$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
286 reviews
Fantastic Birthday Experience

Everything about this hotel was perfect! The rooms were beautiful! The location was key! The staff... See full review

  • Jennifer RTT
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great place!

Great location! Super clean!! Staff was amazing! Doormen had cars waiting or grabbed Taxis. Subway... See full review

  • Take NYC by storm
  • May 23, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is availabe at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.764 -73.9825
Area served
New York, New York. Please note guest must be 21 years old or older to check-in to this hotel.
Nearby airports
New York John F Kennedy International (JFK) 15 MI , New York La Guardia (LGA) 8 MI
Area description
The Ameritania at Times Square is conveniently located in the heart of Mid-town Manhattan at 54th street and the Broadway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 286
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Science Prof
Business
central California
Mar 25, 2014

average hotel, excellent location

The Ameritania is a fairly average hotel (definitely non-luxury, but you 'd have to pay a lot more for that) in a very nice location in midtown Manhattan, just far enough from Times Square to be fairly quiet. Some of the pseudo-art deco design is a little weird, and some of the facilities are a bit worn (the room heater was quite noisy), but the staff is very helpful, the rooms are comfortable, and, for the price, the location can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Carnegie Deli is two blocks away. It's a New York classic, but plan on a line to get in.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony Master Stylist
Business
Fairhope, AL
Mar 11, 2014

All work and no play

Great location. Stayed for a business trip and was close to the building I attended classes. Staff is friendly and the room is modern. Overall it was a pleasant stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping around every corner

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anabanana45
Business
sf
Feb 27, 2014

MIdtown Chic

Very cute, updated stylish- very friendly staff. close to subway yet not too noisy XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick the barfly
Business
Lake Park, FL
Jan 12, 2014

Charming, cool boutique hotel in midtown

I stayed at Amertania in January, and the location is absolutely stellar. Really cool, modern rooms, great staff and nice amenities make it a place that I will return to on my next trip to Gotham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Three Monkeys bar next door has great food and beer!

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bearprof
Business
South Orange, NJ
Jan 6, 2014

a pleasant bistro hotel in the heart of things

I was welcomed at the front steps by staff, and the front desk, concierge and bell staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay. The midtown location is astonishingly good. Rooms are small but clean, and the decor is fun. I'm fond of refurbished boutique hotels. A problem with a bedside lamp was corrected promptly and cheerfully. Same for a problem with the wireless sign-on (I suspect you will have to pay extra; for me it was $10 a night, not so bad, given the inexpensive room rate.) The bathroom is small but very nice. Nice design features throughout. No restaurant, but in midtown Manhattan who cares? Starbucks down the street, Irish Pub around the corner . . . Do watch out for the pricy minibar in the room. My only complaint is that the room didn't have enough lights -- specifically neither the (small) comfy chair nor the work table had a light over it for reading. Could be fixed with a table lamp and a floor lamp. I got a terrific price on one of the online services. I live in nearby New Jersey and just needed to be in the city round the clock for a couple of days for a conference. My room was half of the conference rate at a hotel two blocks away - I saved over $200. I will recommend this place to friends if they can get a price anything like what I got. I'm not sure about access for the disabled -- at the front entrance all I saw was steps. If that is a concern of yours you should inquire..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johny wall street
Business
nj
Jan 4, 2014

great price, great location, great room

rooms are modern and clean...perfect for what i needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Axe1314
Business
Bedford,NS
Dec 18, 2013

Ideal location, cool boutique hotel

Only a few blocks from Times Square this well appointed boutique hotel is ideal for a romantic getaway or as a base for a business trip. Compact but elegant rooms. Clean and modern decor. Great shower and good range of toiletries. No coffee maker in room, but given the number of coffee shops in the vicinity probably not necessary. Comes with a fridge and a snack tray, outrageous prices for these of course but is the first hotel I have seen with a Lovers Intimacy Kit! Has a good lounge downstairs with daily specials. A Jalapeño Margarita is a good way to start a night out in the city that never sleeps! Ed Sullivan theatre is right next door and there are many great eating places nearby. Angelo's pizzeria right next door is highly recommended. Will definitely book this one again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CharlieR
Business
Florida
Nov 7, 2013

Nice boutique experience

Like the hotel. Location is terrible. Cabs an issue. Staff was very helpful. My biggest gripe, there is NO place to put your cosmetics in the bathroom. It was terrible to get ready in the morning. I had to put a towel on the floor and then my cosmetics. No room for any products. It must have been designed by a man with a beard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Garnerstyle
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 4, 2013

Great hotel

would stay again. The staff was great and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garnerstyle
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 27, 2013

Luckyfabb

Everything was great. The only mishaps I had was that my roomie and I were trying to get ready with blow dryers and flat irons and the power shut off in our room the first morning. Other than the staff was good. They mailed some stuff back home for me. This will def be my "go to" hotel for NYC. You can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top