$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
271 reviews
Amazing NYC Trip

This location was great! Everything was in walking distance, which allowed us to save money because... See full review

  • Jacqueline B.
  • Dec 24, 2014
Nice Stay

Very accomodating. Great location. Helpful staff. Modern design See full review

  • World Traveler1
  • Dec 3, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this non-smoking, boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is a smoke-free hotel that is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Room is non-smoking. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is available at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 271
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TAN P.
Business
Cypress
Dec 19, 2014

Very nice stay

I love the interior design of this hotel. So modern and beautiful. Very clean and close to Time Square Attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NY TouristOct2014
Business
seattle,WA
Oct 27, 2014

heavy price for a prime location

The hotel is located in times square. That's just about the best thing about this one. Please avoid the continental breakfast which is not complimentary and is really bad. The bathroom sink was clogged. The iHome alarm clock had an alarm set which refused to be reset. House keeping was annoying and woke us up rudely. Overall for this hefty price I wouldn't recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankB
Business
NY
Aug 19, 2014

Perfect Location

Always like staying at the Ameritania ... great rooms, comfy bed and you can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCU1979
Business
Washington, DC
May 11, 2014

Great location for theater

I was in NYC for a quick theater trip and this hotel is in the perfect location. Staff was friendly and the room was comfortable. There was a little wear and tear on the furniture, but it was clean and in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whatever12
Business
Anchorage, AK
Feb 5, 2014

Amazing location, great value for money

Lovely decor in rooms, staff was friendly and helpful, location is absolutely perfect (around the corner from Ed Sullivan theater, 1 block from Carnegie Hall in the heart of midtown). The only complaint was no free wi-fi, but I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve Mid
Business
Va Beach, VA
Oct 30, 2013

One Person three-day stay

The first room that I was assigned consisted mostly of the bed. No hanging space, very limited storage. Overheated. Switched to a slightly bigger room which was adequate. Needed mechanic's help to re-access the room, switch tv to English and stop running toilet! No coffee maker; limited foodstuffs and drinks. Closet space hampered by location of ironing board. Breakfast facilities very limited. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travellersolo
Business
Michigan,USA
Sep 7, 2013

hotel was great!

everything was great! I would recommend this hotel very highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LilLonghorn29
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 2, 2013

Fantastic location!

As most people have stated, the location of this hotel cannot be beat. I asked for a quiet room, and hotel concierge was kind enough to grant my request. I heard absolutely no construction noise throughout my week long stay. My hotel room was thoroughly cleaned each day. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laetitia B.
Business
Montréal
Aug 26, 2013

Good hôtel but on free wifi

The room was trendy and comfortable. Even though, it was quite small and noisy. Wifi charged 10$ a day ... While a starbucks across the street. The room was quite expensive .. . You should offer wifi connection at least in the lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba gump om Broadway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexa's mom
Business
Santa Clarita,california
Jul 26, 2013

Perfect location

I loved this quaint spot. The staff was kind, considerate & helpful from the moment I got there till the moment we left. The room was tiny but clean & sufficient for my daughter & I. It was in the perfect location, right at he corner of 54th & Broadway. Everything was in walking distance from subways to 5th avenue, Time Square to great food. And quite during the night. When we checked out, they held our bags, called us a cab & made sure we were getting to the right destination. Since we were meeting a group at the airport the bellhop overheard me say terminal B & said that letter terminals are La Guardian Airport & JFK Airport is number terminals, which we were going to so he made me aware of the situation in order to fix it. Loved NY, even just for the weekend & would recommend this place, if your not planning to stay in your room all day, which we didn't. Thank you Ameritania.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top