$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
326 reviews
Fantastic Birthday Experience

Everything about this hotel was perfect! The rooms were beautiful! The location was key! The staff... See full review

  • Jennifer RTT
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great place!

Great location! Super clean!! Staff was amazing! Doormen had cars waiting or grabbed Taxis. Subway... See full review

  • Take NYC by storm
  • May 23, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.764 -73.9825
Area served
New York, New York. Please note guest must be 21 years old or older to check-in to this hotel.
Nearby airports
New York John F Kennedy International (JFK) 15 MI , New York La Guardia (LGA) 8 MI
Area description
The Ameritania at Times Square is conveniently located in the heart of Mid-town Manhattan at 54th street and the Broadway.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is availabe at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (326)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
326 out of 326
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luhama
Kent
Sep 27, 2013

Small room!

The hotel was perfectly located, just off Times Square. The bathroom was lovely and the room itself was beautifully decorated, however to describe it as small is an understatement! There was literally a double bed and then no more than 3 feet around the edges, that was it. We were staying 4 nights and the only storage was 2 drawers . There was no hanging space at all, not even anywhere to put the cases, which actually didn't matter as we couldn't unpack! We asked to move and was told it was the only room available but we could move the next day after 12pm. This meant we would have had to stay in or return to the hotel, which we couldn't do as we had plans which couldn't be changed. We were told if our cases we all packed the staff could move us, but as we had our passports and money in the safe, I was reluctant to do this as it would have meant leaving those items in the room. Whilst we didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room it would have been nice to be able to walk around a room without stubbing your toe on the bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you have time, take the train to Philadelphia for the day. It took an hour by train. The shopping was cheaper and there were some fantastic places to see.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travellersolo
Michigan,USA
Sep 7, 2013

hotel was great!

everything was great! I would recommend this hotel very highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PFaz
Monterrey, México
Sep 2, 2013

NY - Relax & Enjoy

Perfect Location, Near to Times Square in the Theater District. Very safe neighborhood even at dawn. The innovative aesthetic of the guest rooms appointed with eye-catching modern furniture. The room are small, as in most of the hotels in NY but fully functional with all the amenities required. The guest rooms reflect the stylish motif of this distinctive NYC hotel, from the cherry reds and soothing creams to the rich mahogany paneling and chic modern bedside lamps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Saving money, but with luxury amenities and atmosphere of a grand hotel ... in a perfect location.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LilLonghorn29
Houston, Texas
Sep 2, 2013

Fantastic location!

As most people have stated, the location of this hotel cannot be beat. I asked for a quiet room, and hotel concierge was kind enough to grant my request. I heard absolutely no construction noise throughout my week long stay. My hotel room was thoroughly cleaned each day. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laetitia B.
Montréal
Aug 26, 2013

Good hôtel but on free wifi

The room was trendy and comfortable. Even though, it was quite small and noisy. Wifi charged 10$ a day ... While a starbucks across the street. The room was quite expensive .. . You should offer wifi connection at least in the lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba gump om Broadway

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midwest soccer mom
Ohio
Aug 19, 2013

Asolutely perfect location

Within easy walking distance of Central Park, Broadway and Times Square, all sorts of restaurants, MoMa and many museums, a block away from subway station.... we could not ask for anything better in terms of location. The room was small but clean. With 2 parents and 2 teenagers we managed fine since we were out all day anyway. The doormen were very helpful - stored our bags cheerfully before we checked in and after we checked out since we had time after flying in and before flying back out. The doorman also arranged for a car to drive us back to LaGuardia so we sat in comfort for a little less than the cabfare we paid to get there. The desk staff answered questions and were efficient, but not quite as friendly as the doormen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of reasonably-priced restaurants on 9th Ave, ~2-3 blocks walk.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holly Success
Rochester, NY
Aug 12, 2013

Great Birthday Celebration

I booked this hotel for my daughters sweet 16th birthday trip. It was clean centrally located and all the staff were super friendly. Definitely going to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
REgvoxx
Southern California
Aug 7, 2013

A Great Hotel for My First Trip to NYC!

For my very first trip to NYC, I picked this hotel because of the great reviews on the internet, the swanky photos and especially the great combo price with the airfare. When I arrived at the hotel, I wad greeted by a friendly doorman. The hotel lobby is modern, art deco swanky and gorgeous. The room that I got is swanky as well, but a tad bit small. Nevertheless, I still love the hotel for it's close proximity to the broadway theaters and the fabulous cultural spots in the midtown district. I stayed at this hotel for 11 days and each day was memorable and comfortable. The entire staff has been very friendly and helpful, especially Hugo, one of the doormen. On my last day, I asked Hugo to please hail a taxi for me and instead, he ordered a limo for the same flat fee of $45 to the airport as what a taxi would charge me as well! So there it is...on my last day, I asked for a taxi and got a limo! I left NYC in style!! Overall, I received great quality and customer service for a great price! I will most definitely stay at this hotel again whenever I return to NYC!! Pros: - Friendly and helpful staff (housekeeping and administration) - Beautifully decorated rooms - Great price - Free Wi-fi - Flat screen TV with free cable TV - A work-out/gym room Cons: - Small room - I wish the work-out /gym room was not in the basement w/only 1 elevator access. It felt a little claustrophobic and slightly creepy being down there. (But fortunately, I did not find a use for the gym at all during my stay there because of all the walking I did in NYC.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The New York Plaza Hotel has an underground eatery with a smorgasbord of small restaurants and bakeries. It was amazing just looking at all of the different restaurants! It was a feast for the eyes! When you are in the area, go and check it out!

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frana
canada
Aug 5, 2013

impressed

really enjoyed the friendliness of the staff. perfect location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Mom of 3 and 1
Rochester, NY
Aug 4, 2013

Family get-together

This hotel room was extremely small. I was by myself in the room (double), and I can't image having another person to room with! There was hardly any space to walk around in room.....very tight quarters. Aside from the room, staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search