$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
286 reviews
Fantastic Birthday Experience

Everything about this hotel was perfect! The rooms were beautiful! The location was key! The staff... See full review

  • Jennifer RTT
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great place!

Great location! Super clean!! Staff was amazing! Doormen had cars waiting or grabbed Taxis. Subway... See full review

  • Take NYC by storm
  • May 23, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is availabe at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.764 -73.9825
Area served
New York, New York. Please note guest must be 21 years old or older to check-in to this hotel.
Nearby airports
New York John F Kennedy International (JFK) 15 MI , New York La Guardia (LGA) 8 MI
Area description
The Ameritania at Times Square is conveniently located in the heart of Mid-town Manhattan at 54th street and the Broadway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick the barfly
Business
Lake Park, FL
Jan 12, 2014

Charming, cool boutique hotel in midtown

I stayed at Amertania in January, and the location is absolutely stellar. Really cool, modern rooms, great staff and nice amenities make it a place that I will return to on my next trip to Gotham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Three Monkeys bar next door has great food and beer!

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura8Tom
Newcastle, England
Jan 12, 2014

Great hotel

My boyfriend and I went to New York recently and stayed in this lovely hotel. Our room was upgraded and the staff were lovely! Always on hand to help with anything. Would definitely recommend it. Not to mention the brilliant location, just a short walk to Times Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bearprof
Business
South Orange, NJ
Jan 6, 2014

a pleasant bistro hotel in the heart of things

I was welcomed at the front steps by staff, and the front desk, concierge and bell staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay. The midtown location is astonishingly good. Rooms are small but clean, and the decor is fun. I'm fond of refurbished boutique hotels. A problem with a bedside lamp was corrected promptly and cheerfully. Same for a problem with the wireless sign-on (I suspect you will have to pay extra; for me it was $10 a night, not so bad, given the inexpensive room rate.) The bathroom is small but very nice. Nice design features throughout. No restaurant, but in midtown Manhattan who cares? Starbucks down the street, Irish Pub around the corner . . . Do watch out for the pricy minibar in the room. My only complaint is that the room didn't have enough lights -- specifically neither the (small) comfy chair nor the work table had a light over it for reading. Could be fixed with a table lamp and a floor lamp. I got a terrific price on one of the online services. I live in nearby New Jersey and just needed to be in the city round the clock for a couple of days for a conference. My room was half of the conference rate at a hotel two blocks away - I saved over $200. I will recommend this place to friends if they can get a price anything like what I got. I'm not sure about access for the disabled -- at the front entrance all I saw was steps. If that is a concern of yours you should inquire..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johny wall street
Business
nj
Jan 4, 2014

great price, great location, great room

rooms are modern and clean...perfect for what i needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EricPhilipLink
Des Moines
Jan 4, 2014

OK for a place to crash

At arrival our room was not ready. We were told it would take 40 mins. We waited an hour and a half. Also, house keeping was slow getting our room cleaned. Twice I had to ask for clean towels. The hotel was updated with nice tile and fixures but installed poorly. Bathroom door would not close. Sloppy grout work on the tile. Beware of the shower hand wond, it has sharp edges and it cut my finger. Room door did not latch, we found that out after a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franny
Essex
Jan 3, 2014

Ideal location for sightseeing

The Ameritania is certainly central to all the main attractions like Times Square, Broadway, Empire State Building, Central Park plus only a short walk to the famous 5th Avenue, Madison and Lexington Avenue where tourists can shop to their hearts content. The hotel staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. On our arrival to the hotel the room we originally booked was not available which meant our first night stay was in a small standard double room.. This was pretty annoying as we had booked the deluxe king bedroom well in advance of our trip. However, the reception staff were very apologetic and ensured us that the issue would be dealt with the following morning (which it was). There are probably only two negatives about the hotel which are, if you are a light sleeper then the outside traffic noise could be a problem during the night and there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms as guests are expected to use the restaurant for breakfast (although the beverages are free to guests).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If travellers are looking for a bargain the best place to go for clothes etc is Macey's. Avoid Bloomingdales unless you have pots of money!!

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FionaLeeee
Athens Ohio
Dec 28, 2013

Good location

It is a perfect location if you want to save money on taxi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short distance to most important buildings

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miller and Teryn
Albemarle, North Carolina
Dec 24, 2013

Perfect Christmas getaway!

My wife and I just spent a long weekend at this hotel and it was better than either of us expected! Location is perfect, room was nice, and staff was very helpful! This will be the spot we stay from now on when visiting NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TALI 512
Austin, TX, USA
Dec 18, 2013

Great hotel

Great hotel,comfy rooms and great location. Would most decently stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Axe1314
Business
Bedford,NS
Dec 18, 2013

Ideal location, cool boutique hotel

Only a few blocks from Times Square this well appointed boutique hotel is ideal for a romantic getaway or as a base for a business trip. Compact but elegant rooms. Clean and modern decor. Great shower and good range of toiletries. No coffee maker in room, but given the number of coffee shops in the vicinity probably not necessary. Comes with a fridge and a snack tray, outrageous prices for these of course but is the first hotel I have seen with a Lovers Intimacy Kit! Has a good lounge downstairs with daily specials. A Jalapeño Margarita is a good way to start a night out in the city that never sleeps! Ed Sullivan theatre is right next door and there are many great eating places nearby. Angelo's pizzeria right next door is highly recommended. Will definitely book this one again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top