$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
259 reviews
One of the best affordable hotels in heart of time square

Very roomy for ny hotel standards, it is also very modern with a bar at the lobby. Not to mention... See full review

  • Eric r partida
  • Sep 10, 2014
Good value for location

I stayed here for a week and for me it was perfect..you are a ten minute walk away from Central... See full review

  • Carolanne
  • Aug 21, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.764 -73.9825
Area served
New York, New York. Please note guest must be 21 years old or older to check-in to this hotel.
Nearby airports
New York John F Kennedy International (JFK) 15 MI , New York La Guardia (LGA) 8 MI
Area description
The Ameritania at Times Square is conveniently located in the heart of Mid-town Manhattan at 54th street and the Broadway.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is availabe at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
REgvoxx
Southern California
Aug 7, 2013

A Great Hotel for My First Trip to NYC!

For my very first trip to NYC, I picked this hotel because of the great reviews on the internet, the swanky photos and especially the great combo price with the airfare. When I arrived at the hotel, I wad greeted by a friendly doorman. The hotel lobby is modern, art deco swanky and gorgeous. The room that I got is swanky as well, but a tad bit small. Nevertheless, I still love the hotel for it's close proximity to the broadway theaters and the fabulous cultural spots in the midtown district. I stayed at this hotel for 11 days and each day was memorable and comfortable. The entire staff has been very friendly and helpful, especially Hugo, one of the doormen. On my last day, I asked Hugo to please hail a taxi for me and instead, he ordered a limo for the same flat fee of $45 to the airport as what a taxi would charge me as well! So there it is...on my last day, I asked for a taxi and got a limo! I left NYC in style!! Overall, I received great quality and customer service for a great price! I will most definitely stay at this hotel again whenever I return to NYC!! Pros: - Friendly and helpful staff (housekeeping and administration) - Beautifully decorated rooms - Great price - Free Wi-fi - Flat screen TV with free cable TV - A work-out/gym room Cons: - Small room - I wish the work-out /gym room was not in the basement w/only 1 elevator access. It felt a little claustrophobic and slightly creepy being down there. (But fortunately, I did not find a use for the gym at all during my stay there because of all the walking I did in NYC.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The New York Plaza Hotel has an underground eatery with a smorgasbord of small restaurants and bakeries. It was amazing just looking at all of the different restaurants! It was a feast for the eyes! When you are in the area, go and check it out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frana
canada
Aug 5, 2013

impressed

really enjoyed the friendliness of the staff. perfect location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Mom of 3 and 1
Rochester, NY
Aug 4, 2013

Family get-together

This hotel room was extremely small. I was by myself in the room (double), and I can't image having another person to room with! There was hardly any space to walk around in room.....very tight quarters. Aside from the room, staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Charlie
Syracuse, NY
Jul 26, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Enjoyed a nice two night stay with the wife. Got upgraded to a larger corner room, after inquiring about room availability. Since we had to wait a couple of hours to check in, the women at the front desk gave us a complementary breakfast in their café for both mornings! Staff was very accommodative and friendly, as were the door men. Staying a little north of central Times Square was good, since many restaurants, pubs and shops where nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexa's mom
Santa Clarita,california
Jul 26, 2013

Perfect location

I loved this quaint spot. The staff was kind, considerate & helpful from the moment I got there till the moment we left. The room was tiny but clean & sufficient for my daughter & I. It was in the perfect location, right at he corner of 54th & Broadway. Everything was in walking distance from subways to 5th avenue, Time Square to great food. And quite during the night. When we checked out, they held our bags, called us a cab & made sure we were getting to the right destination. Since we were meeting a group at the airport the bellhop overheard me say terminal B & said that letter terminals are La Guardian Airport & JFK Airport is number terminals, which we were going to so he made me aware of the situation in order to fix it. Loved NY, even just for the weekend & would recommend this place, if your not planning to stay in your room all day, which we didn't. Thank you Ameritania.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Victorres
Houston, Texas
Jul 24, 2013

Great location

The location it couldn't be better, it's close to everything, you can go walking to everywhere, Times Square, Centra Park, even if the Empire State building, the staff was great, and the hotel it's very good and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square, and Broadway blvd are right there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rockenron
Miami. Florida
Jul 24, 2013

Ameritania compares to a hotel in third world country.

