$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
View map of 230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
harriedmom
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 17, 2014

Great location!

Stayed here with my daughter during a college break while we caught a couple of shows. Selected because of the more modern decor and location which is close to the theater district, MOMA and shopping. The staff here is fantastic -- very friendly and helpful! Bellman went up to the corner in traffic to catch us a cab. Room was moderately clean but still rings/spills from prior occupant's drinks on the desk's glass top. We had a room with two double beds which was quite small but ordinary for NYC. My daughter said it was the most comfortable hotel bed ever! OVerall for the price a good value but nothing to rave about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant on the fifth floor of MOMA serves a great, interesting lunch!

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
liv2jump16
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 16, 2014

Great

The hotel was way nicer than I was expecting for the price. The rooms were nicely updated, and although small, not surprisingly so for New York City. The bed was very comfortable. The location was amazing, within walking distance to many of points of interest and different subway trains. The doormen were always welcoming and helpful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New Yorker Vistor
Business
London, England
Jan 14, 2014

Great Location and Staff

I stayed at the hotel for a week and found the staff to always be friendly and the location is perfect. Whilst in some areas it could do with a bit of paint I would/have recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick the barfly
Business
Lake Park, FL
Jan 12, 2014

Charming, cool boutique hotel in midtown

I stayed at Amertania in January, and the location is absolutely stellar. Really cool, modern rooms, great staff and nice amenities make it a place that I will return to on my next trip to Gotham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Three Monkeys bar next door has great food and beer!

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura8Tom
Business
Newcastle, England
Jan 12, 2014

Great hotel

My boyfriend and I went to New York recently and stayed in this lovely hotel. Our room was upgraded and the staff were lovely! Always on hand to help with anything. Would definitely recommend it. Not to mention the brilliant location, just a short walk to Times Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bearprof
Business
South Orange, NJ
Jan 6, 2014

a pleasant bistro hotel in the heart of things

I was welcomed at the front steps by staff, and the front desk, concierge and bell staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay. The midtown location is astonishingly good. Rooms are small but clean, and the decor is fun. I'm fond of refurbished boutique hotels. A problem with a bedside lamp was corrected promptly and cheerfully. Same for a problem with the wireless sign-on (I suspect you will have to pay extra; for me it was $10 a night, not so bad, given the inexpensive room rate.) The bathroom is small but very nice. Nice design features throughout. No restaurant, but in midtown Manhattan who cares? Starbucks down the street, Irish Pub around the corner . . . Do watch out for the pricy minibar in the room. My only complaint is that the room didn't have enough lights -- specifically neither the (small) comfy chair nor the work table had a light over it for reading. Could be fixed with a table lamp and a floor lamp. I got a terrific price on one of the online services. I live in nearby New Jersey and just needed to be in the city round the clock for a couple of days for a conference. My room was half of the conference rate at a hotel two blocks away - I saved over $200. I will recommend this place to friends if they can get a price anything like what I got. I'm not sure about access for the disabled -- at the front entrance all I saw was steps. If that is a concern of yours you should inquire..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johny wall street
Business
nj
Jan 4, 2014

great price, great location, great room

rooms are modern and clean...perfect for what i needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EricPhilipLink
Business
Des Moines
Jan 4, 2014

OK for a place to crash

At arrival our room was not ready. We were told it would take 40 mins. We waited an hour and a half. Also, house keeping was slow getting our room cleaned. Twice I had to ask for clean towels. The hotel was updated with nice tile and fixures but installed poorly. Bathroom door would not close. Sloppy grout work on the tile. Beware of the shower hand wond, it has sharp edges and it cut my finger. Room door did not latch, we found that out after a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franny
Business
Essex
Jan 3, 2014

Ideal location for sightseeing

The Ameritania is certainly central to all the main attractions like Times Square, Broadway, Empire State Building, Central Park plus only a short walk to the famous 5th Avenue, Madison and Lexington Avenue where tourists can shop to their hearts content. The hotel staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. On our arrival to the hotel the room we originally booked was not available which meant our first night stay was in a small standard double room.. This was pretty annoying as we had booked the deluxe king bedroom well in advance of our trip. However, the reception staff were very apologetic and ensured us that the issue would be dealt with the following morning (which it was). There are probably only two negatives about the hotel which are, if you are a light sleeper then the outside traffic noise could be a problem during the night and there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms as guests are expected to use the restaurant for breakfast (although the beverages are free to guests).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If travellers are looking for a bargain the best place to go for clothes etc is Macey's. Avoid Bloomingdales unless you have pots of money!!

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FionaLeeee
Business
Athens Ohio
Dec 28, 2013

Good location

It is a perfect location if you want to save money on taxi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short distance to most important buildings

Back to menu Return to top