 1 block from Carnegie Hall in the heart of midtown). The only complaint was no free wi-fi, but I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
Steve Mid
Va Beach, VA
Oct 30, 2013

One Person three-day stay

The first room that I was assigned consisted mostly of the bed. No hanging space, very limited storage. Overheated. Switched to a slightly bigger room which was adequate. Needed mechanic's help to re-access the room, switch tv to English and stop running toilet! No coffee maker; limited foodstuffs and drinks. Closet space hampered by location of ironing board. Breakfast facilities very limited. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
travellersolo
Michigan,USA
Sep 7, 2013

hotel was great!

everything was great! I would recommend this hotel very highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
LilLonghorn29
Houston, Texas
Sep 2, 2013

Fantastic location!

As most people have stated, the location of this hotel cannot be beat. I asked for a quiet room, and hotel concierge was kind enough to grant my request. I heard absolutely no construction noise throughout my week long stay. My hotel room was thoroughly cleaned each day. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
Laetitia B.
Montréal
Aug 26, 2013

Good hôtel but on free wifi

The room was trendy and comfortable. Even though, it was quite small and noisy. Wifi charged 10$ a day ... While a starbucks across the street. The room was quite expensive .. . You should offer wifi connection at least in the lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba gump om Broadway

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
Alexa's mom
Santa Clarita,california
Jul 26, 2013

Perfect location

I loved this quaint spot. The staff was kind, considerate & helpful from the moment I got there till the moment we left. The room was tiny but clean & sufficient for my daughter & I. It was in the perfect location, right at he corner of 54th & Broadway. Everything was in walking distance from subways to 5th avenue, Time Square to great food. And quite during the night. When we checked out, they held our bags, called us a cab & made sure we were getting to the right destination. Since we were meeting a group at the airport the bellhop overheard me say terminal B & said that letter terminals are La Guardian Airport & JFK Airport is number terminals, which we were going to so he made me aware of the situation in order to fix it. Loved NY, even just for the weekend & would recommend this place, if your not planning to stay in your room all day, which we didn't. Thank you Ameritania.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
Victorres
Houston, Texas
Jul 24, 2013

Great location

The location it couldn't be better, it's close to everything, you can go walking to everywhere, Times Square, Centra Park, even if the Empire State building, the staff was great, and the hotel it's very good and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square, and Broadway blvd are right there

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
Mia former New Yorker
Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 19, 2013

Modern and Convenient

I was at the Ameritania during the heat wave on July 16 to July 18, so I did experience some problems with the air conditioner and the electricity shutting down. When I realized the problem kept occurring even after the engineer looked into it, I requested a new room which was provided. My first room with one double bed was on the small side and it had a backside view of other buildings but the room and bathroom were large enough, modern and immaculate with a moderate to large sized screen tv. The new room was roomier and it had a view of 54th street and Broadway which was nice. I only wished they had small refrigerator in the room which would have been a great convenience. The location of the hotel is ideal. The David Letterman Show is taped next door, Cinderella was one block away and other Broadway shows a little further down. Columbus Circle is several blocks up on Broadway and there is an incredible Whole Foods market in the lower level of the Time Warner building. Easy access to subways at Columbus Circle and Times Square. I definitely want to stay at the Ameritania again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I purchased discounted tickets to Cinderella at the TKTS booth and there are several locations, one near Times Square which looked overwhelmingly crowed, one I think at South Street Seaport and one in Brooklyn. Since I was already in Brooklyn visiting the Brooklyn Museum I purchased my ticket at the TKTS booth by the A, C subway stop and there wasn't a terrible line but make sure you know where you want to sit. The man at the booth said he could give me a seat first row in the orchestra section off to the side. I thought that would be too close but I haven't been to the theatre in a while and he said that was the best seat he had. Anyway, I went to the theatre and the seat was definitely too close and all I could see was the front/bottom part of the stage and the orchestra down below in the pit. I'm not very tall so I had to crane my neck up and from my view I would only be able to see the performers feet and underneath their necks. I just asked an usher if there was any way I would get a different ticket or seat and I was very fortunate and was provided with a new seat in the mezzanine. I didn't mind I wasn't on the floor because I just wanted to be able to see the entire stage so everything worked out!

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
marcbulgarel
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Jul 6, 2013

I recommend

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and love it. Near everything. We can walk to any important places and have to much fun. Important thing: the staff was so cordial and sensitive to all needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Central Park, if you want to walk, you can go to all important Museums in a short period of time.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
FrankB
NY
Jun 18, 2013

Great Location

Great location, near Central Park, Rock Center, Times Square and Theatre district. Comfy rooms and friendly staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top