The first room I checked for my 4 day stay seemed nice, had a good view and new furnishings. After unpacking and an hour later, the electricity and air conditioning in the entire room went out and could not be repaired. The hotel eventually moved us to another room but refused to pack or move our belongings. In 98 degree summer weather, we packed and moved ourselves. We then learned by midnight later that evening that the air conditioning in the new room would not get cold enough to sleep comfortably. We complained again and after multiple visits by the on-duty engineer learned that they could not do any more other than move us again! Needless, to say, this was all discomforting and the hotel's solution was to offer a free night's stay. By the way, the new room was smaller, had no view except for a wall and the cleaning staff did not think that taking away dirty glasses was part of their job. Front desk staff tried to please but they could only do so much. Hotel was centrally located and next to Ed Sullivan theatre. While Elvis may have appeared at theatre, he certainly has left the Ameritania Hotel building!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
creyn
central valley CA
Jul 22, 2013

nice and basic

This hotel is nice but older. The staff are helpful always. One odd thing was that only one soap was left so we had to move it back and forth from the shower to the sink...we fixed that and they always left us more from then on. It is near all the Broadway venues which was nice. This hotel is older...if the air is on during a HOT day you may blow the fuse for the room drying your hair!!! They came three times during one hair drying:) After that we turned off the air while drying our hair and all was good. All staff are friendly and helpful always.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
10 Year Anniversary Diva
New York, New York
Jul 20, 2013

10 year anniversary trip

We had a fabulous time! The hotel is in a great location and the room was very clean and cozy. The staff was excellent. They were congratulatory our our anniversary and gave us a nice room with a view. We thought that was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every store you can think of are a few steps away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mia former New Yorker
Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 19, 2013

Modern and Convenient

I was at the Ameritania during the heat wave on July 16 to July 18, so I did experience some problems with the air conditioner and the electricity shutting down. When I realized the problem kept occurring even after the engineer looked into it, I requested a new room which was provided. My first room with one double bed was on the small side and it had a backside view of other buildings but the room and bathroom were large enough, modern and immaculate with a moderate to large sized screen tv. The new room was roomier and it had a view of 54th street and Broadway which was nice. I only wished they had small refrigerator in the room which would have been a great convenience. The location of the hotel is ideal. The David Letterman Show is taped next door, Cinderella was one block away and other Broadway shows a little further down. Columbus Circle is several blocks up on Broadway and there is an incredible Whole Foods market in the lower level of the Time Warner building. Easy access to subways at Columbus Circle and Times Square. I definitely want to stay at the Ameritania again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I purchased discounted tickets to Cinderella at the TKTS booth and there are several locations, one near Times Square which looked overwhelmingly crowed, one I think at South Street Seaport and one in Brooklyn. Since I was already in Brooklyn visiting the Brooklyn Museum I purchased my ticket at the TKTS booth by the A, C subway stop and there wasn't a terrible line but make sure you know where you want to sit. The man at the booth said he could give me a seat first row in the orchestra section off to the side. I thought that would be too close but I haven't been to the theatre in a while and he said that was the best seat he had. Anyway, I went to the theatre and the seat was definitely too close and all I could see was the front/bottom part of the stage and the orchestra down below in the pit. I'm not very tall so I had to crane my neck up and from my view I would only be able to see the performers feet and underneath their necks. I just asked an usher if there was any way I would get a different ticket or seat and I was very fortunate and was provided with a new seat in the mezzanine. I didn't mind I wasn't on the floor because I just wanted to be able to see the entire stage so everything worked out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search